Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - About this Guide
This guide is an aid for finding statistical sources using Burke Library's general collection and online resources. The purpose of this guide is to highlight key statistical sources with a particular emphasis on U.S. and international economic and social science data. This guide includes print and electronic sources.
 + / - Data Sets
See also special subjects under All Resources.

American National Election Studies (ANES) Unrestricted Resource
Data on voting, public opinion, and political participation.

General Social Survey Unrestricted Resource
The GSS contains a standard core of demographic, behavioral and attitudinal questions tracking the opinions of Americans, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remain unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time trend studies.The GSS takes the pulse of America, and has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades.

ICPSR Restricted Resource
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research data archive of more than 800,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Users wishing to download members-only data and some publicly available data are required to establish a MyData account. Over 700+ studies are available for online data analysis (i.e., no downloading required) using Survey Documentation Analysis (SDA). Help: Data Use Tutorial - ICPSR Help Center Quantitative Literacy Teaching Tools: Online Learning Center - Teaching with Data

International Financial Statistics Online Restricted Resource
Statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. Data covers exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts. Coverage: 1948-present. Tip: Use Query Builder to select data source (IFS), time range, concepts (variables), and countries/regions. Click on Data Source in the Query Builder box. Select International Financial Statistics from the list on the right side of the screen. Click on Time to change the years and reporting time period. Click on Concept and expand Economic Sector to select variables. Click on Country in the box to select countries or regions. Click on View Data to execute the search. Help: My Data User Guide - Query Builder User Guide

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research Restricted Resource
Presidential and Congressional election data; primary and election day exit polls.

World Development Indicators Unrestricted Resource
Comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers more than 900 indicators for 210 economies with data back to 1960.

Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive (CD-ROM) Location: Burke Reserve Desk HA154 .C76 Unrestricted Resource
A longitudinal data series. The archive has 194 variables and contains data for over 200 country units. Variables cover demographic, social, political, and economic topics. Data files are in an Excel format. Coverage: 1815-2010 (excluding the two modern wartime periods, 1914-1918 and 1940-1945).

 + / - All Resources

Crime - U.S. - Statistics

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Data on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.

Crime Statistics
FBI data and reports on crime.

UCR Data Tool includes data back to 1960.

Uniform Crime Reports:
  • Crime in the United States
  • Hate Crime Statistics
  • Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted

Data - International

CIA World Factbook
General country profiles with basic population and economic data.

Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive (CD-ROM)
Print Location: Location: Burke Reserve Desk HA154 .C76
A longitudinal data series. The archive has 194 variables and contains data for over 200 country units. Variables cover demographic, social, political, and economic topics. Data files are in an Excel format. Coverage: 1815-2010 (excluding the two modern wartime periods, 1914-1918 and 1940-1945).
Eurostat
European Union demographic, economic, industry and environment data.

FIRST: Facts on International Relations and Security Trends Some full text available
Data includes armed forces, arms production and trade, country indicators and statistics, human rights and security, conflicts and peace-keeping activities, military expenditures, conventional and nuclear weapons, and ballistic missiles.

Minorities at Risk (MAR) Project
Monitors and analyzes the status and conflicts of politically-active communal groups in all countries with a current population of at least 500,000.

World Development Indicators
Comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers more than 900 indicators for 210 economies with data back to 1960.
UNdata
Search across over 14 UN statistical databases through a single portal.

Data - U.S.

FedStats
Easy access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the federal government.

Historical Statistics of the United States Restricted Resource Some full text available
Contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations. Each series is fully documented and placed in historical context by a recognized expert. Coverage: 1600-2000.

National Atlas of the United States
Nationalatlas.gov provides comprehensive, maplike views of the geospatial and geostatistical data collected for the United States.

Economic - International - Statistics

Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive (CD-ROM)
Print Location: Location: Burke Reserve Desk HA154 .C76
A longitudinal data series. The archive has 194 variables and contains data for over 200 country units. Variables cover demographic, social, political, and economic topics. Data files are in an Excel format. Coverage: 1815-2010 (excluding the two modern wartime periods, 1914-1918 and 1940-1945).
Exporter Dynamics Database
Based on data obtained from customs agencies, the database allows for  cross-country comparisons. Variables include basic characteristics of exporters (their numbers, size and growth), their concentration and degree of diversification in products and markets, their dynamics in terms of entry, exit and survival, and the average unit prices of the products they trade. A World Bank project.

