Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
ERIC Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books, conference papers, technical reports, policy reports, and other materials related to education. Includes the full text for more than 300,000 items. Coverage: 1966-present.

Professional Development Collection Restricted Resource
Highly specialized collection of over 500 full text journals designed for professional educators. Includes indexing and abstracts for more than 300 additional journals. Coverage: 1965-present.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.
 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

ERIC Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index of journal articles, books, conference papers, technical reports, policy reports, and other materials related to education. Includes the full text for more than 300,000 items. Coverage: 1966-present.

Google Scholar
Search for articles in scholarly journals. Also includes patents, court opinions and law journals.

Google Scholar Tip:
On Campus users will see the Find It @ Hamilton link with article citations. Use this to connect to articles in Hamilton's online journals.

Off Campus users can also link directly to Hamilton online journals by setting a Google Scholar Preference.
  1. Go to Google Scholar.
  2. In the top menu bar select Settings.
  3. Select Library Links (left column) and search for Hamilton.
  4. Select Hamilton College-Find It @ Hamilton and then Save.

Professional Development Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
Highly specialized collection of over 500 full text journals designed for professional educators. Includes indexing and abstracts for more than 300 additional journals. Coverage: 1965-present.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

PAIS International Restricted Resource
Index of articles, books, studies, government documents and reports on public policy issues. Highly recommended for research in public administration, law, politics and government. Coverage: 1915-present.

PsycINFO Restricted Resource
American Psychological Association’s index of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Coverage: 1887-present (journals); 1987-present (books and book chapters).

Citation Guides

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource Some full text available
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources
Provides information on where to access key writing and style guides along with a list of preferred documentation styles for each academic department.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Some full text available
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Documents the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words. Entries trace the historical evolution of a word using quotations found in sources ranging from classic literature to cookbooks.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education Restricted Resource
Sage 2012. Presents research and statistics, case studies and best practices, policies and programs at pre- and post-secondary levels, mainly in the U.S.
Critical Thinking and Learning: An Encyclopedia for Parents and Teachers
Print Location: Ref LB1590.3 .C735 2004


Encyclopedia of American Education
Print Location: Ref LB17 .U54 2001


Encyclopedia of Bilingualism and Bilingual Education
Print Location: Ref LC3707 .E53 1998


Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies
Print Location: Ref LB2806.15 .E48 2010


Encyclopedia of Education
Print Location: Ref LB15 .E47 2003


Encyclopedia of Educational Reform and Dissent
Print Location: Ref LB2805 .E528 2010


International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
Print Location: REF H 41 I58 2001
Encyclopedia with more than 4,000 articles and 90,000 bibliographic entries surveying all fields in the social and behavioral sciences.

Handbooks

Educator's Reference Desk
Links to online education resources, lesson plans and a question archive on the practice, theory, and research of education.

Handbook of Education Policy Research
Print Location: Ref LC71 .H363 2009
2009 ed. Focuses on the foundations of education policy, methodology and process, teaching and learning policy, educators and institutions, and issues of education access.

Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education
Print Location: Ref LC1099.3 .H35 2004


Education: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources
Print Location: Ref LB15 .O27 2000


Images & Multimedia

TED-Ed
A curated library of educational videos.

Maps & Atlases

AtoZ Maps Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Collection of more than 146,000 proprietary and royalty-free maps. All maps are high resolution starting at 300dpi with some as large as poster-size. Many maps are PowerPoint-ready. Updated monthly.

News Sources

Chronicle of Higher Education Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of the Chronicle of Higher Education with news and job information for college and university faculty members, administrators, and students. Coverage: 1995-present.

How to read The Chronicle from anywhere, on any device:
  1. Create a free Chronicle account using your @Hamilton.edu email address.
  2. iPad - download the iPad app and log in to your Chronicle account using your @Hamilton.edu email address. New issues will be delivered automatically to your iPad.
  3. Smart Phone, Computer, Tablet - Using your browser (Safari, Firefox, Chrome, etc.), go to Chronicle.com and log in to your Chronicle account using your @Hamilton.edu email address. To avoid future login prompts check the box that reads, Keep me logged in on this computer.



LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of over 9,000 news, business, and legal sources. Articles for most newspapers date back to the early 1990s.
More Info:
News - Business - Legal Research - Company Dossier
Help: Podcast Tutorials - Wiki - Shepardizing a Case

Education Week Restricted Resource Some full text available
A weekly newspaper focusing on issues in American education, preschool to 12th grade. Coverage: 1993-current.

Inside Higher Ed
News and job information for college and university faculty, graduate students, and administrators.

America's Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Complete electronic editions of more than 2,000 U.S. newspapers and news video clips, most dating back to the early 1990s. Features over 100 New York State news sources including:
  • Albany Times Union, 1986-
  • Syracuse Post-Standard, 1986-
  • Utica Observer-Dispatch, 2002-

Gannett Newsstand Restricted Resource Some full text available
85 full-text local and regional U.S. newspapers spanning 30 states. Coverage varies for each newspaper.

Provided by NOVELny.


Opinion Polls

Polling the Nations Restricted Resource Some full text available
Question and answer responses from public opinion polls conducted by the major polling organizations and news media. Includes U.S. and international polls. Responses to the questions are included, but with no demographic breakdowns. Updated monthly. Coverage: 1986-present.

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research and iPOLL Restricted Resource Some full text available
The largest collection of poll data anywhere. Broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, and international affairs. Coverage: 1935-present.
  • iPOLL contains half a million survey questions and answers asked in the U.S. over the last 65 years by more than 150 survey organizations.
  • RoperExpress provides on-demand access to datasets from thousands of studies for download in ASCII or SPSS formats.
  • RoperExplorer is an online data analysis system; no programming skills required; choose dependent and independent variables and quickly produce frequencies and cross-tabulations.
Help: YouTube Videos

Reports

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
Summary reports on contemporary issues that include an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. Coverage: 1991-present.
note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Opposing Viewpoints Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text reports to differing points of view on current social issues.

Provided by NOVELny.


Statistics & Data

Chronicle of Higher Education - Facts & Figures
Annual surveys and higher education data.

International Archive of Education Data (IAED) Restricted Resource
A project formerly sponsored by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is now housed at and operated by ICPSR.

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing U.S. education data. Annual reports include:
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Global and internationally comparable statistics on education, literacy, science, culture and communication.

Other Resources

CollegeSource Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full cover-to-cover content of over 11,000 catalogs of 2-year, 4-year, graduate and professional schools. Coverage: 1994-present.
note: Limited to 3 simultaneous users. This resource is provided by the Office of the Registrar.
 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The education studies department generally follows guidelines from the Chicago Manual of Style. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Information Literacy Standards
Information Literacy Standards for Teacher Education

The main purposes of the standards are to:
  • guide teacher education faculty and instruction librarians in developing information literacy instruction for teacher education students.
  • enable the evaluation and assessment of such instruction and curricula through benchmarking outcomes.
The standards also aim to:
  • communicate to teacher education students expectations for information literacy knowledge and skills they need to develop and apply in their academic work and pre-service teaching.
  • lead teacher education students to consider how they might integrate information literacy into their future curriculum, instruction, and assessment activities once a member of the teaching profession.
See also: Standards for the 21st-Century Learner

Please contact your department liaison librarian, Lynn Mayo, to discuss how competencies can be integrated into specific course goals.

Approved by the ACRL Board of Directors, May 11, 2011
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Lynn Mayo

Lynn Mayo
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4746