Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of 1,700 journals in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Coverage: 1975-present.

PAIS International Restricted Resource
Index of articles, books, studies, government documents and reports on public policy issues. Highly recommended for research in public administration, law, politics and government. Coverage: 1915-present.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.
 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
  • Arts & Sciences collections I-IX
  • Life Sciences collection

Military & Government Collection Restricted Resource
Index to academic journals, periodicals, and other content with news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Coverage: Varies by title.

PAIS International Restricted Resource
Index of articles, books, studies, government documents and reports on public policy issues. Highly recommended for research in public administration, law, politics and government. Coverage: 1915-present.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index of 1,700 journals in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Coverage: 1975-present.

Google Scholar
Search for articles in scholarly journals. Also includes patents, court opinions and law journals.

Google Scholar Tip:
On Campus users will see the Find It @ Hamilton link with article citations. Use this to connect to articles in Hamilton's online journals.

Off Campus users can also link directly to Hamilton online journals by setting a Google Scholar Preference.
  1. Go to Google Scholar.
  2. In the top menu bar select Settings.
  3. Select Library Links (left column) and search for Hamilton.
  4. Select Hamilton College-Find It @ Hamilton and then Save.

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs on international affairs. Coverage: 1991-present.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) Restricted Resource
Articles and book reviews in anthropology, economics, political science and sociology.

Bibliographies

American Foreign Relations Since 1600: A Guide to the Literature
Print Location: Ref E183.7 .G84 2003


Information Sources of Political Science
Print Location: Ref JA71 .I54 2005
5th ed. 2005.
International Relations, International Security, and Comparative Politics: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources
Print Location: Ref JZ1305 .K34 2008


Country Information

Country Studies (Library of Congress)
Description and analysis of the history, social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.

Africa South of the Sahara Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes political and economic analyses, directories of government and financial institutions, political biographies and a statistical survey of each country.

CountryWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available

Up-to-date news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world. Includes the Country Reviews, Country Wire, CountryWatch Data and CountryWatch Map Gallery. Updated daily.


Europa World Plus Restricted Resource Some full text available
Economic, political and geographic background information and statistical data by country, with a comprehensive listing of 1,900 international organizations. Updated daily.

Background Notes
U.S. Department of State country reports.

CIA World Factbook
General country profiles with basic population and economic data.

Government and Politics of the Middle East and North Africa
Print Location: Ref DS62.8 .G68 2011
Chapters cover the history, politics and economics of the countries and region. Includes maps and extensive bibliographies. 6th ed., 2011.

PARLINE Database on National Parliaments
Contains information on the structure and working methods of 266 parliamentary chambers in all of the 189 countries where a national legislature exists.

Political Database of the Americas
Information about Latin American countries' institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, etc. Includes historical and current election results. A non-governmental project of the Center for Latin American Studies at Georgetown University.

Political Handbook of the World Restricted Resource
2013 ed. Description of the country and an in-depth discussion of the politics and government of each country.

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Documents the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words. Entries trace the historical evolution of a word using quotations found in sources ranging from classic literature to cookbooks.

Oxford Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes:
  • Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics
  • Dictionary of Political Biography
  • Dictionary of the Social Sciences
  • Guide to Countries of the World
  • Encyclopedia of Human Rights
  • Oxford Companion to the Politics of the World

note: Limited to 1 simultaneous user.

Directories

Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments
Coverage: 2001-present.
Earlier editions available in HathiTrust Digital Library.


Document Collections

Avalon Project Some full text available
Digital documents relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government. A project of the Yale University Law Library.

Digital National Security Archive Restricted Resource Some full text available
Declassified documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Documents include presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, email, confidential letters, and other secret material. Coverage: 1942 to present.

World Bank Open Knowledge Repository
World Bank resources include reports, academic books, journals and working papers.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set Restricted Resource Some full text available
Reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives for the 15th through the 96th Congresses. Includes a maps collection. Coverage: 1817-1980.
More Info: Maps

Homeland Security Digital Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Over 100,000 documents related to homeland security policy, strategy and organization management from federal, state and local governments; international governments; nonprofit and private groups.

Foreign Relations of the United States
The official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. The series is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian.

1945-1976 volumes - U.S. Department of State. Office of the Historian
1861-1960 volumes - University of Wisconsin Digital Collections


UNBISNet
Catalogue of United Nations (UN) documents and publications, 1979-present.
Older documents are being added to the catalogue on a regular basis.
  • Voting Records (General Assemly, Security Council), 1946-present
  • Speeches (General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council), 1983-present

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy Restricted Resource Some full text available
2002 ed. Signed essays by subject experts treat concepts, doctrines, and policies. Also includes a chronology.

