Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
INSPEC Restricted Resource
Index of articles from scientific and technical journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations covering physics, electronics, electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology. Coverage: 1969-present.

ACM Digital Library Restricted Resource
Full text of all journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery. Coverage: 1954-present.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

ACM Digital Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of all journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery. Coverage: 1954-present.

arXiv.org e-Print archive Some full text available
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics. arXiv is owned and operated by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution.
INSPEC Restricted Resource
Index of articles from scientific and technical journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations covering physics, electronics, electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology. Coverage: 1969-present.
ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Full text of articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books covering the scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature published in 24 fields of science. Coverage varies by title.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

Citation Guides

ACM LaTeX Style Guide Some full text available
Guide to documenting commonly cited resource in computer science.
New Oxford Dictionary for Scientific Writers and Editors Restricted Resource
This dictionary provides scientists, science writers, and all who work in scientific publishing with a clear style guide for the presentation of scientific information. In over 9,700 entries, it reflects widely accepted usage and follows the recommendations of international scientific bodies such as IUPAC and IUPAP. The dictionary gives clear guidance on such matters as spellings (American English and British English), punctuation, abbreviations, prefixes and suffixes, units and quantities, and symbols.

Encyclopedias

AccessScience Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Gateway to McGraw-Hill's science and technology reference sources. Includes over 8,500 encyclopedia entries, 110,000 dictionary terms, and 15,000 illustrations documenting all major areas of science and technology. Updated continuously.

Dictionary of Scientists Restricted Resource Some full text available
Oxford University Press, 1999. A searchable biographical dictionary of scientists, covering all areas of science: physics and astronomy to medicine and ecology, including key figures in the fields of mathematics and technology.

Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Engineering Some full text available
 Wiley Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Engineering includes over 450 A to Z articles addressing the latest advances and findings in computer science and engineering, in addition to important topics of interest to computer scientists and engineers, including standards, electronic commerce, financial engineering, and computer education. Each article is written by an expert in his or her particular specialty and is peer-reviewed by two other experts to ensure that it is clear and precise. References and website of related interest accompany every article.

Web Sites

AI (Artificial Intelligence) Topics
 From the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI);  access to articles, lecture notes, instructional tools and videos on AI issues and approaches.

Other Resources

ScienceDaily
 A current awareness resource which reports new science research in "lay" language, and often provides links to the scholarly source articles.
 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The computer science department generally follows guidelines from the ACM LaTeX Style Guide. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

ACM LaTeX Style Guide Unrestricted Resource
Guide to documenting commonly cited resource in computer science.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Glynis Asu

Glynis Asu
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4482