Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
Communication Source Restricted Resource
Includes more than 1,000 core journals, and 600 with full text. This database was developed from a merger of Communication and Mass Media Complete™ and Communication Abstracts™ (formerly published by SAGE). Database trial ends April 8.

Communication & Mass Media Complete Restricted Resource
Index of more than 400 journals related to the study of communication and associated disciplines, with full text access to more than 200 journals dating as far back as 1915.

PsycINFO Restricted Resource
American Psychological Association’s index of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Coverage: 1887-present (journals); 1987-present (books and book chapters).

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers covering the international literature in sociology and related disciplines,including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law, penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies. Coverage: 1952-present.

 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Communication & Mass Media Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index of more than 400 journals related to the study of communication and associated disciplines, with full text access to more than 200 journals dating as far back as 1915.

PsycINFO Restricted Resource
American Psychological Association’s index of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Coverage: 1887-present (journals); 1987-present (books and book chapters).

Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index of journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers covering the international literature in sociology and related disciplines,including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law, penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies. Coverage: 1952-present.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

Citation Guides

Citation Fox - APA
An APA style guide featuring a large number of example citations for books and journals along with many not-so-frequently encountered source types used in the social sciences. From the SUNY Albany Libraries.
Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources
Provides information on where to access key writing and style guides along with a list of preferred documentation styles for each academic department.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Print Location: Ref Desk BF76.7 .P8 3 2010
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the social sciences.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

Research and Documentation Online - APA Style Some full text available
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using APA style.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Identity Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes 300 essay-length entries providing an overview of the definitions, politics, manifestations, concepts, and ideas related to identity.
International Encyclopedia of Communication Restricted Resource Some full text available
Signed essays with bibliographies on topics related to communication studies. 
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
Print Location: REF H 41 I58 2001
Encyclopedia with more than 4,000 articles and 90,000 bibliographic entries surveying all fields in the social and behavioral sciences.

Literature Reviews

Communication Yearbook
Print Location: P87 .C5974
Index and abstracts are available in Communication and Mass Media Complete.
 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The communication department generally follows guidelines from the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association Ref Desk BF76.7 .P8 3 2010

Citation Fox - APA Unrestricted Resource
An APA style guide featuring a large number of example citations for books and journals along with many not-so-frequently encountered source types used in the social sciences. From the SUNY Albany Libraries.

Research and Documentation Online - APA Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using APA style.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Reid Larson

Reid Larson
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4480