Encyclopedia of Global Studies Restricted Resource
Sage, 2012. Examines the emerging field of global studies, covering both transnational topics and intellectual approaches to the study of global themes.
International Encyclopedia of Political Science Restricted Resource Some full text available
2011 ed. Covers every field of politics, from political theory and methodology to political sociology, comparative politics, public policies, and international relations.
Princeton Encyclopedia of Islamic Political Thought Restricted Resource Some full text available
Princeton, 2013.  Covers Islamic political thought, movements, institutions, parties, law, traditional Islamic societies, and more.

Encyclopedia of Human Rights Restricted Resource Some full text available
2009 ed. Comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history.

International Studies Encyclopedia Restricted Resource Some full text available
400+ peer reviewed essays. A comprehensive reference work for the fields of international studies and international relations.
Encyclopedia of Political Science Restricted Resource Some full text available
2011 ed. Signed articles examine the central ideas, concepts, and frameworks underlying the study of politics, both Western and non-Western, national and international.

Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History Restricted Resource Some full text available
2010 ed. Scholars in the fields of history and political science examine the political evolution of the United States from the 1500s to the present day.

Globalization and Security: An Encyclopedia Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers four major aspects of globalization as they affect security - economic, political, social and cultural.

Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers the interdisciplinary field of peace studies, with a comprehensive survey of the historical, political, theoretical and philosophical issues relating to peace and conflict.

Encyclopedia of Democracy
Print Location: Ref JC423 .E53 1995
The articles are of four types -- biographical, country studies, regional overviews, and topical.

Encyclopedia of Globalization
Print Location: Ref JZ1310 .E52 2007
Signed articles with bibliographies. Covers all aspects of globalization (cultural, environmental, historical, legal, literary, political, and social) , over a wide expanse of time.

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Marxism, Socialism, and Communism
Print Location: Ref HX17 .W54


International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
Print Location: REF H 41 I58 2001
Encyclopedia with more than 4,000 articles and 90,000 bibliographic entries surveying all fields in the social and behavioral sciences.

Political Philosophy: Theories, Thinkers, Concepts
Print Location: Ref JA71 .P6226 2001


Routledge Encyclopedia of International Political Economy
Print Location: Ref HF1359 .R68 2001


World Encyclopedia of Parliaments and Legislatures
Print Location: Ref JF511 .W67 1998


World Encyclopedia of Political Systems and Parties
Print Location: Ref JF2011 .W67 2006


Handbooks

21st Century Political Science Restricted Resource Some full text available
2010 ed. A guide for undergraduate students to the various approaches (both theoretical and methodological) in political science.
Cambridge Histories Online Restricted Resource

A growing collection of over 290 volumes covering over 15 different academic subjects - history, history of science, language, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, political and social theory, religious studies, theatre and the performing arts.


Guide to U.S. Foreign Policy: A Diplomatic History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Topical and historical chapters on the diplomatic initiatives of the U.S. from colonial times through the present day.
CQ Press, 2012.

Oxford Handbook of Comparative Politics
Print Location: JF51 .O94 2007


SAGE Handbook of Comparative Politics
Print Location: JF51 .S24 2009


World at Risk: A Global Issues Sourcebook Restricted Resource
2nd ed, 2010.
In-depth analysis of current global hot topics. The 32 essays address a wide range of key issues, including demographics, economics, education, health, politics, and security. New entries discuss drug trafficking, human trafficking, international finance and immigration.

Images & Multimedia

AP Images Restricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Access to over 6 million current and historical news photographs and graphics images, including maps, timelines, logos and graphs. Coverage: 1840s-present.
note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
C-SPAN Video Library
All C-SPAN programs recorded since 1987.

International Organizations

Historical Dictionary of Human Rights and Humanitarian Organizations
Print Location: Ref JC571 .G655 2007


Historical Dictionary of Refugee and Disaster Relief Organizations
Print Location: Ref HV640 .G66 1994


Routledge History of International Organizations
Print Location: Ref JZ4839 .R45 2009


United Nations System
Print Location: Ref JZ4979 .B37 1995


Literature Reviews

Annual Review of Political Science Restricted Resource Some full text available
Articles reviewing the scholarly literature on topics of interest in political science.
Coverage: 1998-present

Maps & Atlases

AtoZ Maps Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Collection of more than 146,000 proprietary and royalty-free maps. All maps are high resolution starting at 300dpi with some as large as poster-size. Many maps are PowerPoint-ready. Updated monthly.

