Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Find eBooks with ALEX

Books from the library's major eBook collections are included in the ALEX. To search the full text of a particular collection, choose a link below.

 
Search ALEX


 
 + / - Major eBook Collections
ACLS Humanities E-Book Restricted Resource
Full text of over 3,900 books selected by scholars across the humanities. Coverage: 1880s-present.

America's Historical Imprints Restricted Resource
Full image reproductions of virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in the U.S. over a 170-year period. Items include advertisements, almanacs, bibles, broadsides, catalogs, charters and by-laws, contracts, cookbooks, elegies, eulogies, laws, maps, narratives, novels, operas, pamphlets, plays, poems, primers, sermons, songs, speeches, textbooks, tracts, travelogues, treaties and more.
  • American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I, 1770-1876
  • Early American Imprints, Series I, 1639-1800
  • Early American Imprints, Series II, 1801-1819

EBL - ConnectNY Unrestricted Resource
Academic titles across all disciplines. EBL eBooks can be "checked out" and read online, or be downloaded to an ebook reader or mobile device. Coverage: 2010-present.
More Info: EBL FAQ

eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost) Restricted Resource
A growing collection of over 125,000 academic eBooks. More Info: eBooks: Getting Started Downloading eBooks to an Apple device (iPad, iPhone, iPod) Downloading eBooks to an Android device Downloading eBooks to your Computer (Mac, Windows) Compatible eReaders and Apps

ebrary Academic Complete Restricted Resource
A growing collection of over 100,000 academic eBooks. More Info: QuickStart Video Quick Guide ebrary app for mobile devices- Apple ; Android eBooks: Getting Started

Springer eBook Collection Restricted Resource
Collection of eBooks covering architecture and design, computer science,biomedical and life sciences, chemistry, earth and environmental science, economics and business, engineering, mathematics, medicine, physics and astronomy, and psychology. Coverage: 2005-2010.

 + / - More eBook Collections
ARTFL Restricted Resource
Full text of nearly 3,000 French language texts including literature, non-fiction prose and technical works. Coverage: 13th through the 20th centuries.

Cambridge Histories Online Restricted Resource
A growing collection of over 290 volumes covering over 15 different academic subjects - history, history of science, language, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, political and social theory, religious studies, theatre and the performing arts.

Early English Books Online Restricted Resource
Digital reproductions of all items produced by a printing press (such as books, pamphlets, broadsides) in England and its colonies and any item that was printed anywhere in the world in English. Coverage: 475-1700.

Forum Romanum Unrestricted Resource
Large collection of roman texts and their available online translations. Also has a library of Latin literature searchable by author, title, genre and date.

Gallica Unrestricted Resource
In French.  Digital Library project of the French national library providing full-text access to texts, images and audio files from the Middle Ages through the 19th century.

Google Book Search Unrestricted Resource
Partnership between Google and a number of major research libraries aimed at digitizing their collections and making them available online. For successful searches choose "Full view only" and provide a date range.

Hathi Trust Unrestricted Resource
Provides cataloging and online access for millions of books and journals digitized by Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and major research libraries.

Internet Archive: Text Archive Unrestricted Resource
Wide range of out-of-copyright and open source fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.

Making of America (University of Michigan) Unrestricted Resource
Collection of approximately 10,000 books and 13 journals published primarily in the United States between 1850 and 1877. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.

Perseus Digital Library Unrestricted Resource
Great collection of classical texts with secondary sources on classical studies.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae Restricted Resource
Full text of virtually all Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.), and A.D. 600 and the majority of surviving works up the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453.Help: Greek fonts

Women Writers Online Restricted Resource
Full text of more than 300 works by women in English or in English translation published before 1850. Coverage: 1526-1850.

Wright American Fiction, 1851-1875 Unrestricted Resource
Collection of 19th century American fiction listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form