Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
America: History & Life Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

Black Studies Center Restricted Resource
Primary and secondary sources documenting the African-American experience, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Features scholarly essays, journal and newspaper articles, images, multimedia content, and an index to fiction, poetry and literary reviews from black periodicals.
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

America: History & Life Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Biographical Information

American National Biography Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Biographical portraits of more than 17,400 men and women whose lives shaped the American nation. Updated quarterly.

note: Limited to 1 simultaneous user.

Citation Guides

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Some full text available
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource Some full text available
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources
Provides information on where to access key writing and style guides along with a list of preferred documentation styles for each academic department.

Document Collections

Black Studies Center Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Primary and secondary sources documenting the African-American experience, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Features scholarly essays, journal and newspaper articles, images, multimedia content, and an index to fiction, poetry and literary reviews from black periodicals.

Papers of Alexander Hamilton Restricted Resource Some full text available
Contains all the personal and public writings by and to Hamilton known to exist, some 12,500 documents.

Encyclopedias

Dictionary of American History
Print Location: Ref E174 .D52 2003
Encyclopedic survey of American history in ten volumes. Signed essays explore the country's political, military, economic, social, and cultural history. Brief, annotated bibliographies are included for each entry.

Encyclopedia of American Social History
Print Location: Ref HN57 .E58 1993
Scholarly essays with annotated bibliographies surveying American social history. Topics include: periods of social change; processes of social change; ethnic and racial subcultures; regionalism and regional subcultures; space and place; patterns of everyday life; work and labor; popular culture and recreation; family history; social problems; science and technology; and education.

Primary Sources

Finding Primary Sources
Guide to finding primary source material—including books, documents, images, magazines, newspapers, personal accounts and speeches—using Burke Library's general collection, its online resources, and interlibrary loan.

Statistics & Data

Historical Statistics of the United States Restricted Resource Some full text available
Contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations. Each series is fully documented and placed in historical context by a recognized expert. Coverage: 1600-2000.

Web Sites

History Matters
Selective gateway to U.S. history web resources. Also includes first-person, primary documents and teaching resources. Searchable by keyword or topic.

 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources
The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The history department generally follows guidelines from the Chicago Manual of Style. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

Writing a Good History Paper Unrestricted Resource
The Hamilton College history department's writing guide.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.
 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Reid Larson

Reid Larson
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4480