Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Bibliographie der Franzosischen Literaturwissenschaft
Print Location: REF PQ 305 B48
1956-present

Film Literature Index
Citations for approximately 700,000 articles, film reviews and book reviews published from 1976 to 2001. The print edition (Ref PN1993 .F5) covers 1974 to 2004.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
  • Arts & Sciences collections I-IX
  • Life Sciences collection

MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

Dictionaries

Dictionnaires d'autrefois
Jean Nicot's Thresor de la langue française (1606), Jean-François Féraud's Dictionaire critique de la langue française (1787-1788), Émile Littré's Dictionnaire de la langue française (1872-1877) and the Dictionnaire de L'Académie française 1st (1694), 4th (1762), 5th (1798), 6th (1835), and 8th (1932-5) editions.
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Fully searchable bilingual dictionaries and study materials for six languages: Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Spanish.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture
Print Location: REF DC 33.7 E53 1998


Handbooks

Cambridge history of African and Caribbean literature vol 1 Restricted Resource
Offers new perspectives on African and Caribbean literature. Addresses the literature itself, the practices and conditions of its composition, and its complex relationship with African social and geopolitical history. Provides an account of the entire body of productions that can be considered to comprise the field of African literature, defined both by imaginative expression in Africa itself and the black diaspora.
Companion to the French Revolution
Print Location: REF DC 147 P38 1988


French Culture, 1900-1975
Print Location: REF DC 33.7 F726 1995


Cambridge history of French literature Restricted Resource
"From Occitan poetry to Francophone writing produced in the Caribbean and North Africa, from intellectual history to current films, and from medieval manuscripts to bandes dessine;es, this History covers French literature from its beginnings to the present day. With equal attention to all genres, historical periods and registers, this is the most comprehensive guide to literature written in French ever produced in English, and the first in decades to offer such an array of topics and perspectives. Contributors attend to issues of orality, history, peripheries, visual culture, alterity, sexuality, religion, politics, autobiography and testimony. The result is a collection that, despite the wide variety of topics and perspectives, presents a unified view of the richness of French-speaking cultures. This History gives support to the idea that French writing will continue to prosper in the twenty-first century as it adapts, adds to, and refocuses the rich legacy of its past"
New History of French Literature
Print Location: REF PQ 119 N48 1989


Oxford Companion to French Literature
Print Location: REF PQ 41 H3


Images & Multimedia

ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Collection of more than one million high-resolution images and tools for teaching and research. The 200+ collections include contributions from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Subjects include architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects. Coverage: prehistory to present.
Teaching with ARTstor:  Courseware/Blackboard Guide
Instructor Privileges:  To obtain instructor privileges contact your local ARTstor administrator, Lynn Mayo, Burke Library.

Banque d'images
La banque d'images fixes numérisées du département de la reproduction de la Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF) permet de constituer un panier, de passer commande et de payer en ligne.

Maps & Atlases

AtoZ Maps Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Collection of more than 146,000 proprietary and royalty-free maps. All maps are high resolution starting at 300dpi with some as large as poster-size. Many maps are PowerPoint-ready. Updated monthly.

France Maps Resource contains images
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

News Sources

Figaro Resource contains images
Also Available from 1/9/1997 to present in LexisNexis Academic

Liberation Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Also Available from 2000 to present in LexisNexis Academic
Monde Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Also Available from 1/8/1987 to present in LexisNexis Academic
TV5 Resource contains images Resource contains audio


Primary Sources

ABU: La Bibliotheque Universelle
In French. Includes 288 texts by over a hundred authors available in the public domain.

Athena Some full text available
In French.  Full-text of works by French and Francophone authors.

Gallica
In French.  Digital Library project of the French national library providing full-text access to texts, images and audio files from the Middle Ages through the 19th century.

Poesie Francaise Some full text available
In French.  More than 6000 French poems from the Middle Ages to the early 20th century.

Web Gateways

Tennessee Bob
University of Tennessee at Martin faculty member Bob Peckham's Famous French Links.
 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The French department generally follows guidelines from the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - MLA Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using MLA style.

BROKEN TOKEN: dab},{7}, {MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers },{11

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Kristin Strohmeyer

Kristin Strohmeyer
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4481