Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
AtoZ Maps Online Restricted Resource
Collection of more than 146,000 proprietary and royalty-free maps. All maps are high resolution starting at 300dpi with some as large as poster-size. Many maps are PowerPoint-ready. Updated monthly.

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection Unrestricted Resource
More than 11,000 maps scanned by the University of Texas Libraries. Most are in the public domain.Please credit the "University of Texas Libraries" as the source of the scanned images.
 + / - Print Maps and Atlases
A large number of the library's atlases are part of the reference collection located on the first floor. The bigger atlases are shelved along the wall at the end of the reference section furthest from the front entrance. A sizeable number of smaller atlases are shelved with the other reference books. Many of these have Library of Congress numbers beginning with the letter G.

You may have a better chance of finding what you need by searching the library's catalog before you browse the shelves. Try adding some of the phrases listed below to searches in ALEX .
  • atlases
  • maps

Reference Resources Only
within 
All Library Resources
within 

 + / - All Resources

Digital Map Collections

American Memory Map Collection Resource contains images
A searchable collection of maps from the Library of Congress.

AtoZ Maps Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Collection of more than 146,000 proprietary and royalty-free maps. All maps are high resolution starting at 300dpi with some as large as poster-size. Many maps are PowerPoint-ready. Updated monthly.

David Rumsey Historical Map Collection Resource contains images
More than 32,000 maps and images focusing on rare 18th and 19th century North and South America.

National Geographic Maps Resource contains images
National Geographic Society maps.

NOAA On-Line Chart Viewer

Nautical charts from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Agency and the National Geospatial Intelligence Agency.


TopoZone Resource contains images
Topographic maps provided by the U.S. Geologic Survey.
United Nations Cartographic Section Resource contains images
More than 100 maps organized by region and country.
Perry-CastaƱeda Library Map Collection Resource contains images
More than 11,000 maps scanned by the University of Texas Libraries. Most are in the public domain.
Please credit the "University of Texas Libraries" as the source of the scanned images.


GIS

ESRI's GIS Dictionary Some full text available
Definitions for GIS terms related to operations such as analysis, GIS modeling and web-based GIS, cartography, and Esri software.

Interactive Maps

EnviroMapper Resource contains images
Generate maps of environmental information. This site provides access to several EPA databases to provide you with information about environmental activities that may affect air, water, and land anywhere in the United States.

Google Earth Resource contains images
View high-resolution aerial and satellite imagery, elevation terrain, road and street labels, business listings, and more.
National Geographic MapMaker Interactive Resource contains images
An interactive mapping experience with rich layers of information on the physical earth, oceans, culture, and more.

New York Public Library Map Warper Resource contains images
The NYPL Map Warper is a tool for digitally aligning ("rectifying") historical maps from the NYPL's collections to match today's precise maps. Visitors can browse already rectified maps or assist the NYPL by aligning a map.
U.S. Census Bureau Maps
Reference and thematic maps from 2010 Census data.

World Freedom Atlas Resource contains images
A geovisualization tool for world statistics designed for social scientists, journalists, NGO/IGO workers, and others who wish to have a better understanding of freedom, democracy, human rights, and good governance. It covers the years 1990-2006.

WorldMap Resource contains images
WorldMap is an open source web mapping platform developed by the Center for Geographic Analysis at Harvard that allows users to create their own mapping applications and publish maps in a variety of dynamic ways.

New York State

Adirondack Atlas
Print Location: Ref F127.A2 J46 2004
A geographic portrait of the Adirondack Park with 450 full-color maps and 250 figures, graphs, tables, charts, and scientific drawings.

New York Public Library Map Warper Resource contains images
The NYPL Map Warper is a tool for digitally aligning ("rectifying") historical maps from the NYPL's collections to match today's precise maps. Visitors can browse already rectified maps or assist the NYPL by aligning a map.
New York State Atlas
Print Location: Atlas Table G1250 .N4 1998
Road maps for the entire state.

New York State Atlas & Gazetteer
Print Location: Atlas Table G1250 .D4 1998
GPS grids and topo maps for the entire state.
 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form