Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.


 + / - All Resources

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Spanish LIterature
Print Location: REF PQ 6006 .N4 1970


Historical Dictionary of Modern Spain, 1700-1988
Print Location: REF DP 192 H57 1990


Historical Dictionary of the Spanish Empire, 1402-1975
Print Location: REF DP56 .H57 1992


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Latin American Theater
 The Encyclopedia of Latin American Theater presents the history of the theater of Latin America as well as the history of the Nuyorican and Chicano theaters of the United States. It contains entries describing the most important playwrights, independent theaters, and cultural movements in Latin American theater.
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama
Print Location: REF PN1625 .M3 1984
An international reference work in 5 volumes.

Handbooks

Cambridge Guide to Theatre
Print Location: REF PN2035 .C27 1995


Cambridge History of Latin American Literature
Print Location: REF PQ 7081.A1 C35 1996
v. 1. Discovery to modernism
v. 2. The twentieth century
v. 3. Brazilian literature. Bibliographies.

Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature
Print Location: REF PQ 6006 .O93


Literary Criticism

Literature Resource Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Extensive collection of full-text scholarly articles, book reviews, biographical essays, and work overviews. Covers authors and literary topics from all genres, time periods, and regions of the world.

Literature Reviews

Latin American Theatre Review
Print Location: Burke Periodicals
 Library owns 1976-present in print.
 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The Hispanic Studies department generally follows guidelines from the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - MLA Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using MLA style.
 

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Kristin Strohmeyer

Kristin Strohmeyer
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4481