Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

British Periodicals Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Full image reproductions of nearly 500 British magazines and journals. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, music, art, drama, archaeology, architecture, and the social sciences. Coverage: 1681-1920.

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

Citation Guides

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource Some full text available
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources
Provides information on where to access key writing and style guides along with a list of preferred documentation styles for each academic department.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Some full text available
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Maps & Atlases

AtoZ Maps Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Collection of more than 146,000 proprietary and royalty-free maps. All maps are high resolution starting at 300dpi with some as large as poster-size. Many maps are PowerPoint-ready. Updated monthly.

Primary Sources

British Parliamentary Papers: House of Commons Debates

British Parliamentary Papers: House of Lord Debates
  • Debates and Oral Answers
    Follow Lords debates on bills, oral statements made by Ministers and find out about the range of issues discussed during question times.
  • Written Statements
    Read written statements made by Ministers on policy or government actions
  • Written Answers
    Find out Ministers' responses to written parliamentary questions asked by Lords
  • Historic Hansard
    Sittings in the 19th Century

Finding Primary Sources
Guide to finding primary source material—including books, documents, images, magazines, newspapers, personal accounts and speeches—using Burke Library's general collection, its online resources, and interlibrary loan.
 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources
The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The history department generally follows guidelines from the Chicago Manual of Style. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

Writing a Good History Paper Unrestricted Resource
The Hamilton College history department's writing guide.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.
 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Kristin Strohmeyer

Kristin Strohmeyer
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4481