Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus Restricted Resource
Indexes hundreds of academic and popular film journals. Also includes the International Index to TV Periodicals, 1979-1998. Coverage: 1972-present.

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.



 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

ATLA Religion Database Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and essay collections in all fields of religion. Areas of focus include the Christian Bible, church history, world religions, theology, and ethics. Coverage: 1949-present.

Film Literature Index
Citations for approximately 700,000 articles, film reviews and book reviews published from 1976 to 2001. The print edition (Ref PN1993 .F5) covers 1974 to 2004.
Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Contemporary German Culture
Print Location: REF DD 290.26 E53 1999


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of German Literature
Print Location: REF PT 91 E53 2000


Handbooks

Cambridge History of German Literature Restricted Resource
A history of German literature up to the reunification in 1990.
International Film Index, 1895-1990
Print Location: REF PN 1998 .I52 1991
v. 1. Film titles
v. 2. Directors' filmography and indexes

Oxford Companion to German Literature
Print Location: REF PT 41 G3 1007


Oxford Guide to Film Studies
Print Location: REF PN 1995 .O93 1998


Web Sites

Finding Film Criticism
This guide is designed to assist researchers looking for reviews and other general information about films using Burke Library's collection.
 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources
The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The German department generally follows guidelines from the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - MLA Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using MLA style.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers Ref Desk LB2369 .G53 2009 Unrestricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in English and the humanities.


RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.
 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Kristin Strohmeyer

Kristin Strohmeyer
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4481