Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Starting Points
This guide features traditional, English-language, print news sources available through the library. Links to other media can be found in the News Analysis & Other Media Outlets section.

FULL TEXT COLLECTIONS


Search for magazines and newspapers in the library's collection


   
 + / - Magazines

COLLECTIONS

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Alternative Press Index and Archive Restricted Resource
Index of over 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Coverage: 1969-present.

SELECTED TITLES - NEWS
Atlantic
  • Newsstand Edition - Links to full text online and info on the library's paper/microform copies
  • Website - Selected articles, blogs, podcasts, interactive features, etc.

Economist
  • Newsstand Edition - Links to full text online and info on the library's paper/microform copies
  • Website - Selected articles, blogs, podcasts, interactive features, etc.

New Yorker
  • Newsstand Edition - Links to full text online and info on the library's paper/microform copies
  • Website - Selected articles, blogs, podcasts, interactive features, etc.

Newsweek

  • Newsstand Edition - Links to full text online and info on the library's print/microform copies
  • Website - Selected articles, blogs, podcasts, interactive features, etc.

Salon
  • Article Archive - Links to article text from 1999 to present.
  • Website - Selected articles, blogs, podcasts, interactive features, etc.

Slate
  • Article Archive - Links to article text from 1996 to present.
  • Website - Selected articles, blogs, podcasts, interactive features, etc.

Time

  • Newsstand Edition - Links to full text online and info on the library's print/microform copies
  • Website - Selected articles, blogs, podcasts, interactive features, etc.

U.S. News & World Report

  • Newsstand Edition - Links to full text online and info on the library's print/microform copies
  • Website - Selected articles, blogs, podcasts, interactive features, etc.

SELECTED TITLES - OPINION

Harper's Magazine

  • Newsstand Edition - Links to full text online and info on the library's print/microform copies
  • Website - Selected articles, blogs, podcasts, interactive features, etc.

Mother Jones

  • Newsstand Edition - Links to full text online and info on the library's print/microform copies
  • Website - Selected articles, blogs, podcasts, interactive features, etc.

The Nation

  • Newsstand Edition - Links to full text online and info on the library's print/microform copies
  • Website - Selected articles, blogs, podcasts, interactive features, etc.

National Review

  • Newsstand Edition - Links to full text online and info on the library's print/microform copies
  • Website - Selected articles, blogs, podcasts, interactive features, etc.

New Republic

  • Newsstand Edition - Links to full text online and info on the library's print/microform copies
  • Website - Selected articles, blogs, podcasts, interactive features, etc.

NewsMax

  • Article Archive - Links to article text from  2008 to present
  • Website - Selected articles, blogs, podcasts, interactive features, etc.

Weekly Standard

  • Newsstand Edition - Links to full text online and info on the library's print/microform copies
  • Website - Selected articles, blogs, podcasts, interactive features, etc.

 + / - Newspapers - United States

COLLECTIONS

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource
Full text of over 9,000 news, business, and legal sources. Articles for most newspapers date back to the early 1990s.
More Info:
News - Business - Legal Research - Company Dossier
Help: Podcast Tutorials - Wiki

America's Newspapers Restricted Resource
Complete electronic editions of more than 2,000 U.S. newspapers and news video clips, most dating back to the early 1990s. Features over 100 New York State news sources including: Albany Times Union, 1986-Syracuse Post-Standard, 1986-Utica Observer-Dispatch, 2002-

Gannett Newsstand Restricted Resource
85 full-text local and regional U.S. newspapers spanning 30 states. Coverage varies for each newspaper.Provided by NOVELny.

InfoTrac Newsstand Restricted Resource
More than 1,000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world.Provided by NOVELny.

Newspaper Source Restricted Resource
Cover-to-cover full text for 45 national (U.S.) & international newspapers. Also includes selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers and some full text television and radio news transcripts. Coverage varies by title.

SELECTED TITLES
Huffington Post Unrestricted Resource
American news website and content aggregator covering politics, business, entertainment, environment, technology, popular media, lifestyle, culture, comedy, healthy living, women's interest, and local news

New York Times Restricted Resource

Wall Street Journal Restricted Resource
  • 1984-present - Full article text. No images or charts.
  • 2008 to present - Full text and image. Not searchable. 2 month delay.
  • 1971-present - Full text and image. (Microfilm)

Washington Post Restricted Resource
  • 1977-present - Full article text. No images.
  • 1982-2006 - Full text and image. (Microfilm)

DIRECTORIES
World-Newspapers.com Unrestricted Resource
Links to the world's English language newspapers, magazines, and news sites.
 + / - Newspapers - New York State

COLLECTIONS

America's Newspapers - New York State Restricted Resource
Full text of articles from more than 100 New York state news sources. Missing images and some content.

LexisNexis Academic - New York State News Sources Restricted Resource
Full text of articles from New York state news sources, most dating back to the 1990s. Missing images and some content. See title list.

New York State Newspapers Restricted Resource
Full-text of articles from more than 30 New York State newspapers. Missing images and some content. Includes publications from Albany, Buffalo, and New York City, and Syracuse. Coverage: Varies by title. Provided by NOVELny.

SELECTED TITLES
Clinton Courier Restricted Resource
  • 1857 to present - Full text and image. (Microfilm)

New York Times Restricted Resource
Utica Observer-Dispatch Restricted Resource
  • 2003-present - Full article text. No images.
  • 1952-1957 - Full text and image. (Microfilm)

 + / - Newspapers - International

COLLECTIONS

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource
Extensive collection of international newspapers. Searches may be limited to a region or particular country by clicking on the "Sources" tab and selecting the desired filter options. Articles from most newspapers date back to the early 1990s.
More Info: News - Business - Legal Research - Company Dossier
Help: Podcast Tutorials - Wiki

InfoTrac Newsstand Restricted Resource
More than 1,000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world.Provided by NOVELny.

SELECTED TITLES
Manchester Guardian Weekly Restricted Resource
  • 1981-present  - Full article text. No images.
  • 1919 to 2005 - Full text and image. (Microfilm)

Times of London Restricted Resource
  • 1985 to present - Full article text. No images.
  • 1785 to 2006 - Full text and image.
  • 1788 to 1945 and 1984 to 2006 - Full text and image. (Microfilm)
  • Note: The Times does not include issues published on Sundays.

DIRECTORIES
World-Newspapers.com Unrestricted Resource
Links to the world's English language newspapers, magazines, and news sites.
 + / - News Analysis & Other Media Outlets
Best of the Web Blog Directory Unrestricted Resource
Selective directory of active blogs. Organized by category and searchable.

EBizMBA Top 15 Most Popular News Websites Unrestricted Resource
List of most-viewed news sites based on the Alexa global traffic rank and the U.S. traffic rank from both Compete and Quantcast.

FactCheck.org Unrestricted Resource
Monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews, and news releases.

Journalism.org Unrestricted Resource
The Pew Research Center's Project for Excellence in Journalism tracks the transformation of journalism in a changing information landscape through its annual State of the News Media report and a series of special reports.

On the Media Unrestricted Resource
Weekly radio program from WNYC in New York City covering journalism, technology, and First Amendment issues

Technorati Unrestricted Resource
Real-time search for user-generated media (including weblogs) by tag or keyword. Also provides popularity indexes.
 + / - Historical Magazines & Newspapers
Consult the library's guide to finding primary sources for help finding older magazines and newspapers:
 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form