Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.

Literature Resource Center Restricted Resource
Extensive collection of full-text scholarly articles, book reviews, biographical essays, and work overviews. Covers authors and literary topics from all genres, time periods, and regions of the world.

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Restricted Resource
Documents the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words. Entries trace the historical evolution of a word using quotations found in sources ranging from classic literature to cookbooks.

 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

American Periodicals Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Full-image reproductions of more than 1,100 American magazines and journals. Includes popular, general interest, literary and women's magazines. Coverage 1741-1940.

Black Studies Center Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Primary and secondary sources documenting the African-American experience, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Features scholarly essays, journal and newspaper articles, images, multimedia content, and an index to fiction, poetry and literary reviews from black periodicals.

British Periodicals Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Full image reproductions of nearly 500 British magazines and journals. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, music, art, drama, archaeology, architecture, and the social sciences. Coverage: 1681-1920.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Index of journal articles, reviews and essays about women, sexuality and gender during the Middle Ages. Coverage: 1994-present.

Humanities and Social Science Index Retrospective Restricted Resource
Index of articles and book reviews from important scholarly journals. Coverage 1907-1984.

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance Restricted Resource
Bibliography of journal articles, essays, reviews, books, dissertations, and other secondary literature about the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
  • Iter Bibliography, 400-1700
  • Bibliography of English Women Writers, 1500-1640
  • Iter Italicum

MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.

Bibliographies

International Medieval Bibliography Restricted Resource
A multidisciplinary database covering Europe, North Africa and the Near East from 300-1500. Coverage: 1967-present.

note: Limited to 3 simultaneous users.

Citation Guides

Citation Fox - MLA
An MLA style guide featuring a large number of example citations for books, journals, other frequently used source types used in the humanities. From the SUNY Albany Libraries.

Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources
Provides information on where to access key writing and style guides along with a list of preferred documentation styles for each academic department.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Print Location: Ref Desk LB2369 .G53 2009
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in English and the humanities.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

Research and Documentation Online - MLA Style Some full text available
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using MLA style.

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Documents the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words. Entries trace the historical evolution of a word using quotations found in sources ranging from classic literature to cookbooks.

eBook Collections

America's Historical Imprints Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full image reproductions of virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in the U.S. over a 170-year period. Items include advertisements, almanacs, bibles, broadsides, catalogs, charters and by-laws, contracts, cookbooks, elegies, eulogies, laws, maps, narratives, novels, operas, pamphlets, plays, poems, primers, sermons, songs, speeches, textbooks, tracts, travelogues, treaties and more.
  • American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I, 1770-1876
  • Early American Imprints, Series I, 1639-1800
  • Early American Imprints, Series II, 1801-1819

Early English Books Online Restricted Resource
Digital reproductions of all items produced by a printing press (such as books, pamphlets, broadsides) in England and its colonies and any item that was printed anywhere in the world in English. Coverage: 475-1700.

Wright American Fiction, 1851-1875 Some full text available
Collection of 19th century American fiction listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875.

Women Writers Online Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full text of more than 300 works by women in English or in English translation published before 1850. Coverage: 1526-1850.


Literary Criticism

Finding Literary Criticism
Step-by-step guide to finding literary criticism and books reviews using the print and electronic resources available through Burke Library.

Literature Criticism Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scholarly and popular commentary from books, journals, magazines, broadsheets, pamphlets, diaries, and newspapers. Online access is from 2009-2012. Print volumes are indexed in the Literary Index with selected content available in the Literature Resource Center.

Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism

Vols. 1-110 - shelved at Ref PN610 .C55
Vols. 111-143 - available online

Literature Criticism from 1400 to1800

Vols. 1-162 shelved at Ref PN86 .L53
Vols. 163-206 - available online

Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
Vols. 1-210 - shelved at Ref PN761 .N5
Vols. 211-259 - available online

Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism

Vols. 1-217 - shelved at Ref PN771 .G27
Vols. 218-269 - available online

Literature Resource Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Extensive collection of full-text scholarly articles, book reviews, biographical essays, and work overviews. Covers authors and literary topics from all genres, time periods, and regions of the world.

 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The English department generally follows guidelines from the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Citation Fox - MLA Unrestricted Resource
An MLA style guide featuring a large number of example citations for books, journals, other frequently used source types used in the humanities. From the SUNY Albany Libraries.

Research and Documentation Online - MLA Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using MLA style.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers Ref Desk LB2369 .G53 2009 Unrestricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in English and the humanities.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Reid Larson

Reid Larson
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4480