Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - About Mobile Library Resources
Many mobile library sites are in their first release, so our technical support may be limited. In fact, our own site is not yet optimized for mobile devices, but we wanted you to have access to the mobile versions of our databases and other library products that are available. Check it out and let us know what you think.

Publishers and database vendors offer mobile access to their conent using different methods. Some will require your Hamilton ID to log in, some use an app and require you to create a personal account and confirm you are a member of the Hamilton community, some provide an optimized site that will detect a mobile device, and some may limit mobile access to their content from on campus.


If you have questions or comments, contact us at askref@hamilton.edu or 315-859-4735.
 + / - Articles
See All Resources section for full descriptions.

Academic OneFile Mobile   app download required
Academic Search Premier Mobile
ACS Journals Mobile   app download required
Agricola Mobile
Alternative Press Index and Archive Mobile
America: History & Life Mobile
Anthropology Plus Mobile
Art Source Mobile
ATLA Religion Database Mobile
Biography and Genealogy Master Index Mobile   app download required
BIOSIS Citation Index Mobile registration required
Business & Company Resource Center Mobile   app download required
Business Source Premier Mobile
Chronicle of Higher Education Mobile   registration required; app available
Communication & Mass Media Complete Mobile
Current Contents Connect Mobile registration required
Data Citation Index Mobile registration required
Derwent Innovations Index Mobile registration required
EBSCO app for iPhone and Android   app download required
EBSCOhost Mobile
EconLit Mobile
ERIC Mobile
Gale Virtual Reference Library Mobile   app download required
General OneFile Mobile   app download required
GeoRef Mobile
GreenFILE Mobile
Health Reference Center Academic Mobile   app download required
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Mobile
Historical Abstracts Mobile
Humanities and Social Science Index Retrospective Mobile
INSPEC Mobile
InfoTrac Newsstand Mobile app download required
JSTOR Mobile
L'Année Philologique Mobile
LexisNexis Academic Mobile
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts Mobile (LISTA)
Literature Criticism Online Mobile   app download required
Literature Resource Center Mobile   app download required
MEDLINE Mobile
Military & Government Collection Mobile
MLA International Bibliography Mobile
Music Index Mobile
National Newspaper Index Mobile   app download required
New York State Newspapers Mobile   app download required
Newspaper Source Mobile
Philosopher's Index Mobile
Professional Development Collection Mobile
PsycINFO Mobile
PubMed Mobile
Readers' Guide Retrospective Mobile
Regional Business News Mobile
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Mobile
RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals Mobile
ScienceDirect Mobile   app download and registration required
SciFinder Mobile
Serials Directory Mobile
Times (London) Digital Archive Mobile   app download required
Web of Science Mobile registration required
Women's Studies International Mobile
Zoological Record Mobile registration required


 + / - Books
See All Resources section for full descriptions.

ALEX - Mobile
Google Book Search Mobile
WorldCat Mobile
 + / - Images and Music
See All Resources section for full descriptions.

ARTstor Mobile registration required; app required for Android devices
Naxos Music Library Mobile   app download and registration required
 + / - Citing Sources
See All Resources section for full descriptions.

RefMobile
 + / - All Resources

eBook Collections

EBL - ConnectNY Some full text available
Academic titles across all disciplines. EBL eBooks can be "checked out" and read online, or be downloaded to an ebook reader or mobile device. Coverage: 2010-present.
More Info: ConnectNY eBook Library is a shared ebook collection. ConnectNY is a consortium of 18 independent academic institutions in New York State. The mission of ConnectNY is to share collections, leverage resources, and enhance services through cooperative initiatives and coordinated activities.
eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost) Mobile Restricted Resource Some full text available
A growing collection of over 120,000 academic eBooks.
ebrary Mobile Restricted Resource Some full text available
A growing collection of over 75,000 academic eBooks.
  1. Create a personal account on ebrary.
  2. Create an Adobe ID. Adobe accounts allow you to manage downloaded books and read them offline.
  3. Go to Adobe.com and click Sign In. Click Create an Adobe Account. Fill out the form and click Complete.
  4. Download the ebrary app: iPad/iPhone/iPod - Android
  5. Open the app. You will be prompted to login with your ebrary username and password; and then to enter your Adobe login and password for authorization.
HELP: ebrary Download Options

Mobile Sites and Apps: A to Z

Academic OneFile Mobile Some full text available
Mobile device access via iPhone or Android app provides access to peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources in the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts and humanities. Coverage: 1980-present.

