Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
International Medieval Bibliography Restricted Resource
A multidisciplinary database covering Europe, North Africa and the Near East from 300-1500. Coverage: 1967-present.

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance Restricted Resource
Bibliography of journal articles, essays, reviews, books, dissertations, and other secondary literature about the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).Iter Bibliography, 400-1700Bibliography of English Women Writers, 1500-1640Iter Italicum

MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism Restricted Resource
Also available in print from v1-v117, REF PN610 C55.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Index of journal articles, reviews and essays about women, sexuality and gender during the Middle Ages. Coverage: 1994-present.

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
  • Arts & Sciences collections I-IX
  • Life Sciences collection

MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

Bibliographies

Guide to the Sources of Medieval History
Print Location: REF D 117 .C2213


International Medieval Bibliography Restricted Resource
A multidisciplinary database covering Europe, North Africa and the Near East from 300-1500. Coverage: 1967-present.

note: Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Iter Italicum Restricted Resource
Lists previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world. Originally compiled by Paul Oskar Kristeller and published in six volumes between 1963 and 1992.
Online Medieval Sources Bibliography
Designed by the Center for Medieval Studies at Fordham University, this web site provides a searchable bibliography of texts written in the Middle Ages that are now available in printed or online editions and translations.

Book Reviews

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Book Review Digest
Print Location: REF Z 1219 .C96
Library owns 1906-1996.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

Books

Douay-Rheims Catholic Bible
In 1582, the The Douay-Rheims (New Testament) was first printed. Then during the years 1749-1752, the English was revised and footnotes were added by Bishop Richard Challoner. In 1899, the DR Bible was printed by the John Murphy Company. In 1971, it was photographically reproduced from the 1899 printing by Tan Books. This website is an exact copy of the 1971 Tan Books version.
Loeb Classical Library
Print Location:
Search ALEX for items from the Loeb Classical Library:
  • search "loeb classical library" using the quotation marks to browse all results
  • OR search  "loeb classical" to search for specific materials in the collection

Malleus Maleficarum

of Heinrich Kramer and James Sprenger, transcribed by Wicasta Lovelace and Christie Jury.


Medieval Sourcebook: Corpus Iuris Civilis: The Digest and Codex: Marriage Laws
The texts here address the issue of marriage, and date back particularly to the time of Augustus [r. 27BCE-14CE] who was very concerned about family matters and ensuring a large population. In the selections that follow the first part comes from the Digest and contain the opinions on marriage law of famous lawyers - Marcianus, Paulus, Terentius Clemens, Celsus, Modestinus, Gaius, Papinianus, Marcellus, Ulpianus, and Macer. The second section, from the Codex contain the later receipts of emperors concerning marriage law and punishments. IN the Corpus individual authors were identified, and these names have been kept here.
St. Augustine's City of God and Christian Doctrine

A Select Library of the Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers of the Christian Church. Volume 11, edited by Philip Schaff.


Thesaurus Linguae Graecae Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of virtually all Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.), and A.D. 600 and the majority of surviving works up the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453.
Help: Greek fonts

Dictionaries

Concise Anglo-Saxon Dictionary
Print Location: REF PE 279 H3 1984


Dictionary of Medieval Civilization
Print Location: REF DB 351 E24 1984


Dictionary of Medieval Heroes
Print Location: REF PN 682 C5 V3513 1998
Characters in medieval narrative traditions and their afterlife in literature, theatre, and the visual arts

Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Print Location: REF D 114 D5 1982


Dictionary of the Middle Ages. Supplement
Print Location: REF D 115 D5 1982 Suppl.


Historical Dictionary of Late Medieval England, 1272-1485
Print Location: REF DA 175 H56 2002


Medieval Architecture
Print Location: REF NA 350 C65 2002


Encyclopedias

Crusades Encyclopedia
The purpose of crusades-encyclopedia is to offer quick reference to various terms related to the crusading movement. Additionally, this site offers catagorized links to online scholarly material about the crusades as a starting point for further research.
Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350-2000
Print Location: REF HN 373 E63 2001


Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature
Print Location: REF PN 669 E53 2000


Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Medieval World
Print Location: REF CB 351 E53 2008


Illustrated Encyclopedia of Medieval Civilization
Print Location: REF CB 353 G7


Medieval Art
Print Location: REF N 5970 S46 2001


Medieval England: An Encyclopedia
Print Location: REF DA 129 M43 1998


Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs and Customs
Print Location: REF GR 35 M43 2000


Medieval France: An Encyclopedia
Print Location: REF DC33.2 .M44 1995


Medieval Iberia: An Encyclopedia
Print Location: REF DP 99 M33 2003


Medieval Italy: An Encyclopedia
Print Location: REF DG 443 M43 2004


New Cambridge History of Islam Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
v. 1. The formation of the Islamic world, sixth to eleventh centuries / edited by Chase F. Robinson
v. 2. The western Islamic world, eleventh to eighteenth centuries / edited by Maribel Fierro
v. 3. The eastern Islamic world, eleventh to eighteenth centuries / edited by David O. Morgan and Anthony Reid
v. 4. Islamic cultures and societies to the end of the eighteenth century / edited by Robert Irwin
v. 5. The Islamic world in the age of Western dominance / edited by Francis Robinson
v. 6. Muslims and modernity: culture and society since 1800 / edited by Robert Hefner.

