Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
EconLit Restricted Resource
Comprehensive index of the world's economic literature from over 300 major economic journals and collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.). Coverage: 1969-present.

NBER Working Papers Restricted Resource
Full text of the National Bureau of Economic Research working papers, which are intended to make NBER research results available to other economists in preliminary form to encourage discussion and suggestions for revision before final publication. Coverage: 1994-present.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Business Insights: Essentials Restricted Resource
Full text information on  U.S. and international businesses, industries and products. Includes industry reports and company histories, financial and investment research reports, market research reports, and nearly 4,000 full text periodicals. Coverage: 1980-present. Provided by NOVELny.

Business Source Premier Restricted Resource
Full text articles from nearly 3,600 scholarly publications with indexing and abstracts for nearly 4,400 journals. Includes detailed company profiles for the world's 5,000 largest companies and country economic reports from the EIU and CountryWatch. Coverage: 1965-present.
 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Business Insights: Essentials Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text information on  U.S. and international businesses, industries and products. Includes industry reports and company histories, financial and investment research reports, market research reports, and nearly 4,000 full text periodicals. Coverage: 1980-present.

Provided by NOVELny.


JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
  • Arts & Sciences collections I-IX
  • Life Sciences collection

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text articles from nearly 3,600 scholarly publications with indexing and abstracts for nearly 4,400 journals. Includes detailed company profiles for the world's 5,000 largest companies and country economic reports from the EIU and CountryWatch. Coverage: 1965-present.

EconLit Restricted Resource
Comprehensive index of the world's economic literature from over 300 major economic journals and collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.). Coverage: 1969-present.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) Restricted Resource
Articles and book reviews in anthropology, economics, political science and sociology.
PAIS International Restricted Resource
Index of articles, books, studies, government documents and reports on public policy issues. Highly recommended for research in public administration, law, politics and government. Coverage: 1915-present.

Google Scholar
Search for articles in scholarly journals. Also includes patents, court opinions and law journals.

Google Scholar Tip:
On Campus users will see the Find It @ Hamilton link with article citations. Use this to connect to articles in Hamilton's online journals.

Off Campus users can also link directly to Hamilton online journals by setting a Google Scholar Preference.
  1. Go to Google Scholar.
  2. In the top menu bar select Settings.
  3. Select Library Links (left column) and search for Hamilton.
  4. Select Hamilton College-Find It @ Hamilton and then Save.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

Biographical Information

Citation Guides

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource Some full text available
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources
Provides information on where to access key writing and style guides along with a list of preferred documentation styles for each academic department.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Some full text available
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Documents the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words. Entries trace the historical evolution of a word using quotations found in sources ranging from classic literature to cookbooks.

Oxford Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes:
  • Dictionary of Accounting
  • Dictionary of Business and Management
  • Dictionary of Economics
  • Dictionary of Finance and Banking
  • Dictionary of Human Resource Management
  • Dictionary of Marketing
  • Dictionary of Media and Communication
  • Dictionary of Statistics
  • Handbook of International Financial Terms

note: Limited to 1 simultaneous user.
Wall Street Journal Glossary of Terms
Definitions of business and journalism terms.

Document Collections

World Bank Open Knowledge Repository
World Bank resources include reports, academic books, journals and working papers.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Quantitative Finance Restricted Resource Some full text available
Wiley-Blackwell, 2010. Covers topics related to the quantitative modelling of financial markets from various fields including financial economics, econometrics, mathematical finance, operations research, numerical analysis, risk management and statistics.

International Encyclopedia of Organization Studies Restricted Resource Some full text available
Overviews of many of the major ideas, concepts, terms, and approaches that characterize the field of organization studies.

Encyclopedia of Globalization
Print Location: Ref JZ1310 .E52 2007
Signed articles with bibliographies. Covers all aspects of globalization (cultural, environmental, historical, legal, literary, political, and social) , over a wide expanse of time.

Encyclopedia of the Global Economy
Print Location: Ref HF1359 .O28 2006


International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
Print Location: REF H 41 I58 2001
Encyclopedia with more than 4,000 articles and 90,000 bibliographic entries surveying all fields in the social and behavioral sciences.

Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy
Print Location: Ref HF1373 .P75 2009


Routledge Encyclopedia of International Political Economy
Print Location: Ref HF1359 .R68 2001


Handbooks

Business & Economics Research Advisor (BERA)
A series of guides to business & economics topics from the Library of Congress.

Making Sense of Business Reference: A Guide for Librarians and Research Professionals
ALA, 2013. A guide to locating business and industry information.

World at Risk: A Global Issues Sourcebook Restricted Resource
2nd ed, 2010.
In-depth analysis of current global hot topics. The 32 essays address a wide range of key issues, including demographics, economics, education, health, politics, and security. New entries discuss drug trafficking, human trafficking, international finance and immigration.