Academic Search Premier Mobile Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

ACS Journals Mobile Some full text available
Download mobile app for iPhone/iPad or Android. Android users must download the Opera mobile web browser to view full text PDFs. Must be connected to Hamilton network by wifi or VPN.

Full text of over 30 American Chemical Society journals and magazines. Coverage: 1879-present.
Agricola Mobile Restricted Resource
Catalog of the National Agricultural Library with records for publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines.
ALEX - Mobile
The Hamilton College Library catalog. Search for print and electronic books, journals, videos, and other resources available at Hamilton.
Alternative Press Index and Archive Mobile Restricted Resource
Index of over 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Coverage: 1969-present.
America: History & Life Mobile Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.
Anthropology Plus Mobile Restricted Resource
Index of articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies. Coverage: Late-19th century to present.
Art Source Mobile Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Full text of articles from nearly 200 journals dating back to 1997, with indexing and abstracts for more than 500 journals. Coverage: 1984-present.
ARTstor Mobile Resource contains images
Collection of more than one million high-resolution images of architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects. Coverage: prehistory to present.

Note: Mobile users must be registered with ARTstor.
  1. Register for an account.
  2. Android - Go to artstor.org on your device. Click the "Enter here" button. Download the free app.
  3. iPad, iPhone, and iPod touch. No app required. Go to library.artstor.org using the Safari browser. Log into your ARTstor account.

ATLA Religion Database Mobile Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and essay collections in all fields of religion. Areas of focus include the Christian Bible, church history, world religions, theology, and ethics. Coverage: 1949-present.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index Mobile Some full text available
Mobile device access via iPhone or Android app provides access to this index of more than 12 million biographical sketches appearing in current and retrospective reference works. Updated semi-annually.
BIOSIS Citation Index Mobile Restricted Resource
The most comprehensive coverage of the literature in the life sciences.

Note:
Web of Knowledge user name and password required to use Mobile site. After logging in your device will be authenticated for 6 months.
Business Insights: Essentials Mobile Some full text available
Full text information on  U.S. and international businesses, industries and products.
Business Source Premier Mobile Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text articles from nearly 3,600 scholarly publications with indexing and abstracts for nearly 4,400 journals. Includes detailed company profiles for the world's 5,000 largest companies and country economic reports from the EIU and CountryWatch. Coverage: 1965-present.
Chronicle of Higher Education Mobile Some full text available
  1. Create a free Chronicle account using your @Hamilton.edu email address.
  2. iPad - download the iPad app and log in to your Chronicle account using your @Hamilton.edu email address. New issues will be delivered automatically to your iPad.
  3. Smart Phone, Computer, Tablet - Using your browser (Safari, Firefox, Chrome, etc.), go to Chronicle.com and log in to your Chronicle account using your @Hamilton.edu email address. To avoid future login prompts check the box that reads, Keep me logged in on this computer.

Communication & Mass Media Complete Mobile Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index of more than 400 journals related to the study of communication and associated disciplines, with full text access to more than 200 journals dating as far back as 1915.
Current Contents Connect Mobile Restricted Resource
Complete tables of contents and bibliographic information from the world’s leading scholarly journals and books. Coverage: 1998-present.

Note: Web of Knowledge user name and password required to use Mobile site. After logging in your device will be authenticated for 6 months.
Data Citation Index Mobile Restricted Resource
Discover research data available in a growing number of data repositories worldwide. About 80 repositories are currently indexed by the Data Citation Index. Each record also includes a recommended citation for the resource, helping to make data easier to cite. Coverage: 1900-present.

Note:
Web of Knowledge user name and password required to use Mobile site. After logging in your device will be authenticated for 6 months.
Derwent Innovations Index Mobile Restricted Resource
Patent information from the patent information from Derwent World Patent Index® and patent citation information from Patents Citation Index. Coverage: 1963-present.

