Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
  • Arts & Sciences collections I-IX
  • Life Sciences collection

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index of 1,700 journals in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Coverage: 1975-present.

Country Information

Government and Politics of the Middle East and North Africa
Print Location: Ref DS62.8 .G68 2011
Chapters cover the history, politics and economics of the countries and region. Includes maps and extensive bibliographies. 6th ed., 2011.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia of the Qurʾān
Print Location: Ref BP133 .E53 2001
v. 1. A-D
v. 2. E-I
v. 3. J-O
v. 4. P-Sh
v. 5. Si-Z
v. 6. Index.

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa
Print Location: Ref DS43 .E53 2004


Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures
Print Location: Ref HQ1170 .E53 2003


Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
2009 ed. In-depth art historical and cultural information about dynasties, art forms, artists, architecture, rulers, monuments, archaeological sites and stylistic developments with illustrations of sculpture, mosaic, painting, ceramics, architecture, metalwork and calligraphy.

New Encyclopedia of Islam
Print Location: Ref BP40 .G427 2008
3rd ed., 2008.

Handbooks

Cambridge History of Turkey Volume 1: Byzantium to Turkey 1071–1453 Restricted Resource
This volume examines the rise of Turkish power in Anatolia from the arrival of the first Turks at the end of the eleventh century to the fall of Constantinople in 1453. Taking the period as a whole, the volume covers the political, economic, social, intellectual and cultural history of the region as the Byzantine empire crumbled and Anatolia passed into Turkish control to become the heartland of the Ottoman empire.
Cambridge History of Turkey Volume 2: The Ottoman Empire as a World Power, 1453-1603 Restricted Resource
>With the conquest of Constantinople and the extinguishing of the Byzantine Empire in 1453, the Ottoman Empire moved into a new phase of expansion during which it emerged in the sixteenth century as a dominant political player on the world scene. With territory stretching around the Mediterranean from the Adriatic Sea to Morocco, and from the Caucasus to the Caspian Sea, the Ottomans reached the apogee of their military might in a period seen by many later Ottomans, and much later historians, as a golden age in which the state was strong, the sultan's might unquestionable, and intellectual life and the arts flourishing. Volume 2 of The Cambridge History of Turkey examines this period from the conquest of Constantinople in 1453 to the accession of Ahmed I in 1603.
Cambridge History of Turkey Volume 3: The Later Ottoman Empire, 1603–1839 Restricted Resource
Volume 3 of The Cambridge History of Turkey traces the history of the later Ottoman Empire from the death of Mehmed III in 1603 to the proclamation of the tanzimat, the administrative reconstruction of the Ottoman state, in 1839.
Cambridge History of Turkey Volume 4: Turkey in the Modern World Restricted Resource
The volume begins in the nineteenth century and traces the historical background through the reforms of the late Ottoman Empire, the period of the Young Turks, the War of Independence and the founding of the Ataturk's Republic. Thereafter, the volume focuses on the Republican period to consider a range of themes including political ideology, economic development, the military, migration, Kurdish nationalism, the rise of Islamism, and women's struggle for empowerment. The volume concludes with chapters on art and architecture, literature, and a brief history of Istanbul.

Maps & Atlases

Atlas of Islam, 1800-2000
Print Location: Ref G1786.S1 B5 2010


Atlas of Middle Eastern Affairs
Print Location: Ref DS63.1 .A535 2010


Historical Atlas of Islam
Print Location: Ref G1786 .S1 R9 2004


State of the Middle East: An Atlas of Conflict and Resolution
Print Location: Ref G2205 .S6 2008


 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The history department generally follows guidelines from the Chicago Manual of Style. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

Writing a Good History Paper Unrestricted Resource
The Hamilton College history department's writing guide.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Kristin Strohmeyer

Kristin Strohmeyer
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4481