Images & Multimedia

AP Images Restricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Access to over 6 million current and historical news photographs and graphics images, including maps, timelines, logos and graphs. Coverage: 1840s-present.
note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Entrepreneurship Corner Resource contains audio
Collection of more than 1,600 videos and podcasts related to entrepreneurship, innovation, product development, and other business topics, including lectures from thought leaders in the field.

Prendismo Resource contains audio
More than 14,000 video and audio clips on business and entrepreneurship.

TED-Ed
A curated library of educational videos.

Industry Information

Business Insights: Essentials Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text information on  U.S. and international businesses, industries and products. Includes industry reports and company histories, financial and investment research reports, market research reports, and nearly 4,000 full text periodicals. Coverage: 1980-present.

Provided by NOVELny.


IBIS World Restricted Resource Some full text available
Over 700 U.S. Industry Reports, 300+ U.S. Business Environment Profiles, and 80 Global Industry Reports. Each report, compiled by in-house economists and analysts, includes emerging trends, market share data, revenue, competitive landscape, operating conditions, and industry forecasts.

Encyclopedia of Global Industries Restricted Resource Some full text available
Each entry covers size and economic/social impact of the industry; organization and structure; history and development; major countries and companies involved (including rankings); size and nature of the work force; and research.

International Directory of Company Histories Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides histories of companies that are a leading influence in a particular industry or geographic location.

Encyclopedia of American Industries
Print Location: Ref HC102 .E53 2008


Handbook of Industry Profiles
Print Location: Ref HC106 .H26 2008


Maps & Atlases

AtoZ Maps Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Collection of more than 146,000 proprietary and royalty-free maps. All maps are high resolution starting at 300dpi with some as large as poster-size. Many maps are PowerPoint-ready. Updated monthly.

Atlas of Rural and Small-Town America
A spatial interpretation of county-level, economic and social conditions along four dimensions: people, jobs, agriculture, and county classifications.
Global Distribution of Poverty
The Poverty Maps Collection includes poverty maps at a number of spatial scales (global, regional, national, and urban areas) and for a variety of poverty measures.

National Atlas of the United States
Nationalatlas.gov provides comprehensive, maplike views of the geospatial and geostatistical data collected for the United States.

Perry-CastaƱeda Library Map Collection Resource contains images
More than 11,000 maps scanned by the University of Texas Libraries. Most are in the public domain.
Please credit the "University of Texas Libraries" as the source of the scanned images.


World Bank eAtlas of Global Development
Maps and graphs more than 175 thematically organized indicators for over 200 countries.
Also available in print. Location: Ref G1046 .G1 A85

News Sources

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of over 9,000 news, business, and legal sources. Articles for most newspapers date back to the early 1990s.
More Info:
News - Business - Legal Research - Company Dossier
Help: Podcast Tutorials - Wiki - Shepardizing a Case

Wall Street Journal Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full text of articles from the paper's Eastern edition. Does not include images, charts, or other graphics. Coverage: 1984-present.


America's Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Complete electronic editions of more than 2,000 U.S. newspapers and news video clips, most dating back to the early 1990s. Features over 100 New York State news sources including:
  • Albany Times Union, 1986-
  • Syracuse Post-Standard, 1986-
  • Utica Observer-Dispatch, 2002-

Gannett Newsstand Restricted Resource Some full text available
85 full-text local and regional U.S. newspapers spanning 30 states. Coverage varies for each newspaper.

Provided by NOVELny.


Opinion Polls

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research and iPOLL Restricted Resource Some full text available
The largest collection of poll data anywhere. Broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, and international affairs. Coverage: 1935-present.
  • iPOLL contains half a million survey questions and answers asked in the U.S. over the last 65 years by more than 150 survey organizations.
  • RoperExpress provides on-demand access to datasets from thousands of studies for download in ASCII or SPSS formats.
  • RoperExplorer is an online data analysis system; no programming skills required; choose dependent and independent variables and quickly produce frequencies and cross-tabulations.
Help: YouTube Videos

Professional Organizations

Reports

Economic Report of the President
Annual report issued by the Council of Economic Advisors giving an overview the nation's economic progress. Reports available online from 1995 to present.

Statistics & Data

Statistics - Research Aid
A more comprehensive guide to statistical data and data sets.
EconData.Net
Guide to regional socioeconomic data on the web.

Economagic: Economic Time Series Restricted Resource
The core data sets involve U.S. macroeconomic data, but the bulk of the data is employment data by local area -- state, county, MSA, and many cities and towns.

note: This resource is provided by the Hamilton Economics Department.
ICPSR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research data archive of more than 800,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Users wishing to download members-only data and some publicly available data are required to establish a MyData account. Over 700+ studies are available for online data analysis (i.e., no downloading required) using Survey Documentation Analysis (SDA).

