Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
ATLA Religion Database Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and essay collections in all fields of religion. Areas of focus include the Christian Bible, church history, world religions, theology, and ethics. Coverage: 1949-present.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

ATLA Religion Database Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and essay collections in all fields of religion. Areas of focus include the Christian Bible, church history, world religions, theology, and ethics. Coverage: 1949-present.

Citation Guides

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource Some full text available
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources
Provides information on where to access key writing and style guides along with a list of preferred documentation styles for each academic department.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Some full text available
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia of the Qurʾān
Print Location: Ref BP133 .E53 2001
v. 1. A-D
v. 2. E-I
v. 3. J-O
v. 4. P-Sh
v. 5. Si-Z
v. 6. Index.

New Cambridge History of Islam Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
v. 1. The formation of the Islamic world, sixth to eleventh centuries / edited by Chase F. Robinson
v. 2. The western Islamic world, eleventh to eighteenth centuries / edited by Maribel Fierro
v. 3. The eastern Islamic world, eleventh to eighteenth centuries / edited by David O. Morgan and Anthony Reid
v. 4. Islamic cultures and societies to the end of the eighteenth century / edited by Robert Irwin
v. 5. The Islamic world in the age of Western dominance / edited by Francis Robinson
v. 6. Muslims and modernity: culture and society since 1800 / edited by Robert Hefner.

 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The religious studies department generally follows guidelines from the Chicago Manual of Style. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Laura Festine

Laura Festine
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4321