Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
PsycINFO Restricted Resource
American Psychological Association’s index of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Coverage: 1887-present (journals); 1987-present (books and book chapters).

PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource
Full text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group. Coverage: 1894-present.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

PubPsych Unrestricted Resource
A free psychology resource, PubPsych aggregates metadata records on psychological literature, tests, treatment programs and research data from European and American scientific information producers.



 + / - All Resources

Advertising

PubPsych
A free psychology resource, PubPsych aggregates metadata records on psychological literature, tests, treatment programs and research data from European and American scientific information producers.

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

PsycINFO Restricted Resource
American Psychological Association’s index of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Coverage: 1887-present (journals); 1987-present (books and book chapters).

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group. Coverage: 1894-present.


MEDLINE Restricted Resource
Index to journal articles with information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Coverage: 1950-present.

PubMed
National Library of Medicine index of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Coverage: 1950-present.

Citation Guides

Citation Fox - APA
An APA style guide featuring a large number of example citations for books and journals along with many not-so-frequently encountered source types used in the social sciences. From the SUNY Albany Libraries.
Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources
Provides information on where to access key writing and style guides along with a list of preferred documentation styles for each academic department.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Print Location: Ref Desk BF76.7 .P8 3 2010
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the social sciences.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

Research and Documentation Online - APA Style Some full text available
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using APA style.

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Psychology Restricted Resource
Edited by Andrew M. Colman. Oxford University Press 2009.
Oxford Companion to the Mind Restricted Resource
Richard L. Gregory. Oxford University Press 1987.
Oxford Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Collection of more than 200 cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Coverage: Latest editions.
note: Limited to 1 simultaneous user.

Encyclopedias

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
Print Location: REF H 41 I58 2001
Encyclopedia with more than 4,000 articles and 90,000 bibliographic entries surveying all fields in the social and behavioral sciences.

Handbooks

Advances in Experimental Social Psychology
Print Location: HM 251 .A35
Library owns v.1 - v.41 (1964 - 2009)
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders : DSM-5
Print Location: REF RC 455.2 .C4 D54 2013
5th edition.

Handbook of Child Psychology
Print Location: REF BF 721 H242 1998


Literature Reviews

Annual Review of Psychology Restricted Resource
Coverage: 1950--present.

Tests and Measurements

Mental Measurements Yearbook
Print Location: REF BF 431 M549
Library owns: 2nd-18th editions; 1940-2010.
Latest edition in Reference, older editions in stacks.

Tests in Print, v1-6
Print Location: REF BF 431 T4
v1, 1961 edited by Oscar Krisen Buros and Barbara A. Peace
v2, 1974 edited by Oscar Krisen Buros
v3, 1983 edited by James V. Mitchell, Jr.
v4, 1994 edited by Linda L Murphy and Jane Close Conoley
v5, 1999 edited by Linda L. Murphy, James C. Impara and Barbara S. Plake
v6, 2002 edited by Linda L. Murphy, et. al.

 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The psychology department generally follows guidelines from the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association Ref Desk BF76.7 .P8 3 2010

Citation Fox - APA Unrestricted Resource
An APA style guide featuring a large number of example citations for books and journals along with many not-so-frequently encountered source types used in the social sciences. From the SUNY Albany Libraries.

Research and Documentation Online - APA Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using APA style.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Laura Festine

Laura Festine
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4321