Help: Data Use Tutorial - ICPSR Help Center
Quantitative Literacy Teaching ToolsOnline Learning Center - Teaching with Data


note: Questions regarding data holdings should be sent to: Lynn Mayo, ICPSR Official Representative at Hamilton College, Burke Library, 315-859-4746.
International Financial Statistics Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. Data covers exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts. Coverage: 1948-present.

Tip: Use Query Builder to select data source (IFS), time range, concepts (variables), and countries/regions.

  1. Click on Data Source in the Query Builder box.
  2. Select International Financial Statistics from the list on the right side of the screen.
  3. Click on Time to change the years and reporting time period.
  4. Click on Concept and expand Economic Sector to select variables.
  5. Click on Country in the box to select countries or regions.
  6. Click on View Data to execute the search.
Help: My Data User Guide - Query Builder User Guide

note: Saved searches, reports and bulk downloads require a free individual registration.
ALFRED (ArchivaL Federal Reserve Economic Data)
Vintage versions of economic data. The earliest data is from 1927.

FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
A database of over 3,000 U.S. economic time series.

FRASER (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research)
Links to scanned historical economic statistical publications, releases and documents.

Panel Study of Income Dynamics
A longitudinal study of 8,000 families since 1968 collecting data on economic, health and social behavior.

U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
The BEA's economic statistics provide a comprehensive, up-to-date picture of the U.S. economy. Industry, GNP and GDP data for the U.S. is reported in the monthly report, Survey of Current Business.

World Development Indicators
Comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers more than 900 indicators for 210 economies with data back to 1960.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
The source for Consumer Price Index (CPI), Producer Price Index (PPI), and data on employment, unemployment, wages and salaries.

U.S. Economic Census
Profiles U.S. national and local economies every 5 years.

Africa Development Indicators
World Bank collected of data containing over 1,600 indicators, for 53 African countries. Coverage: 1961-current.

Eurostat
European Union demographic, economic, industry and environment data.

Exporter Dynamics Database
Based on data obtained from customs agencies, the database allows for  cross-country comparisons. Variables include basic characteristics of exporters (their numbers, size and growth), their concentration and degree of diversification in products and markets, their dynamics in terms of entry, exit and survival, and the average unit prices of the products they trade. A World Bank project.

Global Development Finance (GDF)
Statistics on the external debt of developing countries derived from loan-by-loan records. Covers more than 200 debt and financial flows indicators for the 128 countries. Coverage: 1970-current.

Human Development Reports (UN) Some full text available
Research and data designed to assess long term well-being. An independent publication commissioned by UN Development Programme (UNDP). Coverage: 1990-present.

LABORSTA
Labor statistics and estimates for over 200 countries from the International Labour Office. Coverage: 1969-current.

OECD Economic Surveys Restricted Resource Some full text available
In-depth reviews of member and some non-member countries' economies.

UNdata
Search across over 14 UN statistical databases through a single portal.

World Bank Open Data Catalog
Free download access to over 2,000 indicators from World Bank data sets. .

Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive (CD-ROM)
Print Location: Location: Burke Reserve Desk HA154 .C76
A longitudinal data series. The archive has 194 variables and contains data for over 200 country units. Variables cover demographic, social, political, and economic topics. Data files are in an Excel format. Coverage: 1815-2010 (excluding the two modern wartime periods, 1914-1918 and 1940-1945).

Working Papers

AgEcon Some full text available
A free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics, including: working papers, conference papers and journal articles.
Economics Research Network (ERN) Some full text available
Abstracts on over 203,400 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection containing over 164,600 downloadable full text documents.

Note: Access to the SSRN Economics Research Network is provided by the Hamilton Economics Department and is restricted to on campus use only.

EconPapers Some full text available
Provides access to RePEc, the world's largest collection of on-line Economics working papers, journal articles and software.

NBER Working Papers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of the National Bureau of Economic Research working papers, which are intended to make NBER research results available to other economists in preliminary form to encourage discussion and suggestions for revision before final publication. Coverage: 1994-present.

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs on international affairs. Coverage: 1991-present.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The economics department generally follows guidelines from the Chicago Manual of Style. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - New Database!
IBIS World Restricted Resource
Over 700 U.S. Industry Reports, 300+ U.S. Business Environment Profiles, and 80 Global Industry Reports. Each report, compiled by in-house economists and analysts, includes emerging trends, market share data, revenue, competitive landscape, operating conditions, and industry forecasts.
 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Lynn Mayo

Lynn Mayo
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4746