Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
Consult this guide's Multiple Media Formats, Audio, Still Images and Video sections for links to some of larger collections. Additional resources are organized by topic in the All Resources section.
 
Books are also a good source for high resolution images. Try adding some of the phrases listed below to searches in ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog .
 
Search for

  • pictorial works
  • painting
  • photography artistic
  • commercial art
  • posters
  • picture indexes

 + / - Multiple Media Formats
The resources below include major collections with audio, still images, and video.

 + / - Audio
Some major audio collections are included in the resources listed under Multiple Media Formats above. See the All Resources section below for additional resources listed by subject.

 + / - Still Images
Some major image collections are included in the resources listed under Multiple Media Formats above. See the All Resources section below for additional resources listed by subject.


GRAPHICS & CLIP ART

STOCK PHOTOGRAPHY
 + / - Video
Some major video collections are included in the resources listed under Multiple Media Formats above. See the All Resources section below for additional resources listed by subject.

 + / - All Resources

Advertising

Ad*Access (1911-55) Resource contains images
Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements produced between 1911 and 1955. Product categories include beauty and hygiene, radio, television, transportation, and World War II propaganda.

American Broadsides and Ephemera (1760-1900) Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.

Emergence of Advertising in America (1850-1920) Resource contains images
Over 3,300 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.
Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials
Presidential campaign commercials, 1952-2008.

Art & Architecture

ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Collection of more than one million high-resolution images and tools for teaching and research. The 200+ collections include contributions from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Subjects include architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects. Coverage: prehistory to present.
Teaching with ARTstor:  Courseware/Blackboard Guide
Instructor Privileges:  To obtain instructor privileges contact your local ARTstor administrator, Lynn Mayo, Burke Library.

CAMIO: Catalog of Art Museum Images Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Images of fine art and decorative art from around the world. All content is rights-cleared for educational use in the classroom or to illustrate papers, web projects and other assignments. Coverage: Prehistory to the present.

Google Art Project Resource contains images
Explore the thousands of artworks in the collections of major art museums and galleries from around the world. Viewers can create their own collections and do side-by-side examinations of works.

Oxford Art Online: Images Restricted Resource Resource contains images
More than 6,000 searchable images from museum collections, and 40,000 editorially selected image links to museums and galleries.

Cartoons

AAEC Editorial Cartoons Resource contains images
More than 1,000 cartoons by artists of the American Association of Editorial Cartoonists (AAEC) created primarily in the 1960s and 1970s.

Historical

American Broadsides and Ephemera (1760-1900) Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.

American Memory Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Collection of primary sources relating to the history and culture of the United States from the Library of Congress.

History Out Loud Resource contains audio Some full text available
Audio collection of politically significant speeches and interviews, primarily from the 1960s and 1970s. Includes transcripts.

Images from the History of Medicine Resource contains images
Nearly 70,000 portraits, photographs, caricatures, genre scenes, posters, and graphic art illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine dated from the 15th to 21st century.

Liam's Pictures from Old Books Resource contains images
Over 3,200 free images in high resolution from old rare antique books.

National Archives Online Exhibits Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Online exhibits of documents, photographs and other materials on selected topics in American history.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery Resource contains images
Over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.

Oyez Project Resource contains audio
An audio archive of the Supreme Court of the United States. Includes recordings from 1995 to the present and selected audio from cases argued prior to 1995.

Smithsonian Science Service Historical Image Collection Resource contains images
Twentieth-century scientific research consisting of images and original captions as they appeared in period publications.

Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials
Presidential campaign commercials, 1952-2008.

Internet Archive Some full text available Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The Internet Archive is a non-profit founded in 1996 to build an Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format. It includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages in its collections.

Nature & Science

Great Images in NASA (GRIN) Resource contains images
GRIN is a collection of over a thousand images of significant historical interest scanned at high-resolution in several sizes.

Images from the History of Medicine Resource contains images
Nearly 70,000 portraits, photographs, caricatures, genre scenes, posters, and graphic art illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine dated from the 15th to 21st century.

Visible Earth Resource contains images
A catalog of NASA images and animations of our home planet.

Speeches

American Rhetoric Resource contains audio Some full text available
Collection of full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, and other recorded media events. The site also includes sections devoted to rhetorical devices, Christian rhetoric, 9/11 rhetoric, movie speeches, and political speeches.

Great Speeches of the 20th Century
Print Location: Reserve Desk E173 .G82 1991 Resource contains audio


Historic Presidential Speeches
Print Location: Reserve Desk E743 .L69 1995 Resource contains audio


note: Reserve Desk E743 .L69 1995
 + / - Primary Source Guides

Consult the guides below for help finding primary sources using Burke Library's general collection, its online resources, and interlibrary loan.
 

Primary Sources / Home
Books
Document Collections
Images and Multimedia
Magazines
Newspapers
Personal Accounts
Speeches
 

See also:
Hamilton College Rare Books
Hamilton College Archives
Hamilton College Jazz Archive
Hamilton College Digital Collections

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form