Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Humanities and Social Science Index Retrospective Restricted Resource
Index of articles and book reviews from important scholarly journals. Coverage 1907-1984.

Readers' Guide Retrospective Restricted Resource
Index of articles from 240 leading general interest magazines published in the U.S. and Canada. Coverage: 1890-1982.
Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

Bibliographies

Dance Collection Catalog
The Dance Catalog of the New York Public Library lists works about all forms of dance, from all cultures, in print and other media. It includes materials in many languages and serves as an index to an international range of dance periodicals.

Choose "Dance Research Collection" from the dropdown Collection menu before searching.

Biographical Information

Biographical Dictionary of Dance
Print Location: REF GV 1785 A1 C58 1982


Citation Guides

Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources
Provides information on where to access key writing and style guides along with a list of preferred documentation styles for each academic department.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Print Location: Ref Desk LB2369 .G53 2009
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in English and the humanities.

Research and Documentation Online - MLA Style Some full text available
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using MLA style.
RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

Encyclopedias

Dance Encyclopedia
Print Location: REF GV 1585 C5 1967


Handbooks

Ballet Plot Index
Print Location: REF GV 1790 A1 S77 1987
A guide to locating plots and descriptions of ballets and associated materials.

Complete Guide to Modern Dance
Print Location: REF GV 1783 M26


 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The dance and movement studies department generally follows guidelines from the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - MLA Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using MLA style.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers Ref Desk LB2369 .G53 2009 Unrestricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in English and the humanities.


RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Kristin Strohmeyer

Kristin Strohmeyer
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4481