Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
 Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

JSTOR Restricted Resource
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere. Arts & Sciences collections I-IX Life Sciences collection

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource
Full text of over 9,000 news, business, and legal sources. Articles for most newspapers date back to the early 1990s. More Info: News - Business - Legal Research - Company Dossier Help: Podcast Tutorials - Wiki - Shepardizing a Case

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

WorldCat Restricted Resource
Catalog of books, periodicals, videos, and other materials from more than 72,000 libraries worldwide. Most items are available through interlibrary loan and arrive in less than 2 weeks.
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books, government publications, reports, and conference proceedings related to environmental science. Coverage: 1981-present.

Google Scholar
Search for articles in scholarly journals. Also includes patents, court opinions and law journals.

Google Scholar Tip:
On Campus users will see the Find It @ Hamilton link with article citations. Use this to connect to articles in Hamilton's online journals.

Off Campus users can also link directly to Hamilton online journals by setting a Google Scholar Preference.
  1. Go to Google Scholar.
  2. In the top menu bar select Settings.
  3. Select Library Links (left column) and search for Hamilton.
  4. Select Hamilton College-Find It @ Hamilton and then Save.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
  • Arts & Sciences collections I-IX
  • Life Sciences collection

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of over 9,000 news, business, and legal sources. Articles for most newspapers date back to the early 1990s.
More Info:
News - Business - Legal Research - Company Dossier
Help: Podcast Tutorials - Wiki - Shepardizing a Case

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

Alternative Press Index and Archive Restricted Resource
Index of over 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Coverage: 1969-present.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues
Print Location: Ref GE10 .E52 2000


Encyclopedia of Life Sciences Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An encyclopedia of the life sciences with particular emphasis on cell and molecular biology and its relevance to medicine. Updated continually.
note: Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Encyclopedia of Religion and Nature
Print Location: Reference BL 31 E53 2005


Environmental Encyclopedia
Print Location: Ref GE10 .E38 2003


Legends of the Earth, Sea, and Sky: An Encyclopedia of Nature Myths
Print Location: Reference BL 435 A53 1998


Maps & Atlases

Atlas of United States Environmental Issues
Print Location: Atlas Table G1201.G3 M3 1990


 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Image Resources
Finding Images and Multimedia Resources
Guide to locating resources in Burke Library and on the web.
 + / - Citing Sources
The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The economics department generally follows guidelines from the Chicago Manual of Style. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.
 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Kristin Strohmeyer

Kristin Strohmeyer
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4481