Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of 1,700 journals in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Coverage: 1975-present.

JSTOR Restricted Resource
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere. Arts & Sciences collections I-IX Life Sciences collection


 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
  • Arts & Sciences collections I-IX
  • Life Sciences collection

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index of 1,700 journals in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Coverage: 1975-present.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Bibliographies

International Relations, International Security, and Comparative Politics: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources
Print Location: Ref JZ1305 .K34 2008


Country Information

CountryWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available

Up-to-date news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world. Includes the Country Reviews, Country Wire, CountryWatch Data and CountryWatch Map Gallery. Updated daily.


Government and Politics of the Middle East and North Africa
Print Location: Ref DS62.8 .G68 2011
Chapters cover the history, politics and economics of the countries and region. Includes maps and extensive bibliographies. 6th ed., 2011.

Parties and Elections in Europe
A database about the parliamentary elections in the European countries and autonomous subdivisions since 1945. Includes links to country parties and election authorities, electoral calendar and news in brief.

Political Handbook of the World Restricted Resource
2013 ed. Description of the country and an in-depth discussion of the politics and government of each country.

Europa World Plus Restricted Resource Some full text available
Economic, political and geographic background information and statistical data by country, with a comprehensive listing of 1,900 international organizations. Updated daily.

Directories

Directory of European Union Political Parties
Print Location: Ref JN50 .D39 2000


Document Collections

American Presidency Project Some full text available Resource contains audio
Collection of primary documents and other materials relating to U.S. presidents. Includes public papers, addresses, executive orders, and proclamations.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Political Communication Restricted Resource Some full text available
2008 ed. Covers political, sociological and communication theory. Also focuses on political debates, speeches, and advertising.

Encyclopedia of Political Science Restricted Resource Some full text available
2011 ed. Signed articles examine the central ideas, concepts, and frameworks underlying the study of politics, both Western and non-Western, national and international.

Encyclopedia of Presidential Campaigns, Slogans, Issues, and Platforms
Print Location: Ref E176.1 .R6 2004


Encyclopedic Dictionary of Marxism, Socialism, and Communism
Print Location: Ref HX17 .W54


International Studies Encyclopedia Restricted Resource Some full text available
400+ peer reviewed essays. A comprehensive reference work for the fields of international studies and international relations.
Political Philosophy: Theories, Thinkers, Concepts
Print Location: Ref JA71 .P6226 2001


Sage Handbook of Political Advertising
Print Location: Ref JF2112 .A4 S24 2006


Encyclopaedia of European Elections
Print Location: Ref JN36 .E53 2007


World Encyclopedia of Parliaments and Legislatures
Print Location: Ref JF511 .W67 1998


Handbooks

Oxford Handbook of Comparative Politics
Print Location: JF51 .O94 2007


SAGE Handbook of Comparative Politics
Print Location: JF51 .S24 2009


Images & Multimedia

AP Images Restricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Access to over 6 million current and historical news photographs and graphics images, including maps, timelines, logos and graphs. Coverage: 1840s-present.
note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials
Presidential campaign commercials, 1952-2008.

Flickr Resource contains images
Tips for Large Format Poster projects:

Limit your Flickr image search to Creative Commons-licensed photos.
On the Advanced Search screen select:
  • Only search within Creative Commons-licensed photos
  • Find content to modify, adapt, or build upon
Download the Original high resolution image.
  • Search for images and click on the image to open it in a new page.
  • Click the small All Sizes icon above the image.
  • Use the Download link to download the Original image.

Literature Reviews

Annual Review of Political Science Restricted Resource Some full text available
Articles reviewing the scholarly literature on topics of interest in political science.
Coverage: 1998-present

News Sources

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of over 9,000 news, business, and legal sources. Articles for most newspapers date back to the early 1990s.
More Info:
News - Business - Legal Research - Company Dossier
Help: Podcast Tutorials - Wiki - Shepardizing a Case

Opinion Polls

Atlas of European Values
Print Location: Ref HM681 .A85 2005


Polling the Nations Restricted Resource Some full text available
Question and answer responses from public opinion polls conducted by the major polling organizations and news media. Includes U.S. and international polls. Responses to the questions are included, but with no demographic breakdowns. Updated monthly. Coverage: 1986-present.

Eurobarometer
Website for the Public Opinion Analysis sector of the European Commission.

Political Party Platforms

Parties and Elections in Europe
A database about the parliamentary elections in the European countries and autonomous subdivisions since 1945. Includes links to country parties and election authorities, electoral calendar and news in brief.

UK Party Manifestos
Coverage: 1945-present.

US Political Party Platforms
Coverage: 1840-present.

Reports

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
Summary reports on contemporary issues that include an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. Coverage: 1991-present.
note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users.

Statistics & Data

Voter Turnout Database
Global collection of political participation statistics. Regularly updated voter turnout figures for national presidential and parliamentary elections since 1945. From IDEA: Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance.

Eurostat
European Union demographic, economic, industry and environment data.

Web Sites

Political Resources on the Net
Listings of political sites on the internet sorted by country, with links to parties, organizations, governments, and media.

Election Resources on the Internet
Links to internet sites with national and local election statistics. Also includes information on elections and electoral systems.

ElectionGuide
A comprehensive and timely source of election news and verified election information. Provided by the International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES), an international nonprofit dedicated to strengthening electoral democracy. Funded by a USAID grant.

Psephos: Adam Carr's Election Archive
Archive of electoral information in the world, with election statistics from 182 countries.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The education studies department generally follows guidelines from the Chicago Manual of Style. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Lynn Mayo

Lynn Mayo
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4746