Global Development Finance (GDF)
Statistics on the external debt of developing countries derived from loan-by-loan records. Covers more than 200 debt and financial flows indicators for the 128 countries. Coverage: 1970-current.

International Financial Statistics Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. Data covers exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts. Coverage: 1948-present.

Tip: Use Query Builder to select data source (IFS), time range, concepts (variables), and countries/regions.

  1. Click on Data Source in the Query Builder box.
  2. Select International Financial Statistics from the list on the right side of the screen.
  3. Click on Time to change the years and reporting time period.
  4. Click on Concept and expand Economic Sector to select variables.
  5. Click on Country in the box to select countries or regions.
  6. Click on View Data to execute the search.
Help: My Data User Guide - Query Builder User Guide

note: Saved searches, reports and bulk downloads require a free individual registration.
OECD Economic Surveys Restricted Resource Some full text available
In-depth reviews of member and some non-member countries' economies.

UNdata
Search across over 14 UN statistical databases through a single portal.

World Development Indicators
Comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers more than 900 indicators for 210 economies with data back to 1960.
LABORSTA
Labor statistics and estimates for over 200 countries from the International Labour Office. Coverage: 1969-current.

Penn World Table
Standardized, internationally comparable data on GDP, purchasing power parity and more for 188 countries. Coverage: 1950-2004.

Economic - U.S. - Statistics

American FactFinder
Easy access to census data in the form of maps, tables, and reports. American FactFinder 2 includes 2000 and 2010 census data. 1990 data can be downloaded from the census FTP site.
Help: Video Tutorials


EconData.Net
Guide to regional socioeconomic data on the web.

Census of Governments
Covers government organization, finance, and employment.

Economic Census
Profiles the U.S. economy every 5 years, from the national to the local level.

Economagic: Economic Time Series Restricted Resource
The core data sets involve U.S. macroeconomic data, but the bulk of the data is employment data by local area -- state, county, MSA, and many cities and towns.

note: This resource is provided by the Hamilton Economics Department.
Economic Report of the President
Annual report issued by the Council of Economic Advisors giving an overview the nation's economic progress. Reports available online from 1995 to present.

ALFRED (ArchivaL Federal Reserve Economic Data)
Vintage versions of economic data. The earliest data is from 1927.

FRASER (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research)
Links to scanned historical economic statistical publications, releases and documents.

FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
A database of over 3,000 U.S. economic time series.

Panel Study of Income Dynamics
A longitudinal study of 8,000 families since 1968 collecting data on economic, health and social behavior.

U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
The BEA's economic statistics provide a comprehensive, up-to-date picture of the U.S. economy. Industry, GNP and GDP data for the U.S. is reported in the monthly report, Survey of Current Business.

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
The source for Consumer Price Index (CPI), Producer Price Index (PPI), and data on employment, unemployment, wages and salaries.

Education - International - Statistics

International Archive of Education Data (IAED) Restricted Resource
A project formerly sponsored by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is now housed at and operated by ICPSR.

Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive (CD-ROM)
Print Location: Location: Burke Reserve Desk HA154 .C76
A longitudinal data series. The archive has 194 variables and contains data for over 200 country units. Variables cover demographic, social, political, and economic topics. Data files are in an Excel format. Coverage: 1815-2010 (excluding the two modern wartime periods, 1914-1918 and 1940-1945).
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Global and internationally comparable statistics on education, literacy, science, culture and communication.

Education - U.S. - Statistics

Chronicle of Higher Education - Facts & Figures
Annual surveys and higher education data.

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing U.S. education data. Annual reports include:

Elections - International - Statistics

Elections in Africa: A Data Handbook
Print Location: Ref JQ1879 .A55 E44 1999
1999 ed.

Elections in Asia and the Pacific: A Data Handbook
Print Location: Ref JQ38 .E44 2001
2001 ed.

Elections in the Americas: A Data Handbook
Print Location: Ref JF1001 .E363 2005
2005 ed.

Elections in Western Europe since 1815: Electoral Results
Print Location: Ref JN94 .A95 C368 2004
2004 ed.

Elections - U.S. - Statistics

American National Election Studies (ANES)
Data on voting, public opinion, and political participation.

Guide to U.S. Elections Restricted Resource Some full text available
6th ed. 2010. Covers political parties; presidential, congressional and gubernatorial elections; data and documents.

