Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Some Useful Resources
LITERARY CRITICISM

MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.

Literature Resource Center Restricted Resource
Extensive collection of full-text scholarly articles, book reviews, biographical essays, and work overviews. Covers authors and literary topics from all genres, time periods, and regions of the world.

Literature Criticism Online Restricted Resource
Scholarly and popular commentary from books, journals, magazines, broadsheets, pamphlets, diaries, and newspapers. Online access is from 2009-2012. Print volumes are indexed in the Literary Index with selected content available in the Literature Resource Center.

Gale Literary Index Unrestricted Resource
Master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references over 165,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 215,000 titles into one source.


PRIMARY TEXTS AND SOURCE DOCUMENTS

Hathi Trust Unrestricted Resource
Provides cataloging and online access for millions of books and journals digitized by Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and major research libraries.

Internet Archive: Text Archive Unrestricted Resource
Wide range of out-of-copyright and open source fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.

British Periodicals Restricted Resource
Full image reproductions of nearly 500 British magazines and journals. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, music, art, drama, archaeology, architecture, and the social sciences. Coverage: 1681-1920.

American Periodicals Restricted Resource
Full-image reproductions of more than 1,100 American magazines and journals. Includes popular, general interest, literary and women's magazines. Coverage 1741-1940.
 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The English department generally follows guidelines from the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Citation Fox - MLA Unrestricted Resource
An MLA style guide featuring a large number of example citations for books, journals, other frequently used source types used in the humanities. From the SUNY Albany Libraries.

Research and Documentation Online - MLA Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using MLA style.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers Ref Desk LB2369 .G53 2009 Unrestricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in English and the humanities.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Reid Larson

Reid Larson
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4480