Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

JSTOR Restricted Resource
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere. Arts & Sciences collections I-IX Life Sciences collection

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource
Full text of over 9,000 news, business, and legal sources. Articles for most newspapers date back to the early 1990s. More Info: News - Business - Legal Research - Company Dossier Help: Podcast Tutorials - Wiki - Shepardizing a Case

PAIS International Restricted Resource
Index of articles, books, studies, government documents and reports on public policy issues. Highly recommended for research in public administration, law, politics and government. Coverage: 1915-present.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of 1,700 journals in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Coverage: 1975-present.
 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Google Scholar
Search for articles in scholarly journals. Also includes patents, court opinions and law journals.

Google Scholar Tip:
On Campus users will see the Find It @ Hamilton link with article citations. Use this to connect to articles in Hamilton's online journals.

Off Campus users can also link directly to Hamilton online journals by setting a Google Scholar Preference.
  1. Go to Google Scholar.
  2. In the top menu bar select Settings.
  3. Select Library Links (left column) and search for Hamilton.
  4. Select Hamilton College-Find It @ Hamilton and then Save.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
  • Arts & Sciences collections I-IX
  • Life Sciences collection

PAIS International Restricted Resource
Index of articles, books, studies, government documents and reports on public policy issues. Highly recommended for research in public administration, law, politics and government. Coverage: 1915-present.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index of 1,700 journals in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Coverage: 1975-present.

Document Collections

Avalon Project Some full text available
Digital documents relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government. A project of the Yale University Law Library.

Federalist Papers
The original text of the Federalist Papers obtained from the e-text archives of Project Gutenberg.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Privacy
Print Location: Ref JC596.2 .U5 E53 2007


Encyclopedia of Public and Administration and Public Policy
Print Location: Ref JK9 .E526 2003 + supplement


Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
Print Location: Ref KF4548 .E53 2000


West's Encyclopedia of American Law
Print Location: Ref KF154 .W47 2005


Handbooks

Essential Supreme Court Decisions
Print Location: Ref KF4547.4 .V55 2010
15th ed. 2010. Concise summaries of the most frequently cited cases, arranged by topic and date.

Landmark Decisions of the United States Supreme Court
Print Location: Ref KF4550 .F54 2008
2nd ed. CQ Press, 2008.

Legislation - U.S.

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of over 9,000 news, business, and legal sources. Articles for most newspapers date back to the early 1990s.
More Info:
News - Business - Legal Research - Company Dossier
Help: Podcast Tutorials - Wiki - Shepardizing a Case

ProQuest Congressional Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of Congressional publications. Includes legislative histories; committee hearings, prints and reports; bill text and tracking; key votes; laws and regulations; financial disclosure reports; and more.

Reports

Congressional Research Service Reports (via Open CRS) Some full text available
A project of the Center for Democracy & Technology, Open CRS provides citizens access to CRS Reports already in the public domain.

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
Summary reports on contemporary issues that include an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. Coverage: 1991-present.
note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users.

Web Sites

American Civil Liberties Union
Works in courts, legislatures and communities to defend individual rights and liberties -- namely, first amendment rights (freedom of speech, association and assembly; freedom of the press, and freedom of religion), equal protection under the law, right to due process, and the right to privacy.

Legal Information Institute
Cornell Law School's site for legal information.

Center for Democracy and Technology
A non-profit public interest organization working to keep the Internet open, innovative, and free.

Electronic Frontier Foundation
Works on digital rights issues -- defending free speech, privacy, innovation, and consumer rights.

Electronic Privacy Information Center
A public interest research center established to focus public attention on emerging civil liberties issues and to protect privacy, the First Amendment, and constitutional values.

Privacy Rights Clearinghouse
A nonprofit consumer education and advocacy organization dedicated to protecting the privacy of American consumers.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The education studies department generally follows guidelines from the Chicago Manual of Style. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Lynn Mayo

Lynn Mayo
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4746