OpenSecrets.org
A clearinghouse for data and analysis, tracking money in politics and its effect on elections and public policy. Includes financial data on campaigns, independent interest groups (i.e., 527 committees), lobbyists, congressional travel, and the personal finances of the president and members of Congress.

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research and iPOLL Restricted Resource Some full text available
Presidential and Congressional election data; primary and election day exit polls.
Federal Election Commission
Campaign finance reports and data from 1993 to present.

Voting and Registration (U.S. Census Bureau)
Voting and registration by various demographic and socioeconomic characteristics.

America Votes: A Handbook of Contemporary American Election Statistics
Print Location: Ref JK1967 .A8
Data by state for presidential, gubernatorial and congressional races; congressional district data for recent congressional elections; and county level figures for the most recent elections.
Library owns 1956/57-present.


Environment - Statistics

Adirondack Lakes Survey Corporation
The Adirondack Lakes Survey Corporation was created to monitor changes to natural ecosystems of the Adirondack Mountain ecological zone with a focus on water quality, atmospheric deposition, fish surveys, and other biological and chemical studies for the benefit of regulatory agencies and the general public. Surveys and data are available from 1984 to the present.

Coral Reef Information System
NOAA's Coral Reef Information System (CoRIS) is designed to be a single point of access to NOAA coral reef information and data products, especially those derived from NOAA's Coral Reef Conservation Program.

Global Invasive Species Network
A platform for sharing invasive species information at a global level. Maintained by the National Biological Information Infrastructure. Includes a data portal.

IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
The International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN) facilitates the collection, management and processing of species data for publication on the IUCN Red List.

National Climatic Data Center
NCDC is the world's largest active archive of weather data.  NCDC produces numerous climate publications and responds to data requests from all over the world. NCDC supports a three tier national climate services support program - the partners include: NCDC, Regional Climate Centers, and State Climatologists.

U.S. Integrated Ocean Observing System (IOOS)
The Integrated Ocean Observing System provides data related to U.S. oceans, coasts, and the Great Lakes.

Water Resources of the United States
The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) collects information needed to understand the Nation's water resources, and provides access to water data, publications, and maps, as well as to recent water projects and events. Water data by state is also included.

World Ocean Database
Worldwide data sets and products from the National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC). The WODselect interface allows searching by user-specified criteria.

GIS

Cornell University Geospatial Information Repository (CUGIR)
Repository of geospatial data and metadata for New York State, with special emphasis on agriculture, ecology and natural resources.

National Atlas of the United States
Nationalatlas.gov provides comprehensive, maplike views of the geospatial and geostatistical data collected for the United States.

National Geospatial Program
The National Geospatial Program provides leadership for USGS [U.S. Geological Survey] coordination with partners to develop standards and produce consistent and accurate data through its Geospatial Liaison Network. Links are provided to data program activities, products and services.

Geodata.gov
Geospatial One-Stop (GOS) is a portal to federal, state and local geographic information.

New York State GIS Clearinghouse
A central repository of GIS data sets for New York state agencies and local governments.

Health - Statistics

Health Nutrition Population Statistics (HNP Stats)
A data hub for health, nutrition and population. World Bank data sets that draws on a variety of data sources from the World Health Organization (WHO), United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF), Food and Agricultural Organization of United Nations (FAO), United Nations Population Division, United Nations Statistics Division, United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA) and the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

MEASURE DHS
Demographic and Health Survey data and analysis on the population, health, and nutrition of women and children in developing countries. Measure DHS is a project of the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID).
Registration is required for access to data.

New York - Statistics

New York State Data Center
Economic, population, and housing data to assist local governments, business and the public.

New York State Statistical Yearbook
Data for the 57 counties and five boroughs of New York City.

New York State GIS Clearinghouse
A central repository of GIS data sets for New York state agencies and local governments.

Opinion Polls

Changing Values and Beliefs in 85 Countries: Trends from the Values Surveys from 1981 to 2004 Restricted Resource
Brill, 2008.
Also available in print. Location: Ref BD435 .C495 2008

Eurobarometer
Website for the Public Opinion Analysis sector of the European Commission.
General Social Survey
The GSS contains a standard core of demographic, behavioral and attitudinal questions tracking the opinions of Americans, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remain unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time trend studies.The GSS takes the pulse of America, and has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades.
ICPSR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research data archive of more than 800,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Users wishing to download members-only data and some publicly available data are required to establish a MyData account. Over 700+ studies are available for online data analysis (i.e., no downloading required) using Survey Documentation Analysis (SDA).

