Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
Philosopher's Index Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books, essays, and book reviews covering scholarly research in all major areas of philosophy. Coverage: 1940-present.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Restricted Resource
Features 2,000 essays by scholars and philosophers on a broad range of subjects that include Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy. Updated regularly.
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Philosopher's Index Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books, essays, and book reviews covering scholarly research in all major areas of philosophy. Coverage: 1940-present.

PhilPapers Some full text available
Directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

Humanities and Social Science Index Retrospective Restricted Resource
Index of articles and book reviews from important scholarly journals. Coverage 1907-1984.

Citation Guides

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource Some full text available
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources
Provides information on where to access key writing and style guides along with a list of preferred documentation styles for each academic department.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Some full text available
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Dictionaries

Oxford Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Collection of more than 200 cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Includes the Oxford Companion to Philosophy and the Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy.
note: Limited to 1 simultaneous user.

Encyclopedias

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Restricted Resource Some full text available
Features 2,000 essays by scholars and philosophers on a broad range of subjects that include Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy. Updated regularly.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Some full text available
The encyclopedia's peer reviewed entries are maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. Articles include bibliographies and links to other Internet resources.
 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources
The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The philosophy department generally follows guidelines from the Chicago Manual of Style. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.
 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Reid Larson

Reid Larson
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4480