Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Film Literature Index
Citations for approximately 700,000 articles, film reviews and book reviews published from 1976 to 2001. The print edition (Ref PN1993 .F5) covers 1974 to 2004.
Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus Restricted Resource Some full text available
Indexes hundreds of academic and popular film journals. Also includes the International Index to TV Periodicals, 1979-1998. Coverage: 1972-present.

Bibliographies

Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach-und Literaturwissenschaft
Print Location: REF PT 41 B53
1941-present

Citation Guides

Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources
Provides information on where to access key writing and style guides along with a list of preferred documentation styles for each academic department.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Print Location: Ref Desk LB2369 .G53 2009
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in English and the humanities.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

Research and Documentation Online - MLA Style Some full text available
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using MLA style.

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Contemporary German Culture
Print Location: REF DD 290.26 E53 1999


Oxford Language Dictionaries Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Fully searchable bilingual dictionaries and study materials for six languages: Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Spanish.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of German Literature
Print Location: REF PT 91 E53 2000


Encyclopedia of the Holocaust
Print Location: REF D 804.3 E53 1990


Encyclopedia of the Third Reich
Print Location: REF DD 256.5 G7613 1991


Modern German Literature
Print Location: REF PT 401 E6


Handbooks

Oxford Companion to German Literature
Print Location: REF PT 41 G3 1007


Literary Criticism

Literature Criticism Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scholarly and popular commentary from books, journals, magazines, broadsheets, pamphlets, diaries, and newspapers. Online access is from 2009-2012. Print volumes are indexed in the Literary Index with selected content available in the Literature Resource Center.

Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism

Vols. 1-110 - shelved at Ref PN610 .C55
Vols. 111-143 - available online

Literature Criticism from 1400 to1800

Vols. 1-162 shelved at Ref PN86 .L53
Vols. 163-206 - available online

Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
Vols. 1-210 - shelved at Ref PN761 .N5
Vols. 211-259 - available online

Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism

Vols. 1-217 - shelved at Ref PN771 .G27
Vols. 218-269 - available online

Literature Resource Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Extensive collection of full-text scholarly articles, book reviews, biographical essays, and work overviews. Covers authors and literary topics from all genres, time periods, and regions of the world.

Maps & Atlases

AtoZ Maps Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Collection of more than 146,000 proprietary and royalty-free maps. All maps are high resolution starting at 300dpi with some as large as poster-size. Many maps are PowerPoint-ready. Updated monthly.

 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The German department generally follows guidelines from the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - MLA Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using MLA style.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers Ref Desk LB2369 .G53 2009 Unrestricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in English and the humanities.


RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Kristin Strohmeyer

Kristin Strohmeyer
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4481