Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

Literature Resource Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Extensive collection of full-text scholarly articles, book reviews, biographical essays, and work overviews. Covers authors and literary topics from all genres, time periods, and regions of the world.

MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

Citation Guides

Citation Fox - MLA
An MLA style guide featuring a large number of example citations for books, journals, other frequently used source types used in the humanities. From the SUNY Albany Libraries.

Hacker, Diana. A Writer's Reference - Student Center Some full text available
 Free and open resources, only.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Print Location: Ref Desk LB2369 .G53 2009
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in English and the humanities.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

Research and Documentation Online - MLA Style Some full text available
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using MLA style.

Encyclopedias

New Encyclopedia of Africa Restricted Resource Some full text available
2nd ed. Charles Scribner's Sons, 2008. Covers issues facing the continent such as global development, the AIDS crisis, and international terrorism.

Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought Restricted Resource Some full text available
Offers a comprehensive view of African thought, covering the intellectual tradition on the continent and throughout the diaspora. All major trends in African philosophy, political theory, and religion will be covered, as well as significant historical figures and social movements.
 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. Ask your professor if he or she prefers a particular citation style, and consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for additional resources.

Research and Documentation Online - MLA Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using MLA style.

Citation Fox - MLA Unrestricted Resource
An MLA style guide featuring a large number of example citations for books, journals, other frequently used source types used in the humanities. From the SUNY Albany Libraries.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers Ref Desk LB2369 .G53 2009 Unrestricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in English and the humanities.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Glynis Asu

Glynis Asu
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4482

Picture: Laura Festine

Laura Festine
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4321