Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
PubMed Unrestricted Resource
National Library of Medicine index of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Coverage: 1950-present.

PsycINFO Restricted Resource
American Psychological Association’s index of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Coverage: 1887-present (journals); 1987-present (books and book chapters).

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

PsycINFO Restricted Resource
American Psychological Association’s index of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Coverage: 1887-present (journals); 1987-present (books and book chapters).

PubMed
National Library of Medicine index of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Coverage: 1950-present.

ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Full text of articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books covering the scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature published in 24 fields of science. Coverage varies by title.

SciFinder Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to chemical information available from CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service). Includes references to published literature, organic and inorganic substances, reactions, properties, patents and access to MEDLINE. Coverage: 1907-present.
More Info:
SciFinder at Hamilton - Registration for First Time Users
Help: Tutorials

note: Registration required.
Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

Citation Guides

New Oxford Dictionary for Scientific Writers and Editors Restricted Resource
This dictionary provides scientists, science writers, and all who work in scientific publishing with a clear style guide for the presentation of scientific information. In over 9,700 entries, it reflects widely accepted usage and follows the recommendations of international scientific bodies such as IUPAC and IUPAP. The dictionary gives clear guidance on such matters as spellings (American English and British English), punctuation, abbreviations, prefixes and suffixes, units and quantities, and symbols.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Print Location: Ref Desk BF76.7 .P8 3 2010
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the social sciences.

Research and Documentation Online - APA Style Some full text available
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using APA style.

Encyclopedias

Dictionary of Scientists Restricted Resource Some full text available
Oxford University Press, 1999. A searchable biographical dictionary of scientists, covering all areas of science: physics and astronomy to medicine and ecology, including key figures in the fields of mathematics and technology.

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An encyclopedia of the life sciences with particular emphasis on cell and molecular biology and its relevance to medicine. Updated continually.
note: Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The neuroscience department generally follows guidelines from the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - APA Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using APA style.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association Ref Desk BF76.7 .P8 3 2010 Unrestricted Resource

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Glynis Asu

Glynis Asu
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4482