Women in the Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia
Print Location: REF HQ 1143 W643 2004


Handbooks

Cambridge History of Early Medieval Literature Restricted Resource
The Cambridge History of Early Medieval English Literature offers a new exploration of the earliest writing in Britain and Ireland, from the end of the Roman Empire to the mid-twelfth century.
Cambridge History of Medieval English Literature Restricted Resource
This volume offers an account of literature composed or transmitted in England, Wales, Ireland and Scotland between the Norman conquest and the death of Henry VIII in 1547. The volume has five sections: 'After the Norman Conquest'; 'Writing in the British Isles'; 'Institutional Productions'; 'After the Black Death' and 'Before the Reformation'. It provides information on a vast range of literary texts and the conditions of their production and reception.
Cambridge history of medieval political thought c. 350-c. 1450 Restricted Resource
This volume offers a comprehensive and authoritative account of the history of a complex and varied body of ideas over a period of more than 1000 years. A work of both synthesis and assessment, it presents the results of several decades of critical scholarship in the field. It looks at questions such as the nature of authority, of justice, of property; the problem of legitimacy, of allegiance, of resistance to the powers that be; the character and function of law, and the role of custom in sustaining a social structure. While the predominant emphasis of the volume is necessarily upon those ideas that developed within Latin Christendom, full weight is also given to the impact of Byzantine, Jewish, and Islamic thought.
Cambridge History of Science Volume 2: Medieval Science Restricted Resource
This volume in the highly respected Cambridge History of Science series is devoted to the history of science in the Middle Ages from the North Atlantic to the Indus Valley.
Cambridge Medieval History
Print Location: D 117 .C3
v. 1. The Christian Roman empire and the foundation of the Teutonic kingdoms.
v. 2. The rise of the Saracens and the foundation of the Western empire.
v. 3. Germany and the Western empire. 1922.
v. 4. The Eastern Roman empire (717-1453).
v. 5. Contest of empire and papacy. 1926.
v. 6. Victory of the papacy. 1929.
v. 7. Decline of empire and papacy. 1932
v. 8. The close of the Middle Ages. 1936.

Companion to the Medieval Theatre
Print Location: REF PN 2152 C66 1989


Fashion, costume, and culture: clothing, headwear, body decorations, and footwear through the ages Restricted Resource
Provides a broad overview of costume traditions of diverse cultures from prehistoric times to the present day. Examines more than 430 items of human decoration and adornment, ranging from togas to turbans, necklaces to tennis shoes. Explores how and why items were created, the people who made them, and their uses. This set shows how clothing, headwear, body decorations, and footwear reflect the different cultural, religious, and societal beliefs.
Feminist Companion to Literature in English
Print Location: REF PR 111 F45 1990
Women writers from the Middle Ages to the present.

New Cambridge Medieval History
Print Location: D 117 .N48 1995
v. 1. c. 500-c. 700
v. 2. c. 700-c. 900
v. 3. c. 900-c.1024
v. 4. c. 1024-c. 1198
v. 5. c. 1198-c. 1300
v. 6. c. 1300-c. 1415
v. 7. c. 1415-c. 1500.

Oxford Companion to Military History Restricted Resource
An overview of military history from classical times to the present, and is a guide to how the world has been shaped by conflict. Entries on key topics such as intelligence, propaganda, tactics, women in the military, and peacekeeping are included, with over 70 maps showing the course of famous battles and campaigns.

Literary Criticism

Literature Resource Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Extensive collection of full-text scholarly articles, book reviews, biographical essays, and work overviews. Covers authors and literary topics from all genres, time periods, and regions of the world.

Maps & Atlases

Atlas of Medieval Europe
Print Location: REF G 1791 M2 1997


Atlas of the Crusades
Print Location: REF G 1034 R5 1991


AtoZ Maps Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Collection of more than 146,000 proprietary and royalty-free maps. All maps are high resolution starting at 300dpi with some as large as poster-size. Many maps are PowerPoint-ready. Updated monthly.

Perry-CastaƱeda Library Map Collection Resource contains images
More than 11,000 maps scanned by the University of Texas Libraries. Most are in the public domain.
Please credit the "University of Texas Libraries" as the source of the scanned images.


Primary Sources

Avalon Project Some full text available
Digital documents relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government. A project of the Yale University Law Library.

British Literary Manuscripts Online: Medieval and Renaissance Restricted Resource
565,000 pages of rare manuscripts from the Medieval and Early Modern periods including letters, poems, stories, plays, chronicles, religious writings and commonplace books. These works of 1,000 authors were selected from the collections of the British Library, National Library of Scotland, Victoria and Albert Museum, and the Folger Shakespeare Library. Coverage: 1120-1660.

Guide to the Sources of Medieval History
Print Location: REF D 117 .C2213


Internet Medieval Sourcebook
Part of Fordham University's Internet History Sourcebook, this site is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use.
Loeb Classical Library
Print Location:
Search ALEX for items from the Loeb Classical Library:
  • search "loeb classical library" using the quotation marks to browse all results
  • OR search  "loeb classical" to search for specific materials in the collection

Online Medieval Sources Bibliography
Designed by the Center for Medieval Studies at Fordham University, this web site provides a searchable bibliography of texts written in the Middle Ages that are now available in printed or online editions and translations.

Web Sites

Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies Some full text available
The Labyrinth provides free, organized access to electronic resources in medieval studies through  Georgetown University.
Medieval Studies Guide
Online guide from Stanford University with links to primary sources, bibliographies, manuscripts and other resources.  Some restricted to Stanford only.

 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. Medieval and renaissance studies course assignments generally follow guidelines from either the Chicago Manual of Style or the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Ask your professor if he or she prefers a particular citation style, and consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for additional resources.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Research and Documentation Online - MLA Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using MLA style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers Ref Desk LB2369 .G53 2009 Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in English and the humanities.


RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Kristin Strohmeyer

Kristin Strohmeyer
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4481