Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of 1,700 journals in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Coverage: 1975-present.

PAIS International Restricted Resource
Index of articles, books, studies, government documents and reports on public policy issues. Highly recommended for research in public administration, law, politics and government. Coverage: 1915-present.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.
 + / - Recommended Readings
  • Davenport, Christian, Hank Johnston, and Carol McClurg Mueller, eds. 2005. Repression and Mobilization. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press. eBook
  • Davenport, Christian. 2007. State Repression and Political Order. Annual Review of Political Science 10 (1): 1-23. Available online
  • Diani, Mario, and Doug McAdam, eds. 2003. Social Movements and Networks: Relational Approaches to Collective Action. Oxford ; New York: Oxford University Press. eBook
  • Earl, Jennifer. 2003. Tanks, Tear Gas, and Taxes: Toward a Theory of Movement Repression. Sociological Theory 21 (1): 44-68. Available online
  • Giugni, Marco, Doug McAdam, and Charles Tilly, eds. 1999. How Social Movements Matter. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press. Book call number: HM131 .H625 1999
  • Goldstone, Jack A., ed. 2003. States, Parties, and Social Movements. New York: Cambridge University Press. eBook
  • Zald, Mayer N., and John D. McCarthy, eds. 1987. Social Movements in an Organizational Society: Collected Essays. New Brunswick, U.S.A.: Transaction Books. Book on order for library
 + / - Journals
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
  • Arts & Sciences collections I-IX
  • Life Sciences collection

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs on international affairs. Coverage: 1991-present.

GenderWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of articles that focus on gender roles from historical and current perspectives. Areas of focus include gay and lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies. Coverage: 1970-present.

Military & Government Collection Restricted Resource
Index to academic journals, periodicals, and other content with news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Coverage: Varies by title.

PAIS International Restricted Resource
Index of articles, books, studies, government documents and reports on public policy issues. Highly recommended for research in public administration, law, politics and government. Coverage: 1915-present.

Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index of journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers covering the international literature in sociology and related disciplines,including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law, penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies. Coverage: 1952-present.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

Women's Studies International Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books, proceedings, reports, and other sources related to women's studies and feminist research. Coverage: 1972-present.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index of 1,700 journals in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Coverage: 1975-present.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice Restricted Resource Some full text available
Sage, 2007. Topics, concepts, and ideas that motivate and shape the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice.

Encyclopedia of Global Studies Restricted Resource
Sage, 2012. Examines the emerging field of global studies, covering both transnational topics and intellectual approaches to the study of global themes.
International Encyclopedia of Political Science Restricted Resource Some full text available
2011 ed. Covers every field of politics, from political theory and methodology to political sociology, comparative politics, public policies, and international relations.
International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest Restricted Resource Some full text available
2009 edition with annual updates. Covers every major revolution that has altered societies or changed the course of history on a local, regional, national, and international scale.

International Studies Encyclopedia Restricted Resource Some full text available
400+ peer reviewed essays. A comprehensive reference work for the fields of international studies and international relations.
Encyclopedia of Political Revolutions
Print Location: Ref JC491 .E63 1998
 Includes descriptions of specific revolutions, important revolutionary figures, and major revolutionary themes.

Literature Reviews

Annual Review of Political Science Restricted Resource Some full text available
Articles reviewing the scholarly literature on topics of interest in political science.
Coverage: 1998-present

Annual Review of Sociology Restricted Resource Some full text available
Articles reviewing the scholarly literature on topics of interest in sociology.
Coverage: 1975--present.

Maps & Atlases

AtoZ Maps Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Collection of more than 146,000 proprietary and royalty-free maps. All maps are high resolution starting at 300dpi with some as large as poster-size. Many maps are PowerPoint-ready. Updated monthly.

News Sources

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of over 9,000 news, business, and legal sources. Articles for most newspapers date back to the early 1990s.
More Info:
News - Business - Legal Research - Company Dossier
Help: Podcast Tutorials - Wiki - Shepardizing a Case

Opinion Polls

Polling the Nations Restricted Resource Some full text available
Question and answer responses from public opinion polls conducted by the major polling organizations and news media. Includes U.S. and international polls. Responses to the questions are included, but with no demographic breakdowns. Updated monthly. Coverage: 1986-present.

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research and iPOLL Restricted Resource Some full text available
The largest collection of poll data anywhere. Broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, and international affairs. Coverage: 1935-present.
  • iPOLL contains half a million survey questions and answers asked in the U.S. over the last 65 years by more than 150 survey organizations.
  • RoperExpress provides on-demand access to datasets from thousands of studies for download in ASCII or SPSS formats.
  • RoperExplorer is an online data analysis system; no programming skills required; choose dependent and independent variables and quickly produce frequencies and cross-tabulations.
Help: YouTube Videos

Reports

Freedom House Some full text available
Freedom House's reports and ratings provide a comparative assessment of global political rights and civil liberties.

Statistics & Data

Christian Davenport's webpage
Scroll down to see many links to potentially useful sources, especially relating to repression.

Statistics - Research Aid
A more comprehensive guide to statistical data and data sets.
Freedom House Some full text available
Freedom House's reports and ratings provide a comparative assessment of global political rights and civil liberties.

Minorities at Risk (MAR) Project
Monitors and analyzes the status and conflicts of politically-active communal groups in all countries with a current population of at least 500,000.

World Development Indicators
Comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers more than 900 indicators for 210 economies with data back to 1960.
 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The government department generally follows guidelines from the Chicago Manual of Style. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation Ref KF245 .B58 2000 Restricted Resource
Standard guide to citing legal sources.

Publishing Political Science JV86 .P87 2008 Restricted Resource
See: "How to write a literature review" by Jeffrey W. Knopf and Iain McMenamin, pp. 101-116.

Writing in Political Science: A Practical Guide Ref JA86 .S36 2010 Restricted Resource
Offers tips on writing a research paper, thesis, literature review, position paper, political editorial, and a case study.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Lynn Mayo

Lynn Mayo
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4746