Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
Academic Search Premier
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.


 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

British Periodicals Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Full image reproductions of nearly 500 British magazines and journals. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, music, art, drama, archaeology, architecture, and the social sciences. Coverage: 1681-1920.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
  • Arts & Sciences collections I-IX
  • Life Sciences collection

Women's Studies International Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books, proceedings, reports, and other sources related to women's studies and feminist research. Coverage: 1972-present.

Country Information

Africa South of the Sahara Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes political and economic analyses, directories of government and financial institutions, political biographies and a statistical survey of each country.

Dictionaries

Historical Dictionary of Women in Sub-Saharan Africa
Print Location: REF HQ 1787 .S44 2005


Document Collections

Black Studies Center Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Primary and secondary sources documenting the African-American experience, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Features scholarly essays, journal and newspaper articles, images, multimedia content, and an index to fiction, poetry and literary reviews from black periodicals.

Encyclopedias

Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience
Print Location: REF DT 14 A37435 1999


New Encyclopedia of Africa Restricted Resource Some full text available
2nd ed. Charles Scribner's Sons, 2008. Covers issues facing the continent such as global development, the AIDS crisis, and international terrorism.

Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought Restricted Resource Some full text available
Offers a comprehensive view of African thought, covering the intellectual tradition on the continent and throughout the diaspora. All major trends in African philosophy, political theory, and religion will be covered, as well as significant historical figures and social movements.
Women in World History : A Biographical Encyclopedia
Print Location: REF HQ 1115 .W6 1999


Handbooks

Apartheid Handbook
Print Location: REF DT 763.6 .O74 1985


News Sources

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of over 9,000 news, business, and legal sources. Articles for most newspapers date back to the early 1990s.
More Info:
News - Business - Legal Research - Company Dossier
Help: Podcast Tutorials - Wiki - Shepardizing a Case

News and Information Services on Africa
Links to news sources compiled by the Columbia University Libraries.

Newspapers

Historical Black Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Complete contents and original layout of five important African American newspapers. Search together or by individual title.
  • Baltimore Afro-American, 1893-1988
  • Chicago Defender, 1910-1975
  • Los Angeles Sentinel, 1934-2005
  • New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1993
  • Pittsburgh Courier, 1911-2002

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Reproduces the newspaper's text, images, and graphics in their original layout. Coverage: 1851-2009.

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • 1985 to present - Full article text. No images.
  • 1785 to 2006 - Full text and image.
  • 1788 to 1945 and 1984 to 2006 - Full text and image. (Microfilm)
  • Note: The Times does not include issues published on Sundays.

Times (London) Digital Archive Restricted Resource Some full text available
Reproduces the newspaper's text, images, and graphics in their original layout for the London Times. Coverage: 1785-2006.
Note: Content from the Sunday Times is not included in this database.

Primary Sources

African Activist Archive
The African Activist Archive is preserving and making available online the records of activisim in the United States to support the struggles of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustic from the 1950s through the 1990s. The website includes:
  • A growing online archive of historical materials - pamphlets, newsletters, leaflets, buttons, posters, T-shirts, photographs, and audio and video recordings
  • personal remembrances and interviews with activists
  • an international directory of collections depostited in libraries and archives

British Parliamentary Papers: House of Commons Debates

British Parliamentary Papers: House of Lord Debates
  • Debates and Oral Answers
    Follow Lords debates on bills, oral statements made by Ministers and find out about the range of issues discussed during question times.
  • Written Statements
    Read written statements made by Ministers on policy or government actions
  • Written Answers
    Find out Ministers' responses to written parliamentary questions asked by Lords
  • Historic Hansard
    Sittings in the 19th Century

South African History Online - Media Library
South African History Online (SAHO) is a non-partisan people's history project  established in June 2000 aiming to address the biased way in which the history and cultural heritage of South Africans was represented in educational and cultural institutions.

Web Gateways

Archives of African Journals
 The Archive of African Journals site houses digital copies of selected past issues of scholarly African Journals. The African E-Journals Project has digitized full text of articles of eleven social science and humanities journals from the 1970s-2000s.

Web Sites

Africa South of the Sahara: Selected Internet Resources
Note: Some sources restricted to the Stanford University community.

African Studies Center
A gateway to internet resources hosted by the University of Pennsylvania's African Studies Center.
More Info: Country Pages - Africa Web Links

Nelson Mandela Centre of Memory

Includes links to the Nelson Mandela Digital Archive, information on the life and times of Nelson Mandela, and the Anti-Apartheid Movement Archives.



Overcoming Apartheid
 From Michigan State University, South Africa: Overcoming Apartheid, Building Democracy presents first-hand accounts of this important political movement. Interviews with South African activists, raw video footage documenting mass resistance and police repression, historical documents, rare photographs, and original narratives tell this remarkable story.
Selected Resources for African Studies
Note: Some sources restricted to the Yale University community.

South African Human Rights Commission
 Promotes adherence to human rights in South Africa through public education, policy initiatives, and investigations of specific human rights abuse cases.
 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The history department generally follows guidelines from the Chicago Manual of Style. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

Writing a Good History Paper Unrestricted Resource
The Hamilton College history department's writing guide.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Kristin Strohmeyer

Kristin Strohmeyer
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4481