Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.
 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Using Subject Headings
Use the following subject searches in ALEX and WorldCat to find primary source materials:

[subject] - correspondence
[subject] - diaries
[subject] - interviews
[subject] - personal narratives
[subject] - pictorial works
[subject] - sources
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

British Periodicals Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Full image reproductions of nearly 500 British magazines and journals. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, music, art, drama, archaeology, architecture, and the social sciences. Coverage: 1681-1920.

Women's Studies International Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books, proceedings, reports, and other sources related to women's studies and feminist research. Coverage: 1972-present.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index of 1,700 journals in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Coverage: 1975-present.

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

Biographical Information

Women in World History : A Biographical Encyclopedia
Print Location: REF HQ 1115 .W6 1999


Dictionaries

Dictionary of Contemporary German Culture
Print Location: REF DD 290.26 E53 1999


Dictionary of Modern Italian History
Print Location: REF DG 545 D53 1985


Dictionary of Scandinavian History
Print Location: REF DL 43 D53 1986


Historical Dictionary of Modern Spain, 1700-1988
Print Location: REF DP 192 H57 1990


Encyclopedias

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Russia and the Former Soviet Union
Print Location: REF DK 14 C35 1994


Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture
Print Location: REF DC 33.7 E53 1998


Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe
Print Location: REF DJK 6 E53 2000


Encyclopedia of the Holocaust
Print Location: REF D 804.3 E53 1990


Encyclopedia of the Third Reich
Print Location: REF DD 256.5 G7613 1991


Handbooks

Europe Since 1945
Print Location: REF D 1058 E8754 2001


French Culture, 1900-1975
Print Location: REF DC 33.7 F726 1995


Newspapers

Times (London) Digital Archive Restricted Resource Some full text available
Reproduces the newspaper's text, images, and graphics in their original layout for the London Times. Coverage: 1785-2006.
Note: Content from the Sunday Times is not included in this database.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The history department generally follows guidelines from the Chicago Manual of Style. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

Writing a Good History Paper Unrestricted Resource
The Hamilton College history department's writing guide.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Kristin Strohmeyer

Kristin Strohmeyer
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4481