Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of 1,700 journals in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Coverage: 1975-present.

PAIS International Restricted Resource
Index of articles, books, studies, government documents and reports on public policy issues. Highly recommended for research in public administration, law, politics and government. Coverage: 1915-present.


 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs on international affairs. Coverage: 1991-present.

Google Scholar
Search for articles in scholarly journals. Also includes patents, court opinions and law journals.

Google Scholar Tip:
On Campus users will see the Find It @ Hamilton link with article citations. Use this to connect to articles in Hamilton's online journals.

Off Campus users can also link directly to Hamilton online journals by setting a Google Scholar Preference.
  1. Go to Google Scholar.
  2. In the top menu bar select Settings.
  3. Select Library Links (left column) and search for Hamilton.
  4. Select Hamilton College-Find It @ Hamilton and then Save.

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
  • Arts & Sciences collections I-IX
  • Life Sciences collection

Military & Government Collection Restricted Resource
Index to academic journals, periodicals, and other content with news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Coverage: Varies by title.

PAIS International Restricted Resource
Index of articles, books, studies, government documents and reports on public policy issues. Highly recommended for research in public administration, law, politics and government. Coverage: 1915-present.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index of 1,700 journals in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Coverage: 1975-present.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

Bibliographies

International Relations, International Security, and Comparative Politics: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources
Print Location: Ref JZ1305 .K34 2008


Country Information

CountryWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available

Up-to-date news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world. Includes the Country Reviews, Country Wire, CountryWatch Data and CountryWatch Map Gallery. Updated daily.


Europa World Plus Restricted Resource Some full text available
Economic, political and geographic background information and statistical data by country, with a comprehensive listing of 1,900 international organizations. Updated daily.

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Geopolitics
Print Location: Ref JC319 .D495 1994


Document Collections

Digital National Security Archive Restricted Resource Some full text available
Declassified documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Documents include presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, email, confidential letters, and other secret material. Coverage: 1942 to present.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Democracy
Print Location: Ref JC423 .E53 1995
The articles are of four types -- biographical, country studies, regional overviews, and topical.

Encyclopedia of Globalization
Print Location: Ref JZ1310 .E52 2007
Signed articles with bibliographies. Covers all aspects of globalization (cultural, environmental, historical, legal, literary, political, and social) , over a wide expanse of time.

Encyclopedia of Human Rights Restricted Resource Some full text available
2009 ed. Comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history.

Globalization and Security: An Encyclopedia Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers four major aspects of globalization as they affect security - economic, political, social and cultural.

International Studies Encyclopedia Restricted Resource Some full text available
400+ peer reviewed essays. A comprehensive reference work for the fields of international studies and international relations.
Routledge Encyclopedia of International Political Economy
Print Location: Ref HF1359 .R68 2001


Literature Reviews

Annual Review of Political Science Restricted Resource Some full text available
Articles reviewing the scholarly literature on topics of interest in political science.
Coverage: 1998-present

News Sources

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of over 9,000 news, business, and legal sources. Articles for most newspapers date back to the early 1990s.
More Info:
News - Business - Legal Research - Company Dossier
Help: Podcast Tutorials - Wiki - Shepardizing a Case

Reports

Freedom House Some full text available
Freedom House's reports and ratings provide a comparative assessment of global political rights and civil liberties.

Statistics & Data

International Financial Statistics Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. Data covers exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts. Coverage: 1948-present.

Tip: Use Query Builder to select data source (IFS), time range, concepts (variables), and countries/regions.

  1. Click on Data Source in the Query Builder box.
  2. Select International Financial Statistics from the list on the right side of the screen.
  3. Click on Time to change the years and reporting time period.
  4. Click on Concept and expand Economic Sector to select variables.
  5. Click on Country in the box to select countries or regions.
  6. Click on View Data to execute the search.
Help: My Data User Guide - Query Builder User Guide

note: Saved searches, reports and bulk downloads require a free individual registration.
World Development Indicators
Comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers more than 900 indicators for 210 economies with data back to 1960.
FIRST: Facts on International Relations and Security Trends Some full text available
Data includes armed forces, arms production and trade, country indicators and statistics, human rights and security, conflicts and peace-keeping activities, military expenditures, conventional and nuclear weapons, and ballistic missiles.

OECD Economic Surveys Restricted Resource Some full text available
In-depth reviews of member and some non-member countries' economies.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The education studies department generally follows guidelines from the Chicago Manual of Style. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Lynn Mayo

Lynn Mayo
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4746