Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource
Full text of over 9,000 news, business, and legal sources. Articles for most newspapers date back to the early 1990s.
More Info:
News - Business - Legal Research - Company Dossier
Help: Podcast Tutorials - Wiki

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of 1,700 journals in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Coverage: 1975-present.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.
 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
  • Arts & Sciences collections I-IX
  • Life Sciences collection

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of over 9,000 news, business, and legal sources. Articles for most newspapers date back to the early 1990s.
More Info:
News - Business - Legal Research - Company Dossier
Help: Podcast Tutorials - Wiki - Shepardizing a Case

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

PAIS International Restricted Resource
Index of articles, books, studies, government documents and reports on public policy issues. Highly recommended for research in public administration, law, politics and government. Coverage: 1915-present.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index of 1,700 journals in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Coverage: 1975-present.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts (NCJRS)

Summaries of more than 140,000 publications on criminal justice, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles and unpublished research. Coverage:  1960-present.


Google Scholar
Search for articles in scholarly journals. Also includes patents, court opinions and law journals.

Google Scholar Tip:
On Campus users will see the Find It @ Hamilton link with article citations. Use this to connect to articles in Hamilton's online journals.

Off Campus users can also link directly to Hamilton online journals by setting a Google Scholar Preference.
  1. Go to Google Scholar.
  2. In the top menu bar select Settings.
  3. Select Library Links (left column) and search for Hamilton.
  4. Select Hamilton College-Find It @ Hamilton and then Save.

Military & Government Collection Restricted Resource
Index to academic journals, periodicals, and other content with news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Coverage: Varies by title.

Bibliographies

Information Sources of Political Science
Print Location: Ref JA71 .I54 2005
5th ed. 2005.

Biographical Information

Biographical Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court: The Lives and Legal Philosophies of the Justices
Print Location: Ref KF8744 .B56 2006
 CQ Press, 2006.
Supreme Court Justices: Illustrated Biographies, 1789-2012 Some full text available
3rd ed. Sage, 2013. Summaries provide concise objective insights into each justice's career and jurisprudence.

Dictionaries

Black's Law Dictionary
Print Location: Ref KF156 .B53 2009 Some full text available
9th ed. 2009.
Constitutional Law Dictionary
Print Location: Ref KF4548.5 .C47 1985
 
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Documents the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words. Entries trace the historical evolution of a word using quotations found in sources ranging from classic literature to cookbooks.

Oxford Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes:
  • Dictionary of Law
  • Dictionary of Law Enforcement
  • Dictionary of the Social Sciences
  • Encyclopedia of Human Rights
  • New Oxford Companion to Law
  • Oxford Companion to American Law
  • Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States
  • Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions

note: Limited to 1 simultaneous user.

Directories

Martindale-Hubbell Law Directories Restricted Resource Some full text available
Contains all volumes of the Martindale-Hubbell domestic and international law directories.

Document Collections

American State Papers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Legislative and executive documents of the 1st through 25th United States Congress. Coverage: 1789-1838.

Avalon Project Some full text available
Digital documents relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government. A project of the Yale University Law Library.

Federalist Papers
The original text of the Federalist Papers obtained from the e-text archives of Project Gutenberg.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set Restricted Resource Some full text available
Reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives for the 15th through the 96th Congresses. Includes a maps collection. Coverage: 1817-1980.
More Info: Maps

Encyclopedias

American Jurisprudence 2d Restricted Resource Some full text available
An encyclopedic text of both procedural and substantive American law.
Encyclopedia of the First Amendment Restricted Resource Some full text available
2008 ed. Examines all the freedoms in the First Amendment, including free speech, press, assembly, petition, and religion.

Encyclopedia of United States Indian Policy and Law Restricted Resource Some full text available
2008 ed. Essays trace policies from the Continental Congress to the present day.

International Encyclopedia of Political Science Restricted Resource Some full text available
2011 ed. Covers every field of politics, from political theory and methodology to political sociology, comparative politics, public policies, and international relations.
Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers all aspects of legal history throughout the world from ancient to modern times. Articles deal with private law, public law, and constitutional/higher law throughout the world.

