Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Starting Points

Library Research Starting Points Unrestricted Resource
Introduction to finding scholarly content published in books, journals, and other sources using the library's resources.


GENERAL


Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource
Summary reports on contemporary issues that include an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. Coverage: 1991-present.

Congressional Research Service Reports (via Open CRS) Unrestricted Resource
A project of the Center for Democracy & Technology, Open CRS provides citizens access to CRS Reports already in the public domain.

Taking Sides Unrestricted Resource
The Taking Sides volumes present a debate-style format that includes summaries, introductions, and representative articles from opposing sides of a contested, contemporary issue.


SEARCHING BY DATE

Newsweekly Magazines (U.S.)   Unrestricted Resource

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) Restricted Resource
Reproduces the newspaper's text, images, and graphics in their original layout. Coverage: 1851-2009.

Vital Speeches of the Day Restricted Resource
Annual collection of speech texts from around the world on education, government, current events, history, economics, business and commerce, social progress, and politics. Coverage: 1934-present.

Historic Documents Series Ref E839.5 .H57 Restricted Resource
CQ's Historic Documents Series includes annual volumes from 1972-2010 with approximately 100 documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions. 

 + / - Additional Sources
ALEX
Catalogs books, videos, music, and other resources at Hamilton.

Quick Search

Searches multiple databases that index journals and books.

Subject Guides

See Best Bets sections for discipline-specific databases.

How Do I Find...

Newspapers, images, statistics, primary sources, and more.
 + / - Citing Sources
Research and Documentation Online
A good place to start. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource. Consult the departmental preferences table below if you are not sure which documentation style to follow. Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources
Provides information on where to access key writing and style guides along with a list of preferred documentation styles for each academic department.
 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Reid Larson

Reid Larson
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4480