Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books, government publications, reports, and conference proceedings related to environmental science. Coverage: 1981-present.

TOXNET Unrestricted Resource
(TOXicology Data NETwork) is a cluster of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas.
More Info: Fact Sheet

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Agricola Restricted Resource
Catalog of the National Agricultural Library with records for publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines.

BioOne Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of articles from more than 90 journals with indexing and abstracts for more than 60 additional journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. Coverage: 2000-present.

bioRxiv Some full text available
 a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.
BIOSIS Citation Index Restricted Resource
The most comprehensive coverage of the literature in the life sciences. Includes content from journals, reports, reviews, and meetings. Discover high impact articles with cited reference searching on the Web of Knowledge platform. Coverage: 1969-present.

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
Summary reports on contemporary issues that include an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. Coverage: 1991-present.
note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books, government publications, reports, and conference proceedings related to environmental science. Coverage: 1981-present.

GeoRef Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses covering the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Coverage: 1785-present.

GreenFILE Restricted Resource
Index of scholarly journals, government publications and general interest magazines on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and other aspects of human impact to the environment. Coverage: 1974-present.

PAIS International Restricted Resource
Index of articles, books, studies, government documents and reports on public policy issues. Highly recommended for research in public administration, law, politics and government. Coverage: 1915-present.

PubMed
National Library of Medicine index of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Coverage: 1950-present.

ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Full text of articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books covering the scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature published in 24 fields of science. Coverage varies by title.

TOXNET
(TOXicology Data NETwork) is a cluster of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas.
More Info: Fact Sheet

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

Bibliographies

A Research Guide to the Marcellus and Utica Shales.
 A project of Carnegie Mellon and the PA State Association of Boroughs. Carnegie Mellon University, 2012.  Debate on natural gas extraction by hydraulic fracturing (“fracking”) of shale rock formations center on arguments about energy, the economy, and the environment. There has been considerably less attention paid to the societal and social impacts of hydraulic fracturing, including impacts on tourism, patterns of housing development, crime, social services usage, road quality, and urban planning and population issues.  The urgency to understand these concerns brought together researchers from Carnegie Mellon University and officials from the Pennsylvania State Association of Boroughs and the Chrostwaite Institute to create the Research Guide to the Marcellus and Utica Shales. The purpose of this project is to catalogue the literature on natural gas extraction by hydraulic fracturing in order to help policymakers and researchers comprehend the existing research on this topic and identify issues for further study.

Citation Guides

ACS Style Guide
Print Location: Ref QD8.5 .A25 2006
Guide to documenting commonly cited resource in the chemistry. Examples.
New Oxford Dictionary for Scientific Writers and Editors Restricted Resource
This dictionary provides scientists, science writers, and all who work in scientific publishing with a clear style guide for the presentation of scientific information. In over 9,700 entries, it reflects widely accepted usage and follows the recommendations of international scientific bodies such as IUPAC and IUPAP. The dictionary gives clear guidance on such matters as spellings (American English and British English), punctuation, abbreviations, prefixes and suffixes, units and quantities, and symbols.

Research and Documentation Online Some full text available
A good place to start. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource. Consult the departmental preferences table in the library's guide to citing sources if you are not sure which documentation style to follow.

Data - U.S.

EPA - National Center for Computational Toxicology
 The National Center for Computational Toxicology (NCCT) is the largest component of EPA’s Computational Toxicology Research Program. It was established in 2005 to coordinate computational toxicology research on chemical screening and prioritization, informatics and systems modeling. It includes ToxCastDB, which provides public access to human toxicity data.

Document Collections

Environmental Impact Statements: Digests Restricted Resource
Abstract summaries of the environmental impact statements issued by the federal government. Each record includes a clear description of the project, sections on positive impact and negative consequences, and legal mandates. Coverage: 1985-present.

Encyclopedias

AccessScience Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Gateway to McGraw-Hill's science and technology reference sources. Includes over 8,500 encyclopedia entries, 110,000 dictionary terms, and 15,000 illustrations documenting all major areas of science and technology. Updated continuously.

Dictionary of Scientists Restricted Resource Some full text available
Oxford University Press, 1999. A searchable biographical dictionary of scientists, covering all areas of science: physics and astronomy to medicine and ecology, including key figures in the fields of mathematics and technology.

Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy Restricted Resource
Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. Covers concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An encyclopedia of the life sciences with particular emphasis on cell and molecular biology and its relevance to medicine. Updated continually.
note: Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry Restricted Resource
Comprehensive coverage of the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry and chemical and life science engineering.  Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, and environmental protection.  New and updated articles are added to Ullmann's Online on a quarterly basis.

Environment - Statistics

Revised Draft SGEIS (Supplemental Generic Environmental Impact Statement on the Oil, Gas and Solution Mining Regulatory Program (September 2011):
 “Well Permit Issuance for Horizontal Drilling and High-Volume Hydraulic Fracturing in the Marcellus Shale and Other Low-Permeability Gas Reservoirs”
 

Legislation - New York

Maps & Atlases

New York State Atlas
Print Location: Atlas Table G1250 .N4 1998
Road maps for the entire state.

Statistics & Data

Coral Reef Information System
NOAA's Coral Reef Information System (CoRIS) is designed to be a single point of access to NOAA coral reef information and data products, especially those derived from NOAA's Coral Reef Conservation Program.

Global Invasive Species Network
A platform for sharing invasive species information at a global level. Maintained by the National Biological Information Infrastructure. Includes a data portal.

IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
The International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN) facilitates the collection, management and processing of species data for publication on the IUCN Red List.

Modern Shale Gas Development in the U.S.: An Update, 2013
 The Primer provides information on the technology advances and challenges that accompany deep shale gas development.


National Climatic Data Center
NCDC is the world's largest active archive of weather data.  NCDC produces numerous climate publications and responds to data requests from all over the world. NCDC supports a three tier national climate services support program - the partners include: NCDC, Regional Climate Centers, and State Climatologists.

NYS DOH Rural Soil Background Survey, 2005. Appendix D. Some full text available
 Source: Peter Taylor, Oneida County Remediation Department, DEC and Jim Harrington, NY State Remediation Department, DEC
U.S. Integrated Ocean Observing System (IOOS)
The Integrated Ocean Observing System provides data related to U.S. oceans, coasts, and the Great Lakes.

Water Resources of the United States
The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) collects information needed to understand the Nation's water resources, and provides access to water data, publications, and maps, as well as to recent water projects and events. Water data by state is also included.

World Ocean Database
Worldwide data sets and products from the National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC). The WODselect interface allows searching by user-specified criteria.

Web Gateways

About the Adirondack Park Resource contains images Some full text available
New York State Adirondack Park Agency

 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. Ask your professor if he or she prefers a particular citation style, and consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for additional resources.

ACS Style Guide Ref QD8.5 .A25 2006 Unrestricted Resource
Guide to documenting commonly cited resource in the chemistry. Examples.

Research and Documentation Online Unrestricted Resource
A good place to start. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource. Consult the departmental preferences table in the library's guide to citing sources if you are not sure which documentation style to follow. APA Chicago MLA

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Glynis Asu

Glynis Asu
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4482