Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
This guide is designed to assist researchers looking for reviews and other general information about films using Burke Library's collection.

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus Restricted Resource
Indexes hundreds of academic and popular film journals. Also includes the International Index to TV Periodicals, 1979-1998. Coverage: 1972-present.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.
 + / - Articles
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus Restricted Resource
Indexes hundreds of academic and popular film journals. Also includes the International Index to TV Periodicals, 1979-1998. Coverage: 1972-present.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.
 + / - Books
The following subject headings may be especially helpful for finding books and other materials related to film studies in ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog .

  • African Americans in motion pictures
  • African Americans in the motion picture industry
  • Motion picture actors and actresses--[place country name here]--Biography
  • Motion picture audiences
  • Motion picture industry--[place country name here]
  • Motion picture industry--[place country name here]--History
  • Motion pictures--[place country name here]
  • Motion pictures--[place country name here]--History
  • Motion pictures--Aesthetics
  • Motion pictures and literature
  • Motion pictures--History
  • Motion pictures--Political aspects
  • Motion pictures--Social aspects
  • Motion pictures--Production and direction
  • Motion pictures--Reviews
  • Motion pictures--Social aspects
  • Women in motion pictures
  • Women in the motion picture industry

 + / - Film Reviews and Criticism
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus Restricted Resource
Indexes hundreds of academic and popular film journals. Also includes the International Index to TV Periodicals, 1979-1998. Coverage: 1972-present.

Film Literature Index Unrestricted Resource
Citations for approximately 700,000 articles, film reviews and book reviews published from 1976 to 2001. The print edition (Ref PN1993 .F5) covers 1974 to 2004.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Indexes over 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study, mostly dating after 1990. To find reviews published during a film's initial release, enter the movie title in one search box and the phrase "motion picture reviews" in another.

Readers' Guide Retrospective Restricted Resource
Index to the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States during the 20th century. To find reviews published during a film's initial release, enter the movie title in one search box and the phrase "motion picture reviews" in another.

Film Review Index Ref PN1995 .F463 Restricted Resource
Retrospective bibliography of articles on films released between 1882 and 1985 that have established themselves as being of high interest to researchers and students.

Film Review Annual Ref PN1995 .F463 Restricted Resource
Collected reviews from sixteen publications for films released between 1980 and 1988.

Metacritic Unrestricted Resource
Compiles current film reviews from leading critics with links to many of the original articles.
 + / - Biographies and Filmographies
Film Bibliographies: Media Resources Center UCB Unrestricted Resource
Film bibliographies on a variety of topics compiled by the Moffitt Library's Media Resources Center at the University of California, Berkeley.

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers Restricted Resource
Essays and commentary on significant films, actors, directors, writers, and other production artists. Entries also include biographies, filmographies, comprehensive credits, production information, major awards, and bibliographies.

Women Filmmakers & Their Films Ref PN1998.2 .W66 1998 Restricted Resource
Entries on significant North American and European women filmmakers each include a brief biography, complete filmography (through 1998), a selected bibliography and a short essay on the subject's importance.
 + / - Film Credits and Plot Summaries
American Film Institute Catalog of Feature Films Unrestricted Resource
The AFI Catalog database is an ongoing project that contains filmographic information for all American feature films produced from 1893-1972, as well as AFI AWARDS Outstanding Movies of the Year for the years 2000 through 2006. To date, the AFI Catalog database includes extensive entries on over 30,000 American feature-length and 17,000 short films.

Internet Movie Database Unrestricted Resource
Collection of movie information amassed from on-screen credits, press kits, official bios, autobiographies, interviews, and contributions by movie enthusiasts. More information.

Magill's Cinema Annual Ref PN1993.3 .M34 Unrestricted Resource

Magill's Survey of Cinema Ref PN1993.45 .M3 Unrestricted Resource
Film summaries with limited production information for films released before 1981.
English language films, first series - Ref PN1993.45 .M3
English language films, second series - Ref PN1993.45 .M32
Foreign language films - Ref PN1993.45 .M34 1985
Silent films - Ref PN1995.75 .M33 1982

 + / - Other Resources
Moving Image Source Research Guide Unrestricted Resource
The Museum of the Moving Image's gateway to the best online resources related to film, television, and digital media.

Film Bibliographies: Media Resources Center UCB Unrestricted Resource
Film bibliographies on a variety of topics compiled by the Moffitt Library's Media Resources Center at the University of California, Berkeley.
 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form