Encyclopedia of Privacy
Print Location: Ref JC596.2 .U5 E53 2007


Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
Print Location: Ref KF4548 .E53 2000


West's Encyclopedia of American Law
Print Location: Ref KF154 .W47 2005


Handbooks

Corrections Restricted Resource Some full text available
2011. Key Issues in Crime and Punishment Series.
Courts, Law, and Justice Restricted Resource Some full text available
2011. Key Issues in Crime and Punishment Series.

Crime and Criminal Behavior Restricted Resource Some full text available
2011. Key Issues in Crime and Punishment Series.
Federal Government and Criminal Justice Restricted Resource
Palgrave Macmillan, 2011.  Descriptions of the responses taken by the federal government to issues revolving around criminal justice. Issues include: criminal justice system, federal antidrug politics, violent personal crimes, minors as victims and offenders, weapons, organized crime and regulatory offenses.
Juvenile Crime and Justice Restricted Resource Some full text available
2011. Key Issues in Crime and Punishment Series.
Landmark Decisions of the United States Supreme Court
Print Location: Ref KF4550 .F54 2008
2nd ed. CQ Press, 2008.

Landmark Supreme Court Cases: The Most Influential Decisions of the Supreme Court of the United States Restricted Resource
2nd ed. ABC Clio, 2012. More than 600 of the most important and influential cases in American history..
Police and Law Enforcement Restricted Resource Some full text available
2011. Key Issues in Crime and Punishment Series.

Images & Multimedia

AP Images Restricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Access to over 6 million current and historical news photographs and graphics images, including maps, timelines, logos and graphs. Coverage: 1840s-present.
note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
C-SPAN Video Library
All C-SPAN programs recorded since 1987.

Law Reviews

Legislation - New York

New York Laws and Legislation Restricted Resource Some full text available
Part of LexisNexis Academic. Includes:
  • New York Consolidated Laws Service  - contains Statutes, Constitution, Court Rules
  • New York Advance Legislative Service (ALS) - contains the full text of all laws enacted during a legislative session

Legislation - U.S.

ProQuest Congressional Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of Congressional publications. Includes legislative histories; committee hearings, prints and reports; bill text and tracking; key votes; laws and regulations; financial disclosure reports; and more.

THOMAS
Legislative information from the Library of Congress.

Congress.gov (beta)
Replacing THOMAS by the end of 2014.

Literature Reviews

Annual Review of Political Science Restricted Resource Some full text available
Articles reviewing the scholarly literature on topics of interest in political science.
Coverage: 1998-present

News Sources

America's Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Complete electronic editions of more than 2,000 U.S. newspapers and news video clips, most dating back to the early 1990s. Features over 100 New York State news sources including:
  • Albany Times Union, 1986-
  • Syracuse Post-Standard, 1986-
  • Utica Observer-Dispatch, 2002-

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of over 9,000 news, business, and legal sources. Articles for most newspapers date back to the early 1990s.
More Info:
News - Business - Legal Research - Company Dossier
Help: Podcast Tutorials - Wiki - Shepardizing a Case

Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish. Coverage: 1985-present.

Gannett Newsstand Restricted Resource Some full text available
85 full-text local and regional U.S. newspapers spanning 30 states. Coverage varies for each newspaper.

Provided by NOVELny.


Newspapers

America's Historical Newspapers Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
More than 1,800 newspapers from all 50 states. The colonial and early national newspapers collected by the American Antiquarian Society form the core of this collection. Coverage: 1690-1922.
Library subscribes to Early American Newspapers, Series I-VI.


New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Reproduces the newspaper's text, images, and graphics in their original layout. Coverage: 1851-2009.

Primary Sources

Finding Primary Sources
Guide to finding primary source material—including books, documents, images, magazines, newspapers, personal accounts and speeches—using Burke Library's general collection, its online resources, and interlibrary loan.

Reports

Opposing Viewpoints Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text reports to differing points of view on current social issues.

Provided by NOVELny.


Statistics & Data

Statistics - Research Aid
A more comprehensive guide to statistical data and data sets.
Supreme Court Database
Contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court from 1946-2010.
FedStats
Easy access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the federal government.

Historical Statistics of the United States Restricted Resource Some full text available
Contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations. Each series is fully documented and placed in historical context by a recognized expert. Coverage: 1600-2000.

