Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers covering the international literature in sociology and related disciplines,including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law, penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies. Coverage: 1952-present.



 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Humanities and Social Science Index Retrospective Restricted Resource
Index of articles and book reviews from important scholarly journals. Coverage 1907-1984.

Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index of journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers covering the international literature in sociology and related disciplines,including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law, penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies. Coverage: 1952-present.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

Citation Guides

American Sociological Association Style Guide
Print Location: Ref Desk HM73 .A54 2007
Guide to documenting commonly cited resource in sociology. Consult the Chicago Manual of Style in cases where the ASA Style Guide does not provide guidance.
ASA Quick Style Guide Some full text available
Online guide to documenting the most commonly cited resource in Sociology.  This is the ASA Style Guide 3rd Edition.  4th Edition is forthcoming.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource Some full text available
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources
Provides information on where to access key writing and style guides along with a list of preferred documentation styles for each academic department.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Some full text available
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

Dictionaries

Oxford Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Collection of more than 200 cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Includes the Oxford Dictionary of Social Sciences and the Oxford Dictionary of Sociology.
note: Limited to 1 simultaneous user.

Encyclopedias

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scholarly essays with bibliographies surveying the field of sociology.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
Print Location: REF H 41 I58 2001
Encyclopedia with more than 4,000 articles and 90,000 bibliographic entries surveying all fields in the social and behavioral sciences.

Literature Reviews

Annual Review of Sociology Restricted Resource Some full text available
Articles reviewing the scholarly literature on topics of interest in sociology.
Coverage: 1975--present.

 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources
The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The sociology department generally follows guidelines from the American Sociological Association Style Guide. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

American Sociological Association Style Guide Ref Desk HM73 .A54 2007 Unrestricted Resource
Guide to documenting commonly cited resource in sociology. Consult the Chicago Manual of Style in cases where the ASA Style Guide does not provide guidance.

ASA Quick Style Guide Unrestricted Resource
Online guide to documenting the most commonly cited resource in Sociology.  This is the ASA Style Guide 3rd Edition.  4th Edition is forthcoming.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.
 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Laura Festine

Laura Festine
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4321