Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
GeoRef Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses covering the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Coverage: 1785-present.

Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books, government publications, reports, and conference proceedings related to environmental science. Coverage: 1981-present.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Agricola Restricted Resource
Catalog of the National Agricultural Library with records for publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines.

Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books, government publications, reports, and conference proceedings related to environmental science. Coverage: 1981-present.

GeoRef Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses covering the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Coverage: 1785-present.

ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Full text of articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books covering the scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature published in 24 fields of science. Coverage varies by title.

Water Resources Abstracts Restricted Resource

Index of journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports in the physical and life sciences, as well as from engineering, legal and government publications. Coverage: 1967-present.


Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

Citation Guides

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource Some full text available
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

Geological Association of America Style Sheet Some full text available
Guide to documenting commonly cited resource in the geosciences. Sources not covered by these guidelines should follow recommendations from the Chicago Manual of Style.
New Oxford Dictionary for Scientific Writers and Editors Restricted Resource
This dictionary provides scientists, science writers, and all who work in scientific publishing with a clear style guide for the presentation of scientific information. In over 9,700 entries, it reflects widely accepted usage and follows the recommendations of international scientific bodies such as IUPAC and IUPAP. The dictionary gives clear guidance on such matters as spellings (American English and British English), punctuation, abbreviations, prefixes and suffixes, units and quantities, and symbols.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Some full text available
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Encyclopedias

AccessScience Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Gateway to McGraw-Hill's science and technology reference sources. Includes over 8,500 encyclopedia entries, 110,000 dictionary terms, and 15,000 illustrations documenting all major areas of science and technology. Updated continuously.

Dictionary of Scientists Restricted Resource Some full text available
Oxford University Press, 1999. A searchable biographical dictionary of scientists, covering all areas of science: physics and astronomy to medicine and ecology, including key figures in the fields of mathematics and technology.

 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The geosciences department generally follows guidelines from the Geological Association of America Style Sheet. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Geological Association of America Style Sheet Unrestricted Resource
Guide to documenting commonly cited resource in the geosciences. Sources not covered by these guidelines should follow recommendations from the Chicago Manual of Style.

Internet sources should be cited as follows:

  • Advanced National Seismic System, 2007, ANSS global earthquake catalog: http://www.ncedc.org/anss/catalog-search.html (accessed 24 November 2007).
  • Haugerud, R., 2003, PSLC-finding faults: http://pugetsoundlidar.ess.washington.edu (accessed 30 June 2007).
  • Johnson, A.B., 2001, Raw data for relay stations AB1?AB15 in the Mojave desert: http://www.seismo.berkeley.edu/mojave (December 2001).
  • Reinecker, J., Heidbach, O., and Mueller, B., 2003, The 2003 release of the World Stress Map: http://www.world-stress-map.org (accessed June 2004).
(Month and year in parentheses at end denote date author accessed site. The day is not necessary, but may be helpful for a database that is constantly being updated/changed.)

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.
 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Glynis Asu

Glynis Asu
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4482