Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

Bibliography of Asian Studies Restricted Resource
Bibliography of articles, books, chapters, and conference proceedings for Asian studies, including citations to all articles from the 100 most-used journals in the field. Coverage: 1971-present.
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus Restricted Resource Some full text available
Indexes hundreds of academic and popular film journals. Also includes the International Index to TV Periodicals, 1979-1998. Coverage: 1972-present.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
  • Arts & Sciences collections I-IX
  • Life Sciences collection

Dictionaries

Historical Dictionary of Modern Japanese Literature and Theater
Print Location: REF PL 716 .M47 2009


Modern Japanese Writers
Print Location: REF PL 723 .M563 2001
Abe Kōbō / Christopher Bolton
Akutagawa Ryūnosuke / Howard Hibbett
Ango (Sakaguchi Ango) / James Dorsey
Atomic bomb writers / Karen L. Thornber
Dazai Osamu / Joel Cohn
Enchi Fumiko / Lucy North
Futabatei Shimei / Dennis Washburn
Ichiyō (Higuchi Ichiyō) / Ann Sherif
Kafū (Nagai Kafū) / Stephen Snyder
Kawabata Yasunari / Charles Cabell
Kōno Taeko / Davinder L. Bhowmik
Kurahashi Yumiko / Atsuko Sakaki
Kyōka (Izumi Kyōka) / Charles Shirō Inouye
Mishima Yukio / Dennis Washburn
Murakami Haruki / Jay Rubin
Nakagami Kenji / Eve Zimmerman
Nishiwaki Junzaburō / Hosea Hirata
Ōe Kenzaburō / Dennis Washburn
Ōgai (Mori Ōgai) / Marvin Marcus
Ryūhoku (Narushima Ryūhoku) / Matthew Fraleigh
Shiga Naoya / Ted Goossen
Sōseki (Natsume Sōseki) / Jay Rubin
Tanizaki Junʹichirō / Phyllis I. Lyons
Tōson (Shimazaki Tōson) / Marvin Marcus.

Encyclopedias

Cultural Atlas of Japan
Print Location: REF DS 821 C62 1988


Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan
Print Location: REF DS 805 K633 1983


Handbooks

Critical Handbook of Japanese Film Directors
Print Location: REF PN 1998.2 J29 2008


Literary Criticism

Literature Resource Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Extensive collection of full-text scholarly articles, book reviews, biographical essays, and work overviews. Covers authors and literary topics from all genres, time periods, and regions of the world.

 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. Asian studies course assignments generally follow guidelines from either the Chicago Manual of Style or the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Ask your professor if he or she prefers a particular citation style, and consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for additional resources.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Research and Documentation Online - MLA Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using MLA style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers Ref Desk LB2369 .G53 2009 Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in English and the humanities.


RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Kristin Strohmeyer

Kristin Strohmeyer
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4481