Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
International Medieval Bibliography Restricted Resource
A multidisciplinary database covering Europe, North Africa and the Near East from 300-1500. Coverage: 1967-present.

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

Bibliography of Asian Studies Restricted Resource
Bibliography of articles, books, chapters, and conference proceedings for Asian studies, including citations to all articles from the 100 most-used journals in the field. Coverage: 1971-present.
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Anthropology Plus Restricted Resource
Index of articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies. Coverage: Late-19th century to present.
note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
ATLA Religion Database Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and essay collections in all fields of religion. Areas of focus include the Christian Bible, church history, world religions, theology, and ethics. Coverage: 1949-present.

Bibliography of Asian Studies Restricted Resource
Bibliography of articles, books, chapters, and conference proceedings for Asian studies, including citations to all articles from the 100 most-used journals in the field. Coverage: 1971-present.

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

International Medieval Bibliography Restricted Resource
A multidisciplinary database covering Europe, North Africa and the Near East from 300-1500. Coverage: 1967-present.

note: Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance Restricted Resource
Bibliography of journal articles, essays, reviews, books, dissertations, and other secondary literature about the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
  • Iter Bibliography, 400-1700
  • Bibliography of English Women Writers, 1500-1640
  • Iter Italicum

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
  • Arts & Sciences collections I-IX
  • Life Sciences collection

Encyclopedias

Cambridge Encyclopedia of China
Print Location: REF DS 705 C35 1991


Encyclopedia of Buddhism
Print Location: REF BQ 128 .E62 2004


Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures
Print Location: Ref HQ1170 .E53 2003


New Cambridge History of Islam Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
v. 1. The formation of the Islamic world, sixth to eleventh centuries / edited by Chase F. Robinson
v. 2. The western Islamic world, eleventh to eighteenth centuries / edited by Maribel Fierro
v. 3. The eastern Islamic world, eleventh to eighteenth centuries / edited by David O. Morgan and Anthony Reid
v. 4. Islamic cultures and societies to the end of the eighteenth century / edited by Robert Irwin
v. 5. The Islamic world in the age of Western dominance / edited by Francis Robinson
v. 6. Muslims and modernity: culture and society since 1800 / edited by Robert Hefner.

Princeton Encyclopedia of Islamic Political Thought Restricted Resource Some full text available
Princeton, 2013.  Covers Islamic political thought, movements, institutions, parties, law, traditional Islamic societies, and more.

Handbooks

Cambridge history of medieval political thought c. 350-c. 1450 Restricted Resource
This volume offers a comprehensive and authoritative account of the history of a complex and varied body of ideas over a period of more than 1000 years. A work of both synthesis and assessment, it presents the results of several decades of critical scholarship in the field. It looks at questions such as the nature of authority, of justice, of property; the problem of legitimacy, of allegiance, of resistance to the powers that be; the character and function of law, and the role of custom in sustaining a social structure. While the predominant emphasis of the volume is necessarily upon those ideas that developed within Latin Christendom, full weight is also given to the impact of Byzantine, Jewish, and Islamic thought.
Cambridge History of Turkey Volume 1: Byzantium to Turkey 1071–1453 Restricted Resource
This volume examines the rise of Turkish power in Anatolia from the arrival of the first Turks at the end of the eleventh century to the fall of Constantinople in 1453. Taking the period as a whole, the volume covers the political, economic, social, intellectual and cultural history of the region as the Byzantine empire crumbled and Anatolia passed into Turkish control to become the heartland of the Ottoman empire.
Cambridge History of Turkey Volume 2: The Ottoman Empire as a World Power, 1453-1603 Restricted Resource
>With the conquest of Constantinople and the extinguishing of the Byzantine Empire in 1453, the Ottoman Empire moved into a new phase of expansion during which it emerged in the sixteenth century as a dominant political player on the world scene. With territory stretching around the Mediterranean from the Adriatic Sea to Morocco, and from the Caucasus to the Caspian Sea, the Ottomans reached the apogee of their military might in a period seen by many later Ottomans, and much later historians, as a golden age in which the state was strong, the sultan's might unquestionable, and intellectual life and the arts flourishing. Volume 2 of The Cambridge History of Turkey examines this period from the conquest of Constantinople in 1453 to the accession of Ahmed I in 1603.

Magazines

Silk Road Newsletter
 Newsletter of the Silk Road Foundation. Fulltext available 2003 - present.

Maps & Atlases

Historical Atlas of Islam
Print Location: Ref G1786 .S1 R9 2004


Web Sites

Fordham University History Sourcebook
 Designed by the Center for Medieval Studies at Fordham University, this web site provides a searchable bibliography of texts that are now available in printed or online editions and translations.
International Dunhuang Project: The Silk Road Online
IDP contains  information and images of all manuscripts, paintings, textiles and artefacts from Dunhuang and archaeological sites of the Eastern Silk Road.
Omniglot Language Index
Omniglot is an encyclopedia of writing systems and languages. Contents include
  • Details of more than 180 writing systems, including Abjads, Alphabets, Abugidas, Syllabaries and Semanto-phonetic scripts
  • Information on over 600 languages
  • More than 300 con-scripts - writing systems invented by visitors to this site
  • Tips on learning languages
  • Language-related articles
  • Useful foreign phrases in more than 150 languages with many audio recordings
  • Multilingual texts, language names, country names, colours, numbers, idioms, time expressions, kinship words, tongue twisters, signs, proverbs and sayings and songs in many languages
  • Numerous links to online language-related resources

Silk Road Seattle
Silk Road Seattle is an ongoing public education project using the "Silk Road" theme to explore cultural interaction across Eurasia from the beginning of the Common Era (A. D.) to the Seventeenth Century.
 + / - Using Subject Headings
Use the following subject searches in ALEX and WorldCat to find primary source materials:

[subject] - correspondence
[subject] - diaries
[subject] - interviews
[subject] - personal narratives
[subject] - pictorial works
[subject] - sources


Other Subject Headings:
  • Silk Road - Description and travel.
  • Silk Road - History
  • Trade Routes - Asia 
 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The history department generally follows guidelines from the Chicago Manual of Style. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

Writing a Good History Paper Unrestricted Resource
The Hamilton College history department's writing guide.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Kristin Strohmeyer

Kristin Strohmeyer
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4481