Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
L'Année Philologique Restricted Resource
Index of scholarly work in fields related to the language, literature, history and culture of ancient Greece and Rome. Coverage 1924-present.

MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.

JSTOR Restricted Resource
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere. Arts & Sciences collections I-IX Life Sciences collection
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Art Source Restricted Resource Some full text available
Combines the content of Art Index, Art Abstracts, Art Full Text, Art Index Retrospective, and Art & Architecture Complete to include over 630 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, an image collection, and podcasts from leading museums on artists and individual works of art.

Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism Restricted Resource
Also available in print from v1-v117, REF PN610 C55.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
  • Arts & Sciences collections I-IX
  • Life Sciences collection

L'Année Philologique Restricted Resource
Index of scholarly work in fields related to the language, literature, history and culture of ancient Greece and Rome. Coverage 1924-present.
note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Books

Forum Romanum Some full text available
Large collection of roman texts and their available online translations. Also has a library of Latin literature searchable by author, title, genre and date.

Perseus Digital Library Some full text available
Great collection of classical texts with secondary sources on classical studies.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of virtually all Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.), and A.D. 600 and the majority of surviving works up the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453.
Help: Greek fonts

Citation Guides

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource Some full text available
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources
Provides information on where to access key writing and style guides along with a list of preferred documentation styles for each academic department.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Print Location: Ref Desk LB2369 .G53 2009
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in English and the humanities.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Some full text available
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Research and Documentation Online - MLA Style Some full text available
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using MLA style.

Encyclopedias

A Global History of Architecture (Ching, Jarzombek, Prakash) Some full text available
2nd ed., Wiley, 2011.

Also available in print:  NA200 .C493 2011
Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopedia of the Ancient World
Print Location: REF DE 4 N3913 2002 and REF DE 5 P33213 2006


Grove Art Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scholarly encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art with more than 45,000 articles, 21,000 biographies, 500,000 citations, and 40,000 image links.
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art & Architecture Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
2007 ed. Spans every art form, medium and civilization from Cycladic, Minoan, Helladic, and Etruscan art to the fall of the Roman Empire.

Handbooks

Oxford Companion to Classical Literature
Print Location: REF PA 31 .H69 1989


Maps & Atlases

Atlas of the Greek World
Print Location: REF DF 77 L39 1980b


Atlas of the Roman World
Print Location: REF DG 77 C597 1982


AtoZ Maps Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Collection of more than 146,000 proprietary and royalty-free maps. All maps are high resolution starting at 300dpi with some as large as poster-size. Many maps are PowerPoint-ready. Updated monthly.

Web Sites

TOCS-IN
Tables of Contents of Interest to Classicists provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a Web search program. Where possible, links are given with articles of which the full text or an abstract is available online (about 15%).
 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. Classics and ancient civilizations course assignments generally follow guidelines from either the Chicago Manual of Style or the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Ask your professor if he or she prefers a particular citation style, and consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for additional resources.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Research and Documentation Online - MLA Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using MLA style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers Ref Desk LB2369 .G53 2009 Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in English and the humanities.


RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Kristin Strohmeyer

Kristin Strohmeyer
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4481