Perry-CastaƱeda Library Map Collection Resource contains images
More than 11,000 maps scanned by the University of Texas Libraries. Most are in the public domain.
Please credit the "University of Texas Libraries" as the source of the scanned images.


U.S. Congressional Serial Set Restricted Resource Some full text available
Reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives for the 15th through the 96th Congresses. Includes a maps collection. Coverage: 1817-1980.
More Info: Maps

World Bank eAtlas of Global Development
Maps and graphs more than 175 thematically organized indicators for over 200 countries.
Also available in print. Location: Ref G1046 .G1 A85

Atlas of Middle Eastern Affairs
Print Location: Ref DS63.1 .A535 2010


State of China Atlas: Mapping the World's Fastest-Growing Economy
Print Location: Ref G2305 .B46 2009


State of the Middle East: An Atlas of Conflict and Resolution
Print Location: Ref G2205 .S6 2008


News Sources

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of over 9,000 news, business, and legal sources. Articles for most newspapers date back to the early 1990s.
More Info:
News - Business - Legal Research - Company Dossier
Help: Podcast Tutorials - Wiki - Shepardizing a Case

World News Connection Restricted Resource Some full text available
Foreign news sources (over 500 news sources from 130 countries) selected for translation by the U.S. government. This database is no longer being updated. Coverage: 1995-2013.

NOTE: For current international news in translation see: BBC Monitoring: International Reports in LexisNexis Academic.


America's Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Complete electronic editions of more than 2,000 U.S. newspapers and news video clips, most dating back to the early 1990s. Features over 100 New York State news sources including:
  • Albany Times Union, 1986-
  • Syracuse Post-Standard, 1986-
  • Utica Observer-Dispatch, 2002-

CountryWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available

Up-to-date news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world. Includes the Country Reviews, Country Wire, CountryWatch Data and CountryWatch Map Gallery. Updated daily.


Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish. Coverage: 1985-present.

Newspapers

America's Historical Newspapers Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
More than 1,800 newspapers from all 50 states. The colonial and early national newspapers collected by the American Antiquarian Society form the core of this collection. Coverage: 1690-1922.
Library subscribes to Early American Newspapers, Series I-VI.


New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Reproduces the newspaper's text, images, and graphics in their original layout. Coverage: 1851-2009.

Times (London) Digital Archive Restricted Resource Some full text available
Reproduces the newspaper's text, images, and graphics in their original layout for the London Times. Coverage: 1785-2006.
Note: Content from the Sunday Times is not included in this database.

Opinion Polls

Polling the Nations Restricted Resource Some full text available
Question and answer responses from public opinion polls conducted by the major polling organizations and news media. Includes U.S. and international polls. Responses to the questions are included, but with no demographic breakdowns. Updated monthly. Coverage: 1986-present.

Eurobarometer
Website for the Public Opinion Analysis sector of the European Commission.
Pew Global Attitudes Project
A series of worldwide public opinion surveys, conducted by the Pew Research Center, on a broad array of subjects in the news.

World Public Opinion.org
Provides information and analysis about public opinion on international policy issues from around the world.

Atlas of European Values
Print Location: Ref HM681 .A85 2005


Changing Values and Beliefs in 85 Countries: Trends from the Values Surveys from 1981 to 2004 Restricted Resource
Brill, 2008.
Also available in print. Location: Ref BD435 .C495 2008

Index to International Public Opinion
Print Location: Ref HM1236 .I54
Library owns vols for 1979/80-1998/99.

Primary Sources

Finding Primary Sources
Guide to finding primary source material—including books, documents, images, magazines, newspapers, personal accounts and speeches—using Burke Library's general collection, its online resources, and interlibrary loan.

Reports

Freedom House Some full text available
Freedom House's reports and ratings provide a comparative assessment of global political rights and civil liberties.

Opposing Viewpoints Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text reports to differing points of view on current social issues.

Provided by NOVELny.


Human Development Reports (UN) Some full text available
Research and data designed to assess long term well-being. An independent publication commissioned by UN Development Programme (UNDP). Coverage: 1990-present.

International Relations and Security Network (ISN)
The Digital Library is an open access information service for international relations (IR) and security professionals. Browse and search by subject and region.