Help: Data Use Tutorial - ICPSR Help Center
Quantitative Literacy Teaching ToolsOnline Learning Center - Teaching with Data


note: Questions regarding data holdings should be sent to: Lynn Mayo, ICPSR Official Representative at Hamilton College, Burke Library, 315-859-4746.
Marist Institute for Public Opinion
The Marist Poll regularly measures public opinion at the local, state, and national level. MIPO is a survey research center at Marist College in Poughkeepsie, New York.

Pew Global Attitudes Project
A series of worldwide public opinion surveys, conducted by the Pew Research Center, on a broad array of subjects in the news.

Pew Research Center for the People & the Press
An independent opinion research group that studies attitudes toward the press, politics and public policy issues.

Polling the Nations Restricted Resource Some full text available
Question and answer responses from public opinion polls conducted by the major polling organizations and news media. Includes U.S. and international polls. Responses to the questions are included, but with no demographic breakdowns. Updated monthly. Coverage: 1986-present.

PollingReport.com
Nonpartisan resource on trends in American public opinion. State level data available only to individual subscribers.

Quinnipiac University Polling Institute
Regularly surveys residents in New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Pennsylvania, Florida, Ohio and the nation about political races, state and national elections, and issues of public concern.

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research and iPOLL Restricted Resource Some full text available
The largest collection of poll data anywhere. Broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, and international affairs. Coverage: 1935-present.
  • iPOLL contains half a million survey questions and answers asked in the U.S. over the last 65 years by more than 150 survey organizations.
  • RoperExpress provides on-demand access to datasets from thousands of studies for download in ASCII or SPSS formats.
  • RoperExplorer is an online data analysis system; no programming skills required; choose dependent and independent variables and quickly produce frequencies and cross-tabulations.
Help: YouTube Videos
World Public Opinion.org
Provides information and analysis about public opinion on international policy issues from around the world.

Population - International - Statistics

CIA World Factbook
General country profiles with basic population and economic data.

Health Nutrition Population Statistics (HNP Stats)
A data hub for health, nutrition and population. World Bank data sets that draws on a variety of data sources from the World Health Organization (WHO), United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF), Food and Agricultural Organization of United Nations (FAO), United Nations Population Division, United Nations Statistics Division, United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA) and the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

IPUMS International
Census microdata for social and economic research. Integrated Public Use Microdata Series International is the world's largest collection of publicly available individual-level census data. Coverage: sample data from population censuses around the world since 1960.

Population - U.S. - Statistics

American FactFinder
Easy access to census data in the form of maps, tables, and reports. American FactFinder 2 includes 2000 and 2010 census data. 1990 data can be downloaded from the census FTP site.
Help: Video Tutorials


Census 2000
The population of the U.S. on April 1, 2000 was 281,421,906.

American Community Survey (ACS)
A new nationwide survey, replacing the long form (SF3), is designed to see how communities look and are changing. Conducted annually.
  • Metropoliltan areas - 1 year estimated data
  • Rural - 5 year estimated data
  • Counties - mostly 5 year estimated data

Current Population Survey (CPS)
A monthly survey of about 50,000 households, the CPS is the primary source of information on the labor force characteristics of the U.S. population.

Historical Census Browser
U.S. Census population and economic data at the state and county level. Coverage: 1960-1960.

IPUMS USA
Integrated Public Use Microdata Series consists of census microdata, which are composed of individual records containing information collected on persons and households. The unit of observation is the individual. More than fifty high-precision samples of the American population drawn from fifteen federal censuses and from the American Community Surveys of 2000-2007.
Users must register before extracting data from the website.

U.S. Census Download Center
Designed for experienced users who need access to larger amounts of data than are available through other parts of American FactFinder.

Statistics & Data

Databib
A tool to identify and locate online repositories of research data. Users and bibliographers create and curate records that describe searchable data repositories.

Women - Statistics

GenderStats
Data on key gender topics from national statistics agencies, United Nations databases, and World Bank-conducted or funded surveys.

Global Gender Gap Report
Annual survey by the Global Economic Forum that measures educational attainment, economic participation and opportunity, political empowerment, health and survival.

WomanStats
Over 300 indicators of women's status in 174 countries. Users must create a free account to view the data.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form