Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
Oxford Music Online Restricted Resource
Gateway to some of Oxford's major music reference sources with more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies. Includes full texts with updates of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.
Note: Limited to 1 simultaneous user.

Music Index Restricted Resource
Index of articles, book reviews, record reviews, first performances and obituaries from more than 700 international music periodicals, including classical and popular music. Coverage: 1952-present.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books, and other materials about traditional traditional music, popular music, and classical music. Includes sources related to musicology, ethnomusicology, pedagogy, psychology, anthropology, and sociology. Coverage: 1967-present.

Music and Performing Arts Restricted Resource
Music & Performing Arts (formerly Music Online) includes thousands of audio recordings with liner notes, biographical information, and more. Major collections feature American song, classical music, jazz, popular music, and world music.
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
  • Arts & Sciences collections I-IX
  • Life Sciences collection

Music Index Restricted Resource
Index of articles, book reviews, record reviews, first performances and obituaries from more than 700 international music periodicals, including classical and popular music. Coverage: 1952-present.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books, and other materials about traditional traditional music, popular music, and classical music. Includes sources related to musicology, ethnomusicology, pedagogy, psychology, anthropology, and sociology. Coverage: 1967-present.

RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals Restricted Resource

Index of articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, and press reviews. Coverage: 1800-1950.


Audio

Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project Resource contains audio
From the University of California, Santa Barbara. Contains over 8,000 digital audio files of recordings made in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, including popular songs, vaudeville, minstrel music, and more.

Met Opera on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio

More than 450 full-length Met performances, including HD videos from the Met’s award-winning Live in HD series of movie theater transmissions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, ‘80s, and ‘90s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1936. All videos contain English subtitles and recent performances include subtitles in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish.

Help: FAQs; Technical Requirements

Met Opera on Demand is provided through the generosity of Hamilton Trustee Kevin W. Kennedy '70.
Music and Performing Arts Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains audio
Music & Performing Arts (formerly Music Online) includes thousands of audio recordings with liner notes, biographical information, and more. Major collections feature American song, classical music, jazz, popular music, and world music.

National Jukebox Resource contains audio
Contains more than 10,000 historical recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925. From the Library of Congress.

Naxos Music Library Restricted Resource Resource contains audio
Recordings from the complete catalogs of BIS, Chandos, Hänssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Naxos, Ondine and selected titles of other leading independent labels. Naxos provides streaming access to more than 46,000 CDs with more than 653,000 tracks, including classical music, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music.
More Info: NAXOS at Hamilton

note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users.

Citation Guides

Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources
Provides information on where to access key writing and style guides along with a list of preferred documentation styles for each academic department.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

Research and Documentation Online Some full text available
A good place to start. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource. Consult the departmental preferences table in the library's guide to citing sources if you are not sure which documentation style to follow.

Encyclopedias

Oxford Music Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Gateway to some of Oxford's major music reference sources with more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies. Includes full texts with updates of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.
note: Limited to 1 simultaneous user.

Images & Multimedia

Naxos Music Library Restricted Resource Resource contains audio
Recordings from the complete catalogs of BIS, Chandos, Hänssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Naxos, Ondine and selected titles of other leading independent labels. Naxos provides streaming access to more than 46,000 CDs with more than 653,000 tracks, including classical music, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music.
More Info: NAXOS at Hamilton

note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users.

Indexes

Folk Music Index
Index to recordings of tunes and songs from traditional and contemporary sources, with emphasis on old-time fiddle and banjo tunes.

Liner Notes

Historic AFC LP Liner Note Booklets Some full text available
From the Library of Congress and the American Folklife Center. This site contains downloadable PDF files of liner note booklets, packed with information about the recordings and the traditions they represented. Includes liner notes of instrumental music, song, storytelling, and occupational calls such as "field hollers."

Music and Performing Arts Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains audio
Music & Performing Arts (formerly Music Online) includes thousands of audio recordings with liner notes, biographical information, and more. Major collections feature American song, classical music, jazz, popular music, and world music.