ICPSR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research data archive of more than 800,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Users wishing to download members-only data and some publicly available data are required to establish a MyData account. Over 700+ studies are available for online data analysis (i.e., no downloading required) using Survey Documentation Analysis (SDA).

Help: Data Use Tutorial - ICPSR Help Center
Quantitative Literacy Teaching ToolsOnline Learning Center - Teaching with Data


note: Questions regarding data holdings should be sent to: Lynn Mayo, ICPSR Official Representative at Hamilton College, Burke Library, 315-859-4746.
New York State Statistical Yearbook
Data for the 57 counties and five boroughs of New York City.

U.S. Case Law

Google Scholar
Full text legal opinions from U.S. federal and state district, appellate and supreme courts. Tip: Select the button for "Legal documents" before searching. Search by case name or topic.
U.S. Federal and State Cases Restricted Resource Some full text available
Coverage: varies by court.
U.S. Courts of Appeals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Decisons of the U.S. Circuit courts. Coverage: varies by court.

U.S. Statutes, Codes and Regulations

Code of Federal Regulations Restricted Resource Some full text available
CFR is a codification of the general and permanent rules and regulations published originally in the Federal Register by executive departments and agencies of the federal government. Coverage: current. 
Federal Register Restricted Resource
The official publication for making the regulations and legal notices issued by the federal agencies and departments available to the public. These include regulations (proposed, temporary, amended, and final), documents required to be published by act of Congress, federal agency documents of public interest, meeting notices, and Presidential proclamations and executive orders. Coverage: 1936-present.
U.S. Code Service Restricted Resource Some full text available
USCS is a codification of all laws enacted by the United States Congress. Coverage: current.

U.S. Supreme Court

Supreme Court Database
Contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court from 1946-2010.
U.S. Supreme Court Cases Restricted Resource Some full text available
Lawyers Ed. includes annotated references. Coverage: 1790-present.
U.S. Supreme Court Briefs Restricted Resource Some full text available
Coverage: 1936-present.
Google Scholar
Full text legal opinions from U.S. federal and state district, appellate and supreme courts. Tip: Select the button for "Legal documents" before searching. Search by case name or topic.
Oyez Project Resource contains audio
An audio archive of the Supreme Court of the United States. Includes recordings from 1995 to the present and selected audio from cases argued prior to 1995.

Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court Restricted Resource Some full text available
5th ed. 2011. Covers the court and the federal system; the court and the individual; the court at work; biographies, documents and texts.

Landmark U.S. Legal Cases Restricted Resource Some full text available
Links to landmark Supreme Court cases in U.S. history.
Supreme Court Compendium: Data, Decisions, and Developments Restricted Resource
5th ed. 2012. Historical and statistical information on every important aspect of the U.S. Supreme Court, including its history, development as an institution, the justices’ backgrounds, nominations, confirmations, and voting trends.
Essential Supreme Court Decisions
Print Location: Ref KF4547.4 .V55 2010
15th ed. 2010. Concise summaries of the most frequently cited cases, arranged by topic and date.

Landmark Briefs and Arguments of the Supreme Court of the United States: Constitutional Law
Print Location: COMPACT STACK KF101.8 .K87
Library owns: vols. 1-225.

Web Sites

FindLaw
The most popular site for free legal information on the Internet.
Legal Information Institute
Cornell Law School's site for legal information.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The government department generally follows guidelines from the Chicago Manual of Style. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation Ref KF245 .B58 2000 Restricted Resource
Standard guide to citing legal sources.

Publishing Political Science JV86 .P87 2008 Restricted Resource
See: "How to write a literature review" by Jeffrey W. Knopf and Iain McMenamin, pp. 101-116.

Writing in Political Science: A Practical Guide Ref JA86 .S36 2010 Restricted Resource
Offers tips on writing a research paper, thesis, literature review, position paper, political editorial, and a case study.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Information Literacy Standards
Political Science Research Competency Guidelines

Developed by the Law & Political Science Section of ACRL (Association of College & Research Libraries) the guidelines are intended to illustrate the application of information literacy standards to research in political science and related disciplines, including public administration, law, criminal justice and civic education.

Please contact your department liaison librarian, Lynn Mayo, to discuss how competencies can be integrated into specific course goals.

Approved by the ACRL Board July 1, 2008
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Lynn Mayo

Lynn Mayo
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4746