Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
The All Resources section of this guide includes links to a few of the library's key government databases. Consult the guides below for additional resources.


 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) Restricted Resource
Articles and book reviews in anthropology, economics, political science and sociology.
LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of over 9,000 news, business, and legal sources. Articles for most newspapers date back to the early 1990s.
More Info:
News - Business - Legal Research - Company Dossier
Help: Podcast Tutorials - Wiki - Shepardizing a Case

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index of 1,700 journals in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Coverage: 1975-present.

PAIS International Restricted Resource
Index of articles, books, studies, government documents and reports on public policy issues. Highly recommended for research in public administration, law, politics and government. Coverage: 1915-present.

 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources
The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The government department generally follows guidelines from the Chicago Manual of Style. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation Ref KF245 .B58 2000 Restricted Resource
Standard guide to citing legal sources.

Publishing Political Science JV86 .P87 2008 Restricted Resource
See: "How to write a literature review" by Jeffrey W. Knopf and Iain McMenamin, pp. 101-116.

Writing in Political Science: A Practical Guide Ref JA86 .S36 2010 Restricted Resource
Offers tips on writing a research paper, thesis, literature review, position paper, political editorial, and a case study.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.
 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Information Literacy Standards
Political Science Research Competency Guidelines

Developed by the Law & Political Science Section of ACRL (Association of College & Research Libraries) the guidelines are intended to illustrate the application of information literacy standards to research in political science and related disciplines, including public administration, law, criminal justice and civic education.

Please contact your department liaison librarian, Lynn Mayo, to discuss how competencies can be integrated into specific course goals.

Approved by the ACRL Board July 1, 2008
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Lynn Mayo

Lynn Mayo
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4746