Primary Sources

American Memory - Sound Recordings Resource contains audio
From the Library of Congress, this online resources contains sound recordings in the following areas of interest:

African-American Music, Southern U.S. ~ Recordings ~ 1938-1943
Berliner, Emile ~ Early Recording Industry ~ Multiformat ~ 1870-1956
Emile Berliner and the Birth of the Recording Industry
Civil War Era ~ Band Music ~ Multiformat
Band Music from the Civil War Era
Coolidge Era ~ Multiformat ~ 1924-1929
Prosperity and Thrift: The Coolidge Era and the Consumer Economy, 1921-1929
Edison Companies ~ Film and Sound Recordings
Inventing Entertainment: the Early Motion Pictures and Sound Recordings of the Edison Companies
Folk Culture and Natural Environment, West Virginia ~ Multiformat ~ 1992-1999
Tending the Commons: Folklife and Landscape in Southern West Virginia
Folk Culture, Florida ~ Multiformat ~ 1937-1942
Florida Folklife from the WPA Collections, 1937-1942
Folk Fiddle Music, Southern Appalachian ~ Henry Reed ~ Multiformat ~ 1966-1967
Fiddle Tunes of the Old Frontier: The Henry Reed Collection
Folk Music, California ~ Sidney Robertson Cowell ~ Multiformat ~ 1930s
California Gold: Northern California Folk Music from the Thirties Collected by Sidney Robertson Cowell
Folk Music, Dust Bowl ~ Charles L. Todd and Robert Sonkin ~ Multiformat ~ 1940-1941
Voices from the Dust Bowl: the Charles L. Todd and Robert Sonkin Migrant Worker Collection, 1940-1941
Folk Music, Ohio and Erie Canal ~ Captain Pearl R. Nye ~ Songs ~ 1937-1944
Captain Pearl R. Nye: Life on the Ohio and Erie Canal
Folk Music, Southern U.S. ~ John Lomax and Ruby Lomax ~ Multiformat ~ 1939
Southern Mosaic: The John and Ruby Lomax 1939 Southern States Recording Trip
Hispanic Music, Rio Grande ~ Juan Bautista Rael ~ Multiformat ~ 1940s
Hispano Music & Culture from the Northern Rio Grande: The Juan B. Rael Collection
Occupational Folklore, Paterson, N.J. ~ Multimedia ~ 1994
Working in Paterson: Occupational Heritage in an Urban Setting
Omaha Indian Music
Pearl Harbor and Public Reactions ~ Audio Interviews ~ 1941-1942
After the Day of Infamy: "Man-on-the-Street" Interviews Following the Attack on Pearl Harbor
Presidential Inaugurations ~ Multiformat ~ 1789-2001
"I Do Solemnly Swear...": Presidential Inaugurations
Quilts and Quiltmaking in America, 1978-1996
Ranching Culture, Nevada ~ Multiformat ~ 1945-1982
Buckaroos in Paradise: Ranching Culture in Northern Nevada, 1945-1982
Roosevelt, Theodore ~ Films ~ 1898-1919
September 11, 2001, Documentary Project
Voices from the Days of Slavery: Former Slaves Tell Their Stories
Variety Stage ~ Multiformat ~ 1870-1920
The American Variety Stage: Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment, 1870-1920
World War I and 1920 Election ~ Recordings
American Leaders Speak: Recordings from World War I and the 1920 Election

Video

Met Opera on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio

More than 450 full-length Met performances, including HD videos from the Met’s award-winning Live in HD series of movie theater transmissions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, ‘80s, and ‘90s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1936. All videos contain English subtitles and recent performances include subtitles in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish.

Help: FAQs; Technical Requirements

Met Opera on Demand is provided through the generosity of Hamilton Trustee Kevin W. Kennedy '70.
 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. Ask your professor if he or she prefers a particular citation style, and consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for additional resources.

Research and Documentation Online Unrestricted Resource
A good place to start. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource. Consult the departmental preferences table in the library's guide to citing sources if you are not sure which documentation style to follow. APA Chicago MLA

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Lisa Forrest

Lisa Forrest
Director, Research & Instruction Services
Tel: (315) 859-4476