Strategic Studies Institute (United States Army War College)
SSI publishes national security and strategic research and analysis which serves to influence policy debate and bridge the gap between military and academia.

Statistics & Data

Statistics - Research Aid
A more comprehensive guide to statistical data and data sets.
Africa Development Indicators
World Bank collected of data containing over 1,600 indicators, for 53 African countries. Coverage: 1961-current.

Eurostat
European Union demographic, economic, industry and environment data.

FIRST: Facts on International Relations and Security Trends Some full text available
Data includes armed forces, arms production and trade, country indicators and statistics, human rights and security, conflicts and peace-keeping activities, military expenditures, conventional and nuclear weapons, and ballistic missiles.

World Development Indicators
Comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers more than 900 indicators for 210 economies with data back to 1960.
Human Development Reports (UN) Some full text available
Research and data designed to assess long term well-being. An independent publication commissioned by UN Development Programme (UNDP). Coverage: 1990-present.

ICPSR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research data archive of more than 800,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Users wishing to download members-only data and some publicly available data are required to establish a MyData account. Over 700+ studies are available for online data analysis (i.e., no downloading required) using Survey Documentation Analysis (SDA).

Help: Data Use Tutorial - ICPSR Help Center
Quantitative Literacy Teaching ToolsOnline Learning Center - Teaching with Data


note: Questions regarding data holdings should be sent to: Lynn Mayo, ICPSR Official Representative at Hamilton College, Burke Library, 315-859-4746.
International Financial Statistics Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. Data covers exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts. Coverage: 1948-present.

Tip: Use Query Builder to select data source (IFS), time range, concepts (variables), and countries/regions.

  1. Click on Data Source in the Query Builder box.
  2. Select International Financial Statistics from the list on the right side of the screen.
  3. Click on Time to change the years and reporting time period.
  4. Click on Concept and expand Economic Sector to select variables.
  5. Click on Country in the box to select countries or regions.
  6. Click on View Data to execute the search.
Help: My Data User Guide - Query Builder User Guide

note: Saved searches, reports and bulk downloads require a free individual registration.
OECD Economic Surveys Restricted Resource Some full text available
In-depth reviews of member and some non-member countries' economies.

UNdata
Search across over 14 UN statistical databases through a single portal.

Voter Turnout Database
Global collection of political participation statistics. Regularly updated voter turnout figures for national presidential and parliamentary elections since 1945. From IDEA: Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance.

World Bank Open Data Catalog
Free download access to over 2,000 indicators from World Bank data sets. .

Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive (CD-ROM)
Print Location: Location: Burke Reserve Desk HA154 .C76
A longitudinal data series. The archive has 194 variables and contains data for over 200 country units. Variables cover demographic, social, political, and economic topics. Data files are in an Excel format. Coverage: 1815-2010 (excluding the two modern wartime periods, 1914-1918 and 1940-1945).

Think Tanks

Think Tanks & Policy Centers
Compiled by the Lehman Social Sciences Library, Columbia University.
Think Tanks Directory
Compiled by the Kennedy School of Government Library, Harvard University.

Web Gateways

WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources
An Internet directory of over 2000 annotated links to high-quality English-language sources of information and analysis in a wide range of international affairs, international studies, and international relations topics.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The government department generally follows guidelines from the Chicago Manual of Style. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation Ref KF245 .B58 2000 Restricted Resource
Standard guide to citing legal sources.

Publishing Political Science JV86 .P87 2008 Restricted Resource
See: "How to write a literature review" by Jeffrey W. Knopf and Iain McMenamin, pp. 101-116.

Writing in Political Science: A Practical Guide Ref JA86 .S36 2010 Restricted Resource
Offers tips on writing a research paper, thesis, literature review, position paper, political editorial, and a case study.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - New Database!
World News Connection Restricted Resource
Foreign news sources (over 500 news sources from 130 countries) selected for translation by the U.S. government. This database is no longer being updated. Coverage: 1995-2013.NOTE: For current international news in translation see: BBC Monitoring: International Reports in LexisNexis Academic.
 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Information Literacy Standards
Political Science Research Competency Guidelines

Developed by the Law & Political Science Section of ACRL (Association of College & Research Libraries) the guidelines are intended to illustrate the application of information literacy standards to research in political science and related disciplines, including public administration, law, criminal justice and civic education.

Please contact your department liaison librarian, Lynn Mayo, to discuss how competencies can be integrated into specific course goals.

Approved by the ACRL Board July 1, 2008
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Lynn Mayo

Lynn Mayo
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4746