Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
Women's Studies International Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books, proceedings, reports, and other sources related to women's studies and feminist research. Coverage: 1972-present.

GenderWatch Restricted Resource
Full text of articles that focus on gender roles from historical and current perspectives. Areas of focus include gay and lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies. Coverage: 1970-present.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Alternative Press Index and Archive Restricted Resource
Index of over 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Coverage: 1969-present.

GenderWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of articles that focus on gender roles from historical and current perspectives. Areas of focus include gay and lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies. Coverage: 1970-present.

Google Scholar
Search for articles in scholarly journals. Also includes patents, court opinions and law journals.

Google Scholar Tip:
On Campus users will see the Find It @ Hamilton link with article citations. Use this to connect to articles in Hamilton's online journals.

Off Campus users can also link directly to Hamilton online journals by setting a Google Scholar Preference.
  1. Go to Google Scholar.
  2. In the top menu bar select Settings.
  3. Select Library Links (left column) and search for Hamilton.
  4. Select Hamilton College-Find It @ Hamilton and then Save.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
  • Arts & Sciences collections I-IX
  • Life Sciences collection

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

Women's Studies International Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books, proceedings, reports, and other sources related to women's studies and feminist research. Coverage: 1972-present.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Index of journal articles, reviews and essays about women, sexuality and gender during the Middle Ages. Coverage: 1994-present.

Citation Guides

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource Some full text available
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources
Provides information on where to access key writing and style guides along with a list of preferred documentation styles for each academic department.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Some full text available
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Documents the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words. Entries trace the historical evolution of a word using quotations found in sources ranging from classic literature to cookbooks.

Dictionary of Feminist Theory
Print Location: Ref HQ1115 .H86 1995


Historical Dictionary of Feminism
Print Location: Ref HQ1115 .B65 2004


Routledge Critical Dictionary of Feminism and Postfeminism
Print Location: Ref HQ1115 .R68 2000


Encyclopedias

Battleground: Women, Gender, and Sexuality Restricted Resource
Short essays on contemporary issues concerning women.

Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories
Print Location: Ref HQ1190 .E63 2000


Encyclopedia of Women and Gender
Print Location: Ref HQ1115 .E43 2001


Girl Culture: An Encyclopedia
Print Location: Ref HQ798 .G523 2008


Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women's Issues and Knowledge
Print Location: Ref HQ1115 .R69 2000


Women's Movement Today: An Encyclopedia of Third-wave Feminism
Print Location: Ref HQ1115 .W644 2006


Women's Studies Encyclopedia
Print Location: Ref HQ1115 .W645 1999


Images & Multimedia

AP Images Restricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Access to over 6 million current and historical news photographs and graphics images, including maps, timelines, logos and graphs. Coverage: 1840s-present.
note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users.

Maps & Atlases

AtoZ Maps Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Collection of more than 146,000 proprietary and royalty-free maps. All maps are high resolution starting at 300dpi with some as large as poster-size. Many maps are PowerPoint-ready. Updated monthly.

Penguin Atlas of Women in the World
Print Location: Ref G1046 .E1 S4 2009


Routledge Historical Atlas of Women in America
Print Location: Ref HQ1410 .P68 2000


Women's Atlas of the United States
Print Location: Ref G1201 .E1 G5 1995


Primary Sources

American Memory Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Collection of primary sources relating to the history and culture of the United States from the Library of Congress.

Women Writers Online Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full text of more than 300 works by women in English or in English translation published before 1850. Coverage: 1526-1850.


Discovering American Women's History Online
A database that can be used to identify primary sources that have been digitized. Covers 400+ collections with items from the 17th to the 21st centuries.

Columbia Documentary History of American Women Since 1941
Print Location: HQ1420 .C65 2003


Herstory: Women's History Collection
Print Location: Microfilm HQ1101 .H47
From the Women's History Research Center in Berkeley, California. The collection includes newsletters, journals, and newspapers published by and about the women's liberation movement, civic, professional, religious and peace groups. Most of the material included was published between 1956 and 1974.
90 reels.
Guide: Ref HQ1101 .H47

History of Women Collection
Print Location: Microfilm HQ1121 .H6292
Collection of pre-1920 literature about the role of women throughout history. From the Sophia Smith Collection at Smith College, the Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College and other sources. Titles are cataloged individually in ALEX.
995 reels.
Guide: Ref Q1121 .H6292

Papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony
Print Location: Microfilm HQ1413 .S67 A2 1991
45 reels.
Guide: Ref HQ 1413 .S67 A2 1991

Woman's Suffrage. National Leaders
Print Location: Microfilm HQ1426 .W675 1990
Part A of Series 1, Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library, Radcliffe College.
18 reels.
Guide: Ref HQ1426 .W675 1990

Women's Journals of the Nineteenth Century.
Print Location: Microfilm HQ1101 .W65
Includes The Women's Penny Paper and Women's Herald, 1888-1893.
4 reels.

Statistics & Data

GenderStats
Data on key gender topics from national statistics agencies, United Nations databases, and World Bank-conducted or funded surveys.

Human Development Reports (UN) Some full text available
Research and data designed to assess long term well-being. An independent publication commissioned by UN Development Programme (UNDP). Coverage: 1990-present.

Global Gender Gap Report
Annual survey by the Global Economic Forum that measures educational attainment, economic participation and opportunity, political empowerment, health and survival.

WomanStats
Over 300 indicators of women's status in 174 countries. Users must create a free account to view the data.

 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The women's studies department generally follows guidelines from the Chicago Manual of Style. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Laura Festine

Laura Festine
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4321