Note: Web of Knowledge user name and password required to use Mobile site. After logging in your device will be authenticated for 6 months.
EBL - ConnectNY Some full text available
Academic titles across all disciplines. EBL eBooks can be "checked out" and read online, or be downloaded to an ebook reader or mobile device. Coverage: 2010-present.
More Info: ConnectNY eBook Library is a shared ebook collection. ConnectNY is a consortium of 18 independent academic institutions in New York State. The mission of ConnectNY is to share collections, leverage resources, and enhance services through cooperative initiatives and coordinated activities.
eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost) Mobile Restricted Resource Some full text available
A growing collection of over 120,000 academic eBooks.
ebrary Mobile Restricted Resource Some full text available
A growing collection of over 75,000 academic eBooks.
  1. Create a personal account on ebrary.
  2. Create an Adobe ID. Adobe accounts allow you to manage downloaded books and read them offline.
  3. Go to Adobe.com and click Sign In. Click Create an Adobe Account. Fill out the form and click Complete.
  4. Download the ebrary app: iPad/iPhone/iPod - Android
  5. Open the app. You will be prompted to login with your ebrary username and password; and then to enter your Adobe login and password for authorization.
HELP: ebrary Download Options
EBSCO app for iPhone and Android Restricted Resource
  1. Connect to EBSCOhost Mobile.
  2. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click the EBSCOhost iPhone and Android Applications link to email yourself the download instructions, access key and a link to the app store.
  3. Download the app from the iTunes Store or Google Play.
  4. After downloading the app, it must be authenticated from EBSCO. Click the authentication key link found in the email (Step 1) to authenticate the app. You'll have 24 hours to access the key from your device to authenticate the app. If the key is not used within 24 hours, it expires and you will need a new key.
  5. Questions? EBSCOhost Mobile Help

EBSCOhost Mobile Restricted Resource
Search Academic Search Premier and 30+ EBSCOhost databases with links to full text articles.
EconLit Mobile Restricted Resource
Comprehensive index of the world's economic literature from over 300 major economic journals and collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.). Coverage: 1969-present.
ERIC Mobile Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index of journal articles, books, conference papers, technical reports, policy reports, and other materials related to education. Includes the full text for more than 300,000 items. Coverage: 1966-present.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Mobile Some full text available
Mobile device access via iPhone or Android app provides access to a growing collection of fully searchable e-Reference books covering multiple subject areas.
General OneFile Mobile Some full text available
Mobile device access via iPhone or Android app provides access to general interest magazines and journals. Includes transcripts and audio from all NPR (National Public Radio) programs.
GeoRef Mobile Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses covering the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Coverage: 1785-present.
Google Book Search Mobile Some full text available
Partnership between Google and a number of major research libraries aimed at digitizing their collections and making them available online.
GreenFILE Mobile Restricted Resource
Index of scholarly journals, government publications and general interest magazines on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and other aspects of human impact to the environment. Coverage: 1974-present.
Health Reference Center Academic Mobile Some full text available
Mobile device access via iPhone or Android app provides access to articles from a wide range of nursing and allied health journals, newspapers, magazines, newsletters, consumer health information sources, and reference works. Includes full text for more than 75% of citations as well as multimedia content. Coverage: 1980-present.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Mobile Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of articles from over 500 journals focusing on medicine with indexing for over 800 journals. Includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. Coverage: 1975-present.
Historical Abstracts Mobile Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.
Humanities and Social Science Index Retrospective Mobile Restricted Resource
Index of articles and book reviews from important scholarly journals. Coverage 1907-1984.
InfoTrac Newsstand Mobile Some full text available
Mobile device access via iPhone or Android app provides access to articles from more than 1,000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world.
INSPEC Mobile Restricted Resource
Index of articles from scientific and technical journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations covering physics, electronics, electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology. Coverage: 1969-present.
JSTOR Mobile Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to seven JSTOR collections with more than 350 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
L'Année Philologique Mobile Restricted Resource
Index of scholarly work in fields related to the language, literature, history and culture of ancient Greece and Rome. Coverage 1924-present.
LexisNexis Academic Mobile Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of over 9,000 news, business, and legal sources. Articles for most newspapers date back to the early 1990s.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts Mobile (LISTA) Restricted Resource
Index of more than 600 periodicals, books, research reports, and proceedings. Subjects include librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, and the information industry. Coverage: 1960-present.
Literature Criticism Online Mobile Some full text available
Mobile device access via iPhone or Android app provides access to scholarly and popular commentary from books, journals, magazines, broadsheets, pamphlets, diaries, and newspapers. Online access begins in 2009.
Literature Resource Center Mobile Some full text available
Mobile device access via iPhone or Android app provides access to an extensive collection of full-text scholarly articles, book reviews, biographical essays, and work overviews. Covers authors and literary topics from all genres, time periods, and regions of the world.

