Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
This guide was created for anyone reading or leading discussions on the Hamilton College Class of 2015 Common Reading, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks. 

Find databases, books, videos, images, websites, and other tools related to topics in the book.

 

 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of over 9,000 news, business, and legal sources. Articles for most newspapers date back to the early 1990s.
More Info:
News - Business - Legal Research - Company Dossier
Help: Podcast Tutorials - Wiki - Shepardizing a Case

MEDLINE Restricted Resource
Index to journal articles with information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Coverage: 1950-present.

Images & Multimedia

ABC News: Henrietta Lacks
January 31, 2010.

HeLa Cells Dividing
YouTube video.

Way of All Flesh Restricted Resource
BBC program by Adam Curtis referred to in the book.

 + / - Other Helpful Resources
Random House Teacher's Guide
Contains Guided Reading and Discussion Questions, Writing Prompts, and Topics for Further Discussion for each chapter. 
 
Timeline of Events
Starting with the founding of Johns Hopkins Hospital in 1889, this list follows the events outlined in the book.

People and Characters
Lists Lacks family members, members of the scientific and medical community, journalists and others mentioned in the book.

 + / - Related Books in Burke Library
Skloot, Rebecca. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks. NY: Crown Publishers, 2010.

Gold, Michael. A Conspiracy of Cells: One Woman's Immortal Legacy and the Scandal It Caused. Albany, NY: University of Albany Press, 1986.

Jones, James. H. Bad
Blood : the Tuskegee Syphilis Experimen
t. NY: Free Press, 1993.

Massey, Douglas. American Apartheid: Segregation and the Making of the Underclass. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1993.

Reverby, Susan. Examining Tuskegee: The Infamous Syphilis Study and its Legacy. Chapel Hill, NC:  University of North Carolina Press, 2009.

Washington, Harriet A. Medical Apartheid : The Dark History of Medical Experimentation on Black Americans from Colonial Times to the Present. NY: Harlem Moon, 2006.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Kristin Strohmeyer

Kristin Strohmeyer
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4481