Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Books
ALEX Unrestricted Resource
The Hamilton College Library catalog.

Hathi Trust Unrestricted Resource
Provides cataloging and online access for millions of books and journals digitized by Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and major research libraries.

America's Historical Imprints Restricted Resource
Full image reproductions of  books, pamphlet and broadside published in the U.S. over a 170-year period. Items include advertisements, almanacs, bibles, broadsides, catalogs, charters and by-laws, contracts, cookbooks, elegies, eulogies, laws, maps, narratives, novels, operas, pamphlets, plays, poems, primers, sermons, songs, speeches, textbooks, tracts, travelogues, treaties and more.
  • American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I, 1770-1876
  • Early American Imprints, Series I, 1639-1800
  • Early American Imprints, Series II, 1801-1819

Finding Books at Hamilton College
 + / - Newspapers
America's Historical Newspapers Restricted Resource
More than 1,800 newspapers from all 50 states. The colonial and early national newspapers collected by the American Antiquarian Society form the core of this collection. Coverage: 1690-1922.Library subscribes to Early American Newspapers, Series I-VI.
Example search: "lewis near2 clark" and limit by date.

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) Restricted Resource
Reproduces the newspaper's text, images, and graphics in their original layout. Coverage: 1851-2009.

Times (London) Digital Archive Restricted Resource
Reproduces the newspaper's text, images, and graphics in their original layout for the London Times. Coverage: 1785-2006. Note: Content from the Sunday Times is not included in this database.

NewspaperARCHIVE.com Restricted Resource
Full image reproductions of North American and European newspapers, some dating back to the 18th century. Coverage varies significantly by title.

Historical Newspaper Collections at Hamilton College
Guide to digital newspaper collections available at Hamilton. The vast majority of the library's historical newspaper collections were published in the United States before 1923 and after 1980.

 + / - Magazines
American Periodicals Restricted Resource
Full-image reproductions of more than 1,100 American magazines and journals. Includes popular, general interest, literary and women's magazines. Coverage 1741-1940.
Search "lewis near/2 clark" and limit by date.

British Periodicals Restricted Resource
Full image reproductions of nearly 500 British magazines and journals. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, music, art, drama, archaeology, architecture, and the social sciences. Coverage: 1681-1920.

Readers' Guide Retrospective Restricted Resource
Index of articles from 240 leading general interest magazines published in the U.S. and Canada. Coverage: 1890-1982.

Historical Magazine Collections at Hamilton College
Guide to finding historical magazine collections available at Hamilton College.
 + / - Government Documents
Archive of Americana Restricted Resource
Collections of books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over three centuries.
  • America's Historical Imprints
  • America's Historical Newspapers
  • American State Papers, 1789-1838
  • House and Senate Journals, Series I, 1789-1817
  • Senate Executive Journals, 1789 - 1980
  • U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980
  • U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps, 1817-1980

AN EXAMPLE

Annual Report on the Progress of the Topographical Survey of the Adirondack Region of New York
See pages 62-72 for an example of adventure writing about the Adirondacks in 1873. The pages document the journey of Verplanck Colvin's survey team's arduous November journey from the St. Lawrence-Herkimer county line to Port Henry on the shores of Lake Champlain.

 + / - Web Gateways
History Matters Unrestricted Resource
Selective gateway to U.S. history web resources. Also includes first-person, primary documents and teaching resources. Searchable by keyword or topic.

American Memory Unrestricted Resource
Collection of primary sources relating to the history and culture of the United States from the Library of Congress.

 + / - Lewis and Clark Expedition -- Some Sources

BACKGROUND SOURCES


Encyclopedia of the Lewis and Clark Expedition Ref F592.7 .W68 2004

Lewis and Clark as Naturalists: Interactive Map Unrestricted Resource
Smithsonian Institution site portraying the expedition's interaction with the natural world. Browse by state, species, or date collected.

Lewis and Clark Expedition Timeline Unrestricted Resource
A chronological overview of the expedition from the PBS companion site to the Ken Burns film, Lewis & Clark: The Journey of the Corps of Discovery.


KEY EDITIONS OF THE LEWIS AND CLARK JOURNALS


For a brief publishing history of the journals, consult the "Editing and Publishing of the Journals" section near the end of Gary E. Moulton's introduction to the digital edition of the journals.


A Journal of the Voyages and Travels of a Corps of Discovery Restricted Resource
Patrick Gass. Pittsburgh: Printed by Zadok Cramer for David M'Keehan, 1807.

Travels of Capts. Lewis & Clarke Unrestricted Resource
London: Printed for Longman, Hurst, Rees, and Orme, 1809. (A spurious account.)

History of the Expedition under the Command of Captains Lewis and Clark Unrestricted Resource
Paul Allen [and Nicholas Biddle], Eds. Philadelphia: Bradford and Inskeep, 1814. 2 vols.

History of the Expedition under the Command of Lewis and Clark Unrestricted Resource
Elliott Coues, Ed. New York: Francis P. Harper, 1893. 4 vols.

Original Journals of the Lewis and Clark Expedition, 1804-1806 Unrestricted Resource
Reuben Gold Thwaites, Ed. New York: Dodd, Mead & Company, 1904. 8 vols.

Journals of the Lewis and Clark Expedition Unrestricted Resource
Gary E. Moulton, Ed. Lincoln: Univeristy of Nebraska Press, 2003.
 + / - Citing Sources
The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The history department generally follows guidelines from the Chicago Manual of Style. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

Writing a Good History Paper Unrestricted Resource
The Hamilton College history department's writing guide.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.
 + / - Some Things Worth Remembering
  • You need to search in multiple places
  • Words matter
  • Versions matter
  • Context is helpful
  • Not everything is available online
  • Not everything that is available online is accessible to everyone
  • Not everything is cataloged or indexed
  • Not everything still exists
 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Reid Larson

Reid Larson
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4480