Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

America: History & Life Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

America: History & Life Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

Clase and Periódica Restricted Resource

Index of Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English language articles in the social sciences, humanities, science and technology. Coverage: 1975-present (Clase);  1978-present (Periódica).


Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.

Bibliographies

Handbook of Latin American Studies
Bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Coverage: 1935-present.

Sourcebook of Hispanic Culture in the United States
Print Location: REF E184.S75 S6


Dictionaries

Dictionary of Afro-Latin American Civilization
Print Location: REF F 1408.3 N86


Dictionary of Spanish LIterature
Print Location: REF PQ 6006 .N4 1970


Historical Dictionary of Modern Spain, 1700-1988
Print Location: REF DP 192 H57 1990


Oxford Language Dictionaries Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Fully searchable bilingual dictionaries and study materials for six languages: Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Spanish.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Print Location: REF F 1406 E53 1996


Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature Restricted Resource
Surveys the vast landscape of Latino literature from the colonial era to the present. Aiming to be as broad and inclusive as possible, the encyclopedia covers all of native North American Latino literature as well as that created by authors originating in virtually every country of Spanish America and Spain

Medieval Iberia: An Encyclopedia
Print Location: REF DP 99 M33 2003


Handbooks

Cambridge History of Latin American Literature
Print Location: REF PQ 7081.A1 C35 1996
v. 1. Discovery to modernism
v. 2. The twentieth century
v. 3. Brazilian literature. Bibliographies.

Handbook of Hispanic Culture in the United States
Print Location: REF E 184.S75 H365 1993
v. [1]. Anthropology / edited and introduced by Thomas Weaver
v. [2]. History / edited and introduced by Alfredo Jiménez
v. [3]. Literature and art / edited and introduced by Francisco Lomelí
v. [4]. Sociology / edited and introduced by Félix Padilla.

Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature
Print Location: REF PQ 6006 .O93


Literary Criticism

Literature Resource Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Extensive collection of full-text scholarly articles, book reviews, biographical essays, and work overviews. Covers authors and literary topics from all genres, time periods, and regions of the world.

Maps & Atlases

AtoZ Maps Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Collection of more than 146,000 proprietary and royalty-free maps. All maps are high resolution starting at 300dpi with some as large as poster-size. Many maps are PowerPoint-ready. Updated monthly.

Web Sites

LANIC: Latin American Network Information Center
Selective gateway to web resources related to Latin America.

Latin American and Caribbean Center
Part of the School of International and Public Affairs at Florida International University.

 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The Hispanic Studies department generally follows guidelines from the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - MLA Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using MLA style.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers Ref Desk LB2369 .G53 2009 Unrestricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in English and the humanities.


RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Kristin Strohmeyer

Kristin Strohmeyer
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4481