Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
America: History & Life Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

Bibliography of Asian Studies Restricted Resource
Bibliography of articles, books, chapters, and conference proceedings for Asian studies, including citations to all articles from the 100 most-used journals in the field. Coverage: 1971-present.
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

America: History & Life Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

Bibliography of Asian Studies Restricted Resource
Bibliography of articles, books, chapters, and conference proceedings for Asian studies, including citations to all articles from the 100 most-used journals in the field. Coverage: 1971-present.

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
  • Arts & Sciences collections I-IX
  • Life Sciences collection

Readers' Guide Retrospective Restricted Resource
Index of articles from 240 leading general interest magazines published in the U.S. and Canada. Coverage: 1890-1982.

Document Collections

American Memory Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Collection of primary sources relating to the history and culture of the United States from the Library of Congress.

Atomic Bomb and the End of World War II
 A collection of primary sources from the National Security Archives
Digital National Security Archive Restricted Resource Some full text available
Declassified documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Documents include presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, email, confidential letters, and other secret material. Coverage: 1942 to present.

Encyclopedias

Cultural Atlas of Japan
Print Location: REF DS 821 C62 1988


Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan
Print Location: REF DS 805 K633 1983


Handbooks

World War II in Asia and the Pacific and the war's aftermath, with general themes: a handbook of literature and research
Print Location: REF D 767 .W67 1998
 pt. 1. International background to the war in Asia
pt. 2. Asian and Pacific theaters
pt. 3. War and society in the Asian and Pacific theaters
pt. 4. War in science, technology, propaganda, and unit histories
pt. 5. War, the arts, and the life of the spirit
pt. 6. World War II and postwar international relations

Historical

National Archives Online Exhibits Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Online exhibits of documents, photographs and other materials on selected topics in American history.

Maps & Atlases

Atlas of the Second World War
Print Location: REF G 1038 .A78 1985
 [1] Europe and the Mediterranean
[2] Asia and the Pacific.
 + / - Newspapers - United States

COLLECTIONS

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource
Full text of over 9,000 news, business, and legal sources. Articles for most newspapers date back to the early 1990s.
More Info:
News - Business - Legal Research - Company Dossier
Help: Podcast Tutorials - Wiki

America's Newspapers Restricted Resource
Complete electronic editions of more than 2,000 U.S. newspapers and news video clips, most dating back to the early 1990s. Features over 100 New York State news sources including: Albany Times Union, 1986-Syracuse Post-Standard, 1986-Utica Observer-Dispatch, 2002-

InfoTrac Newsstand Restricted Resource
More than 1,000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world.Provided by NOVELny.

Newspaper Source Restricted Resource
Cover-to-cover full text for 45 national (U.S.) & international newspapers. Also includes selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers and some full text television and radio news transcripts. Coverage varies by title.

SELECTED TITLES
Huffington Post Unrestricted Resource
American news website and content aggregator covering politics, business, entertainment, environment, technology, popular media, lifestyle, culture, comedy, healthy living, women's interest, and local news

New York Times Restricted Resource
  • 1980 to present - Full article text. No images.
  • 1851 to 2008 - Full text and image.
  • 1851 to present - Full text and image. (Microfilm)

Wall Street Journal Restricted Resource
  • 1984-present - Full article text. No images or charts.
  • 1971-present - Full text and image. (Microfilm)

Washington Post Restricted Resource
  • 1977-present - Full article text. No images.
  • 1982-2006 - Full text and image. (Microfilm)

DIRECTORIES
World-Newspapers.com Unrestricted Resource
Links to the world's English language newspapers, magazines, and news sites.
 + / - Newspapers - International

COLLECTIONS

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource
Extensive collection of international newspapers. Searches may be limited to a region or particular country by clicking on the "Sources" tab and selecting the desired filter options. Articles from most newspapers date back to the early 1990s.
More Info: News - Business - Legal Research - Company Dossier
Help: Podcast Tutorials - Wiki

InfoTrac Newsstand Restricted Resource
More than 1,000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world.Provided by NOVELny.

SELECTED TITLES
Manchester Guardian Weekly Restricted Resource
  • 1981-present  - Full article text. No images.
  • 1919 to 2005 - Full text and image. (Microfilm)

Times of London Restricted Resource
  • 1985 to present - Full article text. No images.
  • 1785 to 2006 - Full text and image.
  • 1788 to 1945 and 1984 to 2006 - Full text and image. (Microfilm)
  • Note: The Times does not include issues published on Sundays.

DIRECTORIES
World-Newspapers.com Unrestricted Resource
Links to the world's English language newspapers, magazines, and news sites.
 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. Asian studies course assignments generally follow guidelines from either the Chicago Manual of Style or the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Ask your professor if he or she prefers a particular citation style, and consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for additional resources.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Research and Documentation Online - MLA Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using MLA style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers Ref Desk LB2369 .G53 2009 Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in English and the humanities.


RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Finding Primary Sources

Use the links below to find primary sources using Burke Library's general collection, its online resources, and interlibrary loan.


For information about the library's own manuscript collections, rare books, and institutional records, follow these links:

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Kristin Strohmeyer

Kristin Strohmeyer
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4481