MEDLINE Mobile Restricted Resource
Index to journal articles with information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Coverage: 1950-present.
Military & Government Collection Mobile Restricted Resource
Index to academic journals, periodicals, and other content with news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Coverage: Varies by title.
MLA International Bibliography Mobile Restricted Resource
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.
Music Index Mobile Restricted Resource
Index of articles, book reviews, record reviews, first performances and obituaries from more than 700 international music periodicals, including classical and popular music. Coverage: 1952-present.
National Newspaper Index Mobile
Mobile device access via iPhone or Android app provides access to indexing for the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Christian Science Monitor, the Los Angeles Times and the Washington Post. Coverage: 1977-present.
Naxos Music Library Mobile Resource contains audio
  1. From a computer (not an iPad or tablet), connect to Naxos Music Library.
  2. Navigate to the Playlists tab and sign up for a Student/Member Playlist Account. You will receive a confirmation e-mail to the e-mail address you used to sign up. Click the link in the e-mail to confirm your account.
  3. Download the Naxos app. iPad/iPhone - Android
  4. The login you created for your Student/Member Playlist Account will be your login for the app as well.
Note: While you may search and stream on a mobile device, building and editing playlists must be done on a computer.

New York State Newspapers Mobile Some full text available
Mobile device access via iPhone or Android app provides access to full-text of articles from more than 30 New York State newspapers. Missing images and some content. Includes publications from Albany, Buffalo, and New York City, and Syracuse. Coverage: Varies by title.
Newspaper Source Mobile Restricted Resource Some full text available
Cover-to-cover full text for 45 national (U.S.) & international newspapers. Also includes selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers and some full text television and radio news transcripts. Coverage varies by title.
Philosopher's Index Mobile Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books, essays, and book reviews covering scholarly research in all major areas of philosophy. Coverage: 1940-present.
Professional Development Collection Mobile Restricted Resource
Highly specialized collection of over 500 full text journals designed for professional educators. Includes indexing and abstracts for more than 300 additional journals. Coverage: 1965-present.
PsycINFO Mobile Restricted Resource
American Psychological Association’s index of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Coverage: 1887-present (journals); 1987-present (books and book chapters).
PubMed Mobile
More than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

note: The Find It @ Hamilton links to full text are not available on PubMed Mobile.
Readers' Guide Retrospective Mobile Restricted Resource
Index of articles from 240 leading general interest magazines published in the U.S. and Canada. Coverage: 1890-1982.
RefMobile Restricted Resource
Access your RefWorks account to import new references using the SmartAdd feature. Group access code required.
More Info: Fact Sheet - Working with RefMobile - RefWorks FAQ

Regional Business News Mobile Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of articles from more than 80 regional business publications. Coverage varies by title.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Mobile Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books, and other materials about traditional traditional music, popular music, and classical music. Includes sources related to musicology, ethnomusicology, pedagogy, psychology, anthropology, and sociology. Coverage: 1967-present.
RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals Mobile Restricted Resource
Index of articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, and press reviews. Coverage: 1800-1950.
ScienceDirect Mobile Some full text available
Full text of articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books covering the scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature published in 24 fields of science. Coverage varies by title.

NOTE: Download mobile app for iPhone/iPad and Android. Requires Hamilton email address and ScienceDirect registration.
SciFinder Mobile Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to chemical information available from CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) via mobile device. Includes references to published literature, organic and inorganic substances, reactions, properties, patents and access to MEDLINE. Coverage: 1907-present.

Serials Directory Mobile Restricted Resource
Bibliographic information and current pricing for more than 200,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers published in the U.S. and abroad. Includes infromation on indexing sources for each publication.
Times (London) Digital Archive Mobile Some full text available
Mobile device access via iPhone or Android app provides access to the newspaper's text, images, and graphics in their original layout for the London Times. Coverage: 1785-2006.

Note: Content from the Sunday Times is not included in this database.
Web of Science Mobile Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. Coverage: 1984-present.

Note: Web of Knowledge user name and password required to use Mobile site. After logging in your device will be authenticated for 6 months.


Women's Studies International Mobile Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books, proceedings, reports, and other sources related to women's studies and feminist research. Coverage: 1972-present.
WorldCat Mobile
Catalog with more than 95 million records describing books, periodicals, videos, and other materials owned by libraries around the world and available through interlibrary loan.
More Info: Introducing WorldCat Mobile
Zoological Record Mobile Restricted Resource
The most comprehensive index to the zoological and animal science literature. Coverage: 1864-present.

Note:
Web of Knowledge user name and password required to use Mobile site. After logging in your device will be authenticated for 6 months.